Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

9.6

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
800 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Hyundai Azera electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Hyundai Azera:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Hyundai Azera Owner Comments

problem #5

Jun 012015

Azera

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. my car started by itself at least 5 times. When I went outside to turn it off it was already off! my remotes will not allow me to remotely turn off the car [ch]! on 1-19-2015, the car started unassisted again & the trunk lid popped open & up 3 feet! my controls only allow inch up! 2. after 1-8-2015, I discovered that my driver seat 2 position settings have been changed more than 6 times but not by me [ch]! 3. after 1-8-2015, all the door locks unlock occasionally (several times now) by them self about 2 or 3 seconds after I manually push the button to lock them immediately after I enter my car [ch]! 4. at least 17 times my rear view mirrors have changed positions while I was driving my car [ch]! 1 time in reverse the rear view mirrors folded up with no view [hc]! 5. after 1-8-2015, I have received several messages from my virgin mobil cell phone saying "connection requested by azara" [ch]! 6. I discovered my 24/7 outside lights setting had the outside lights turned off while being in the on position [ch]! the 24/7 lights - setting is to automatically keep the lights on in the day & later change to night lights automatically. 7. the outside driver side door unlock handle button does not consistently work for the other 3 doors [ch]. 8. my cruise control stopped working on *-27-15 (1 pm) [ch] (3 times). 9. on *-27-15 (1 pm) my rear brake lights were on & would not turn off. They were on for hours! at home, later that day they turned off, then on, then off, then on for hours [ch]! they were on all night! 10. On 9-4-15, the program inside my hma remote was hacked ($325 repair cost) & it would not set my continuous panic button alarm. 11. on 10-5-2015, while driving, I started the gps direction guidance only to hear the gps guidance volume hacked to the extreme highest level (several times)!

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #4

May 042015

Azera

  • 800 miles
After about 800 miles, my vehicle began making a loud clattering noise at start up. Now at approximately 15K miles, the vehicle has been returned to the purchasing dealer to rectify this problem several times. A Hyundai representative deemed this loud obtrusive noise normal. He stated it is a timing chain tensioner that is causing the noise. He also states the tensioner has to be "primed" during initial start up. I replied, if this is the case, why it took 800 miles for the noise to become audible? he repeated his statement by saying this is normal. I then replied, in no shape form or fashion, this is normal. The noise is so loud, the representative and no choice but to say he herd it, but now says it is normal. After completing some in-depth research on Hyundai's 3.3 liter lamda engines, the clattering noise has been reported countless times to Hyundai. Although my vehicle was purchased new and still remains under factory warranty, Hyundai has refused to correct this obvious engine defect. Now while coming to a stop, the vehicle idles fine, then the RPM's violently drop to around 500. After several seconds, the RPM's return to its normal, 750 RPM's. I returned the vehicle to Hyundai concerning this problem. Once again, they deemed normal. To this date, Hyundai has refused to honor the factory's warranty on any of my vehicle's obvious engineering defeats.

- River Ridge, LA, USA

problem #3

Aug 012014

Azera

  • 1,000 miles
1. my car started by itself several times[ch] unassisted! 2.while driving my car I discovered that my driver seat 2 position settings have been changed ch several times]! both side view mirrors would not tilt down in reverse! also, on 6-26-15 I discovered that both of my front driver seat set positons have been changed [ch]! on 7-7-15, my driver seat position settings were hacked again! on 9-1-15, the driver seat was hacked up; when I got into the car I hit my head! 3.all the door locks unlock several times by themselves about 2 or 3 seconds after I manually push the button to lock them immediately after I enter my car [ch]! from 2-11-15, the doors unlocked by them self repeatedly several times to 9-11-2015 at least 68 different times [ch]! at my home, on 4-9-2015, my horn sounded, the mirrors folded up & all the doors unlocked all at once by themselves after locking them [ch]! 4.in 2015, while driving my car several times that side rear view mirrors were moved [ch]! on 2-22-15 I started my car, put the car in reverse & both rear view mirrors folded up [ch]! on several times my rear view mirrors would not tilt down in reverse [ch]! 5.I discovered my car's 24/7 lights were turned off [ch]! 6.several times the driver side door unlock handle button would not unlock the other 3 doors [ch]. 7.while driving my car, my cruise control stopped working on *-27-15 & 4-20-2015 [ch]. 8.on *-27-15 my rear brake lights were on & would not turn off - on for hours! later that day they turned off, then on, then off, then on for hours [ch]! 9.on 9-4-15, my hma remote program was hacked & it would not set my alarm panic button - on for security purposes!

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #2

Aug 012014

Azera 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Computer system defects / electrical defects & or computer hackings [ch]: 1. my car started by itself at least 3 times. On 1-8-2015 my car started again unassisted! when I went outside to turn it off, before I could touch the door handle of the car, the car turned off & locked the doors without me doing anything! my remotes will not allow me to remotely turn off the car [ch]! on 1-19-2015, the car started unassisted again & the trunk lid popped open & up! 2. after 1-8-2015, I discovered that my driver seat 2 position settings have been changed at least 3 times but not by me [ch]! 3. after 1-8-2015, all the door locks unlock occasionally (several times now) by them self about 2 or 3 seconds after I manually push the button to lock them immediately after I enter my car [ch]! 4. at least 3 times my rear view mirrors have changed positions while I was driving my car [ch]! 1 time in reverse the rear view mirrors folded up with no view [hc]! 5. after 1-8-2015, I have received several messages from my virgin mobil cell phone saying "connection requested by azara" [ch]! 6. I discovered my 24/7 outside lights setting had the outside lights turned off while being in the on position [ch]! the 24/7 lights - setting is to automatically keep the lights on in the day & later change to night lights automatically. 7. the outside driver side door unlock handle button does not consistently work for the other 3 doors [ch]. 8. my cruise control stopped working on *-27-15 (1 pm) [ch]. 9. on *-27-15 (1 pm) my rear brake lights were on & would not turn off. They were on for hours! at home, later that day they turned off, then on, then off, then on for hours [ch]! they were on all night!.....updated 11/02/15

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #1

Aug 012014

Azera 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Computer system defects / electrical defects / computer hackings [ch] my new 2014 Hyundai Azera car has computer system(s) defects / electrical defects (or the computer system in my car has been hacked by an outside computer [ch] or laser gun). My car is equipped with remote start. Computer system defects / electrical defects: 1. at home, before 1-8-2015 my car started by itself & I should have taken it to the dealer. On 1-8-2015 at home my car started again unassisted! when I went outside to turn it off, before I could touch the door handle of the car, the car turned off & locked the doors without me doing anything! my remote will not allow me to remotely turn off the car [ch"]! on 1-19-2015, at home, the car started unassisted again & the trunk lid popped open & up! 2.after 1-8-2015, I discovered that my driver seat 2 position settings have been changed at least 3 times but not by me [ch"]! 3.after 1-8-2015, all the door locks unlock occasionally (several times now) by them self about 2 or 3 seconds after I manually push the button to lock them immediately after I enter my car [ch"]! 4.*occasionally my passenger rear view mirror sticks in the fully down position [ch?]! later both rear view mirrors were stuck. 1 time in reverse the rear view mirrors folded up with no view [hc?]! 5.*after 1-8-2015, I have received several messages from my virgin mobil cell phone saying "connection requested by Azera" [ch?]! 6.I discovered my 24/7 outside lights setting ?? had the outside lights turned off while being in the on position [ch"]! the 24/7 lights - setting is to automatically keep the lights on in the day & later change to night lights automatically. I do not know how long I have been driving with no lights on! as a result, I am not sure if the day & night lights are working both day & night correctly!....updated 11/02/15

- Randallstown, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?