If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,407 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Azera electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Azera:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Azera Owner Comments

problem #18

Dec 032013

Azera

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I can be driving and the D for drive will go out if I park and get out and et back in and put my car in drive my car won't go anywhere I will have to find a screw driver and press the release button beside the gears I can try to parrall park in traffic and as soon as I put my car in reverse then back on driver car won't move I have to continue to go in reverse or get out and have my car pushed until the car is ready to go back into drive

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #17

Feb 252013

Azera

  • 85,797 miles
Tried unlocking the door with the remote, didn't work, used the key to unlock the door, inside lights didn't come on. When I put the key in the ignition, nothing happened, no lights, no clicking, no nothing..like the whole car just completely shut down, no type of power.

- Milwaukee , WI, USA

problem #16

May 152010

Azera 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Electrical gremlins are everywhere in my 2006 Hyundai Azera limited. There are so many electrical issues with my car I know it is just a matter of time and a serious safety problem will arise while driving. This model should be recalled until the computer/electrical issues are fixed. There is a real pattern here with electrical and computer problems that could result in people dying if they haven't already. All of these issues came on very slowly over time and seamed minor at first. Now I am truly afraid when driving this vehicle. I bought this vehicle new and I had planned on this being my last car. Now I am retired and can't afford to buy another one. 1. starting problems - car occasionally won't start no ignition noise or clicking at all. I wiggle the shifter around and eventually it will start. 2. radio - the radio is always left on when turning off the ignition. Sometimes it automatically goes on when starting. But most times it will not go on until I turn it off and on again. Then the radio works fine until the next time the car is started. 3. rear shade - the rear window shade stopped working. Only made a grinding noise. I was able to get it into the down position. I have hit the control by the shifter and the grinding starts up. Eventually it stops. 4. heater - the heater controls just recently stopped working properly. The heat worked intermittently. Now only cool air or slight amount of heat blows no matter how high the temperature setting is. 5. door and trunk locks - when locking doors with the key fob the passenger door and the trunk occasionally don't work. When I use the interior lock switch or manually lock the door they will lock properly. 6. driver side chair heat - the back of the seat no longer heats up. The seat cushion still heats up. The passenger side works fine.

- Eden Prairie, MN, USA

problem #15

Sep 082012

Azera 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On September 6, 2012 I bought a used 2006 Hyundai Azera from sutton Ford, Lincoln, Kia dealer. I had the car for 3 days and noticed that the lights would dim on the car as well as the lights on the dash board to include the radio going off the air and coming back on whenever I had to apply the brakes. On streets that are not well lighted the visibility was very very poor. The back window shade does not work when placing the car in reverse or in the drive mode the motor operating the shade makes a noise until I have driven the car for a few minutes. The shade does not operate according to the car manual. This problem should warrant a recall on the vehicle. Additionally, whenever the lights dim and I am approaching another vehicle in oncoming traffic and having to stop at a stop sign or a traffic light I am not comfortable because I do not want the other driver thinking I am flashing my lights at them.

- Calumet City, IL, USA

problem #14

Jan 292007

Azera 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Azera. The contact was driving 35 mph when both headlights began to dim abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions who advised that there were no failures found within the vehicle. The dealer had kept the vehicle for further inspection but was still unable to diagnose a failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 9/25/12 the consumer stated the headlights still dim at night, intermittently. Updated 10/04/14

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #13

May 152012

Azera

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle would not start. The driver of the vehicle was able to restart the vehicle, but the vehicle stalled shortly after. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The contact stated that the door locks would not function and the sun-shade activated on its own. In addition, the power seat would not function and the lights on the instrument panel flickered. Also, the air conditioner's temperature decreased on its own. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000.

- Lyndhurst, NJ, USA

problem #12

Feb 152012

Azera 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Trip computer returns to 00 without touching reset button, door lock sometimes does not open with transmitter. Trunk sometimes does not open with transmitter or interior trunk release.. radio cuts off intermittently. Instrument panel light flickers, and engine will stall for an instant. Back window screen goes up and down by itself. Air conditioner came on without my pushing button. Warning messages will appear for few seconds "check engine", "ABS failure", etc. Twice took car to Hyundai service department. Told they cannot fix anything unless these events are happening when I bring in car. Aside from these fairly minor problems, the steering wheel locked or power steering failed while driving.. the service department did find an oil leak and replaced hose. Replaced fuel level sender and driver door module. But the electric problems continue.. I am worried that electric and steering problems will cause a serious accident.

- Calistoga, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 102011

Azera

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Azera. While driving approximately 30 mph the contact depressed the brake pedal and noticed the lights on the instrument panel became dim as well as all of the exterior lights on the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technicians was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Somers, CT, USA

problem #10

Sep 122011

Azera 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Several weeks ago I took my car to the Hyundai dealer's service department for warranty work. Over the last few months, while parked and unattended, the back of the driver's seat, on its own, readjusted itself all the way forward. This happened almost daily. The dealer said everything looked ok and they could not determine a cause. On 9/12/11 I sat in the driver's seat as I was preparing to leave work, and the seat back readjusted itself with me in it (car had not yet been started). It pushed me forward and up against the steering wheel. I was unable to stop the movement or readjust the back until the seat back completed its trek all the way forward. After the first time, I readjusted the seat and started driving on the bwi parkway at 55 mph when the seat back did it again, and again, and again. I headed straight for the dealer and during the 15 +/- miles to the dealer, I was compressed against the steering wheel about 20 more times. I am 6 feet tall and have long legs, and during the times I was driving and compressed against the steering wheel, it was extremely difficult to move my foot from the accelerator to the brake. As a result, as soon as I would feel the seat start to move forward, I had to pull over to the shoulder of the parkway until the seat stopped and I could readjust the back. Thankfully, this time when I arrived at the service department, the seat compressed the service attendant while he was sitting in my car, so he could see that there is a problem! several months ago when I first noticed the back readjusting on its own, I googled the problem and discovered that this issue with Azeras has been ongoing for quite some time. I hope that it will not take someone getting seriously hurt or killed before something is done to make huyndai acknowledge the problem. They think it is a switch. We will see!

- California, MD, USA

problem #9

Jan 292011

Azera

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Azera. While parked, the contact tried to turn the ignition on and it would not respond. The contact stated that the check engine light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technicians reloaded software on the computer. The vehicle was repaired under warranty. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 012009

Azera

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Hyundai Azera limited - I have a problem with the head lights and dash board lights dimming on and off randomly for about one year now. The problem does not happen if you are on the highway going about 60+ mph. I've brought my car into 3 dealerships. The 1st dealer said it was the battery harness which they changed and didn't solve the problem. They also wanted to sell me a new battery. The 2nd one said they'll never find the problem and save my money and take my wife out to lunch or trade the car in, and the 3rd dealer said they heard about the problem and fixed it once but can't remember how. The problem is a safety hazard and Hyundai should find a fix.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Sep 032010

Azera 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Hyundai Azera. Consumer states vehicle has an electrical problem and lurches forward during downshifts the consumer stated while driving at night, the headlights and dash board lights would flicker on and off, randomly. Also, the vehicle would lurch at times as it downshifted. It would hesitate, then jerk forward. The consumer stated the problem was correct by Hyundai, but it has since returned. Updated 09/06/11

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 022009

Azera

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Azera. While the contact was driving approximately 35 mph there was an electrical system failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on two separate occasions for the identical failure. The service repairs performed on the vehicle were at different times which consist of a fuse and wiring replacement. The failure continued after the fuse replacement. The technician advised the contact to using the cell phone adapter in the vehicle which could possibly contribute to the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. The current mileage was 34,000.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 282009

Azera

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated that whenever the cellular phone charger was plugged into the cigarette lighter, the vehicle would lose power and stall. There were no recalls on the vehicle. The VIN was not available at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 28,000 and the current was 36,000.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 012008

Azera

  • 16,000 miles
Repeated ( four occasions ) warning on dashboard that the airbag system was not functioning properly. Dealer has been unable to solve problem. Driver's door repeatedly will not latch. Oil leaks repeatedly - three occasions - head gasket replaced twice complete electrical failure twice - alternator replaced transmission rough shifting and rough, delayed engagement into reverse on 12/30/08.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 252008

Azera

  • 50,000 miles
2006 Hyundai Azera limited I just purchased has a headlight problem. The headlights go out at any time for two to three seconds, then come back on. Usually this occurs when coming to a stop, but not always. Maybe this is the reason the previous owner sold the car. We called the local dealer and were told it was a problem they haven't found a solution to yet, and the dealer at three other Azera owners with the same problem. The dealer said there is a voltage drop in the charging system, and it is more noticeable at night when the headlights are on. I have noticed the voltage drop during the day also by seeing the speedometer lights dim. This is so annoying, and is a safety issue. Could even become a problem of road rage if my headlights flash on and off at an irate driver in front of me. I can't believe there is no solution!

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #2

Oct 162006

Azera 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 737 miles
- the contact owns a Hyundai Azera. The contact experienced 2 incidents where the vehicle lost power at 737 miles, and again at 4418 miles. All of this has been reported to the manufacturer. These failures have been a concern since the vehicle was purchased on October 7, 2006. There were no warning indicator lights until after the vehicle lost power. The first incident occurred while driving at 70 mph, and the second incident at 50 mph. All of the lights illuminated after the vehicle stalled. The contact wasn't able to restart the vehicle on both incidents, and the vehicle was towed to the dealer, who determined that the failure was due to a faulty relay and 1 burned out fuse. They stated this was the only problem. After the second incident the vehicle was towed again, and stayed at the dealer for 11 days. The dealer replaced the fuel pump, 2 electrical wires, the gas tank, and the computer. The end result was that the dealer in consultation with Hyundai didn't know why the failures occurred. The contact filed a complaint with Hyundai. The first failure was on 0ctober 16, 2006, and the second failure was on December 8, 2006. The current mileage was 9200. The consumer states there was a 3rd incident on March 9, 2007 the car powered down and the consumer inserted his spare 205 power relay and the car turned over. Dealer states replaced relay and fuses a few times. Customer states problem still going on wants car fixed. Update 04/19/07 updated 03-28-08

- Pen Broke Pines , FL, USA

problem #1

Feb 122007

Azera 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,800 miles
Headlights do not properly illuminate the roadway. This is a safety hazard. I almost hit a pedestrian while driving on a dimly lit road. I complained to my dealer and was advised that there was nothing they could do. The dealer claims that the lights are working in accordance with the manufactures specifications. If this is true...the manufacturer should be forced to adjust these standards before a tragedy occurs. There have been two other instances where this condition nearly caused me to have an accident.

- Daytona Beach, FM, USA

Not what you are looking for?