Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,250 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Accent transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Accent:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Accent Owner Comments

problem #4

Mar 232006

Accent 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


My car was driven under 70,000 miles when my transmission started going out. I was in the car with my one year old niece at the time leaving to go home. My car started violently thrusting forward with all of us in the car and was jerking violently. I thought we were going to get in an accident with the child in the car in March 2006. As we pulled on the freeway the car did the same thing for the first 10 miles and we were sure we were going to die. But I pulled off the road and let it cool down. When we arrived at my parents we serviced the vehicle which I think had to be towed and I was given a refurbished transmission in March 2006. During the fall of 2007 the same problem occurred and the gears were acting up as they were before and the car was violently thrusting forward and jerking. I almost got into an accident while going to work with my students. I reported it to Hyundai motor of America and took it in for repairs in September 2007. They installed a refurbished transmission and took care of another powertrain issue and installed a new alternator. However in the fall of 2008 the battery and alternator went out and I had to pay out of pocket to get it fixed although the alternator was still under warranty. After I took my Hyundai to the dealer to get an oil change in the fall of 2010 I noticed that it was acting strange. Needless to say my transmission was acting up again and I almost got into an accident with 3 other cars due to it's violent thrusting and stalling in November 2010, December 2010, January 2011 and February 2011. In April 2011 it was diagnosed that yet again I had transmission failure. I contacted Hyundai since my transmission fails every 10,000 to 70,000 miles and the transmission goes out every 1-4years with my car so it is consistent.

- Sun City, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 012007

Accent 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles 2003 Hyundai Accent. Original posting was 3395 characters. Must cut to 2000. Did not get the advertised mileage to the gallon. The accelerator stuck if you floored it, and not long after I bought it, transmission started slipping out. I reported problems. They were able to fix transmission slip simple diagnostic. Computer problem. Accelerator sticking could not be reproduced and they had to give me back the car in death trap condition. My bro in law's 16 yo bro checked it out. Found mat was catching the accel. 2 freehold Hyundai techs could not find the problem, but a 16 year old could. Fyi, NHTSA complaints list has both complaints from someone else. Over time noticed that at way mark, car is showing less and less mileage @ same amount of gas. Was 190 miles when I bought the car. Today around 160. Flash forward a few years. Had some trouble where the speedometer would drop down to 0 and then not move. I would smack the dashboard, hard, and it would catch and begin to move, but calibrated to new speed I was going when I hit it and it took. At stop I'd hear click, click as it recalibrated itself to correct speed when it tried to go past 0. took it in near it's 57K mark for the pre 60K inspection. Fh did a diagnostic and found nothing. A few days later was driving the car and the tach was doing the same thing. Took pics. Called fh and asked if this speed at RPM was ever possible in this car. It was not. Demanded replacement of gauges. However, when the failed after 7 days to find the problem, they wiped diagnostic charge. They pulled out the gauge cluster, wiggled the wires, and did something with the sensor. Filed a complaint with Hyundai motor Corp. Called them later in the week to tell them fuel gauge not working. Took more pics.

- East Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #2

Mar 222006

Accent 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Accent. The contact stated that the transmission pulled and pushed while driving 40 mph. The dealer repaired the vehicle. The current mileage is 84,000 and failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 03-04-08

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 122004

Accent 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Transmission slips in low gears with low acceleration. At highway speeds does not continue into high gear and engine runs at high RPM. No parts repaired dealer says nothing is wrong.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?