Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,130 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chrysler Concorde engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chrysler Concorde:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chrysler Concorde Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Jun 012008

Concorde 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the car from a dealer after a while the motor failed I spent 2600. I had it replaced 6mo later the motor failed it was under warranty (the motor) but I had to pay $800 for labor, then not even 8mo later that motor failed. I have put so much money in this car we have only driven it for maybe a year. I'm still paying on the car it won't be paid of until Nov 2011 all together I will have paid over 10,000 for a car and only drove it for 1 year. Considering the most me and my wife have made in a year was 35,000 we spent almost a  third of a year working hard for a car that we would only get to drive for 1 flippin year. Sad, sad, sad. I have had many cars in the 10 years I've been driving and I have never had one, not one catastrophic engine failure. And to add to that I've never had a car that wasn't at least 5 yrs old with at least 60,000 mi. On it as a matter of fact all but the car I'm writing about and the car my wife drives now had over 110,000 when I got them. So is this my fault" am I the unluckiest guy in the world? I don't think so I've heard a lot of people singing this same tune about the 2.7 motors, so my question why has nothing been done about these issues, why has this motor not been completely recalled? I realize there's a lot of money at stake here, but if I had a company and produced a product that was prone to fail, or break, it would be recalled no matter what, even if it was the end of my co that would happen. So what is the problem, why isn't Chrysler being held responsible"

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #51

May 012009

Concorde 6-cyl

  • 106,963 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Concorde. The contact stated there was a loud noise coming from the engine and an abnormal oil leak. The vehicle was taken to the dealer from which it was purchased and the contact was advised that the engine was repaired twice before it was sold to him. The dealer refused to make another repair. The manufacturer was contacted but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 106,963. Updated 4/11/2011 updated 04/27/11

- Stone Mountain , GA, USA

problem #50

Feb 012010

Concorde

  • 70,000 miles
2.7 engine in Chrysler Concorde just blew with 70,000 miles on vehicle. 4 separate mechanics stated that Chrysler had many, many issues with the 2.7 engine. Oil was changed regularly and all fluids were at correct levels. No reason for engine to completely fail with such low mileage. Complete engine replacement to get vehicle up and running again. I believe this is a defective engine which is now costing me $1000's of dollars to repair. There are no events leading up to failure. Engine made noise for 1 day, I parked it, and 3 days later it would not start. Had mechanic checking and replacing starter, battery, etc. Finally determined the engine blew. As of today, the engine has not been replaced. Vehicle is currently parked.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #49

Jul 262009

Concorde

  • 120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car Chrysler engine failed while I was driving.

- Burlington, VT, USA

problem #48

Feb 202008

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
2.7 liter engine suddenly fails without warning. Haven't fixed the problem yet. Still owe over 6,000 dollars on the car.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #47

Nov 252007

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,800 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler concord. While driving approximately 45mph, the vehicle would hesitate intermittently. Without warning, the vehicle lost power. As a result, the water pump failed and water caused water to leak into the engine compartment. There were no warning indicator lights present. The dealer stated that because the failure was internal, the water was leaking into the oil pan causing the water and other substances to be pumped into the engine. The contact had to shut the engine off to avoid a crash. The brakes have also failed due to the water pump failing. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was a 84,000 and the current mileage is 84,800.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #46

Sep 192007

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,210 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine stopped while driving on I-355 Illinois.

- Woodridge, IL, USA

problem #45

May 292007

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact's son owns a 2001 Chrysler Concorde. While driving 55 mph, a loud knocking noise was heard coming from the engine compartment. The noise intensified. The mechanic closest to his home performed an oil change because metal was found in the oil. However, the noise continued. The mechanic stated that it could be a rod or a crank shaft causing the failure, but it is definitely related to the engine. The vehicle is currently parked at the contact's residence. He called the manufacturer who stated that since the vehicle has 65,000 miles, they cannot do anything and have not received any complaints. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 65,000.

- Concord, NH, USA

problem #44

May 012007

Concorde

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Concorde. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle shut completely off. The contact stated that she has always had regularly scheduled maintenance performed on the vehicle and has only had the vehicle for six months. The dealer disassembled the engine and found failure with an engine slug. The dealer stated that the failure was a manufacturer's issue. The # of cylinders was unknown. The current mileage is 70,776 and failure mileage was 70,000.

- Kittrell, NC, USA

problem #43

May 082007

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Concorde. The contact stated that the vehicle's engine coolant and oil were mixing. There was no damage to the head gaskets or valves which normally are the causes of this type of failure. The manufacturer would not repair the vehicle under warranty because the contact was the third party owner of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic shop to be repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 77,000.

- Fort Hood, TX, USA

problem #42

Apr 292007

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,185 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oil light started flashing as stops or idle. Was told by certified mechanic that this engine is sludged up with oil sludge. Vehicle has had regular scheduled oil changes. I was told engine failure is imminent.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #41

Dec 222006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,637 miles
- the contact has a 2001 Chrysler concord with an odometer reading of 67000 miles when the engine failed. The contact stated that he was driving under dry conditions at 55 mph when the failure happened. The contact stated that after the engine lost power he was able to get to the side of the road without a crash, and there were no warning sings or lights to let him know the failure was about to occur. The contact had the vehicle taken to the mechanic where they told him that his timing chain failed. Updated 02/16/07.

- Glen Carbon, IL, USA

problem #40

Nov 202006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,500 miles
: the contact stated while driving 45 mph on normal road conditions, the engine knocked and there was smoke coming from under the front driver side. The incident occurred while the vehicle was cruising. The engine was restarted which resulted in a loud noise and then the engine seized. Eight months prior to this incident, the engine was replaced. There was no warning signal prior to the incident. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who determined that the engine needed to be replaced. The contact had not decided what to do with the vehicle and the manufacturer was not notified.

- South Sterling, PA, USA

problem #39

Jun 182005

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles
Engine quit when I hit 97000 miles with no warning. Engine started ticking and it was all over. I had to replace the engine with a 3.5 liter at my own expense.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #38

Aug 012006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Chrysler concord had motor problems.

- Mountain Grove, MO, USA

problem #37

Jul 152006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,566 miles
Driving on I90, 2001 Chrysler Concorde started loosing power, engine made a noise and started smoking and overheating and died. Towed to mechanic, engine failed due to oil sludge. Filed complaint with the center for auto safety and claim with isg.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #36

Jun 052006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at 40 mph all power to the vehicle diminished and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent service station, where it was determined the timing belt failed and seized the engine which made a repair impossible. The diagnosis was confirmed with a second opinion from another independent service station. Updated 08/02/06.

- Mountain Grove, MO, USA

problem #35

Nov 202005

Concorde

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
I owned a 2001 Chrysler concord. I bought from shawnee mission Kia. I had the car for a year. I got my regular maintenance, including an oil change one month before my engine began to go out. My check engine light never came on. I just began to knock one day ( the engine) and about two weeks to a month my engine went out. I could not afford to pay for a new engine and I was forced to send the car back.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #34

Mar 102006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,500 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle was taken to the dealership for a oil change after a noise was heard. A few days later the vehicle would not start. It was towed to the dealer where it was determined to have a broken timing belt due to engine sludge, therefore the engine needed to be replaced. Updtaed 03/28/06.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #33

Apr 292005

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
2001 Concorde with 2.7 engine failed 4/29/05 required total engine replacement.

- Portage, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?