If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,978 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Genesis brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Genesis Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #68

Apr 192014

Genesis

  • 55,603 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Forty five minutes after picking up my new ( to me ) car at the dealership I had purchased it from I was driving down the road and in an instant I had to step on the brakes hard because the truck in front of me stopped quickly to make a left hand turn. Upon doing so the brake pedal went all the way down and I crashed into the truck. After the crash I restarted the car to move it to the side of the road and it stopped normally like it should. I was left with the feeling that I had no brakes for that instant. Totally un aware of a brake recall on the new car, when I found out later that night about the recall I was upset because I couldnt believe that a well established 30 years in business dealership would sell me a car and not have mentioned or even taken care of it. On the following Monday after the accident I called Hyundai motor of America to verify that my new to me Genesis had never been recalled (repaired yet ). Hyundai said they were sorry and sent me out an investigation packet that I am currently filling out and gathering information for. They also asked me what I was seeking from Hyundai. I replied. I wanted my car fixed perfect. The truck I hit repaired. My recall taken care of and would like some sort of statement or document stating that my car was prone to brake failure so I can appeal the sir charge I will recieve from my insurance company for the next five years at 500-600 per year for an at fault accident. My car was towed away to a body shop with considerable damage and is currently unable to be driven.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #67

Apr 062014

Genesis

  • 50,750 miles
I was traveling approximately 25 mph in a residential neighborhood, preparing to come to a stop at an intersection when I depressed the brake pedal and it went all the way to the floor without stopping the car. I pumped the brakes and it then engaged and stopped the car. I carefully and slowly drove the car to the dealership the following morning. After inspecting the car, the dealership told me that the hecu and ABS module would need to be replaced and the brake fluid flushed and replaced. They said this would cost about $3,000 and they contacted my extended warranty insurance carrier to attempt to get the cost covered by insurance. A day later the dealership told me that the insurance company had sent an inspector out to test drive the car and would send another inspector tomorrow to inspect the hecu and ABS module and they're still attempting to work with them to get the cost covered. I took the car in for the safety recall on 10/24/13 and the brake fluid was replaced, and I also had new brakes installed on 3/8/14, yet I still had the brakes fail a month later. Hyundai should be doing the repairs without question and instead they're trying to get the extended warranty insurance carrier to cover it and I'm having to wait it out while they bicker about costs.

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

problem #66

Mar 132014

Genesis

  • 76,000 miles
The brakes became spongy, increased travel, and lost stopping power. I had to press the pedal all the way to the floor to avoid an accident. I have had the brake fluid replaced, but suspect that this is due to corrosion that already occurred from the faulty brake fluid and ABS module. I would appreciate any assistance in convincing Hyundai of this.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #65

Jan 142014

Genesis

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake pedal went to floor. Very difficult to stop vehicle. This is an intermittent problem and does not happen all the time. Typically has occured once or twice per month. This continues even after having the master cylinder replaced and filling a complaint with the NHTSA. Hyundai checked the hecu module under their recall campaign #114 and states the hecu is within specs. However, since this is an intermittent issue they cannot diagnos the problem until it fails. Cannot drive vehicle as we cannot predict next time this failure will occur.

- Oregon, OH, USA

problem #64

Jan 152014

Genesis

  • 23,955 miles
Brake padle went almost to the floor.thought I lost my brakes.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #63

Sep 112012

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
While applying the brakes, the brake pedal would go to the floor and fail to stop the vehicle. I had to repeatedly pump the brakes to get the car to stop. Pressing the brake without pumping would cause the brake pedal to go to the floor.

- Maplewood , NJ, USA

problem #62

Oct 232013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 83,478 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In October while the car was at the dealer for service they asked me wait a few more minutes and explained they were replacing the brake fluid. Within a month of that service I started noticing a soft peddle which turned to a to the floor pedal on occasions. Finally in late Dec 13 it got very bad and the brakes were unresponsive and took a great deal of pressure to activate from time to time. I brought the car to the dealer today under a new recall I just received regarding brake fluid replacement. They replaced the fluid and bled the system, they said they were not satisfied with the result and continued to look for another issue. They found the mast cylinder was leaking. The tech took me on the side and said the fluid that was in there attracted metal shavings that probably caused the master cylinder seal to fail. They would not let me drive the car home and gave me a loaner.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #61

Dec 172013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
I was driving at 45 mph approaching an intersection and observed the traffic signal turn red. I applied the brakes and the pedal freely sunk to the floor while I had no braking power. I let up on the brake pedal and pumped the pedal and after several pumps had weak braking. I was able to stop after rolling partly into the intersection. While at a stop, I then pumped the brake pedal and noted I had braking power but the pedal would fall all the way down under continuous pressure. I was able to drive home cautiously noting the same situation with the brake pedal.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #60

Dec 172013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 16,300 miles
On 11/5/13, I received email noticed from NHTSA's ODI of campaign id number 13V489. Upon clicking the link I was provided further information including the following: "Hyundai will inspect the hecu module for proper operation, and will replace the modules as necessary." After receiving a notice from Hyundai for a different recall (13V113), I contacted Hyundai, and made an appointment to have recall service for both campaigns done at carousel Hyundai, West chester, pa on 12/17/2013. Carousel insisted the brake fluid service was based did not include component inspection based on service bulletin 13-01-006-02, and failed to perform an inspection, but noted on my invoice "completed campaign TL6 as required." On 12/30/13, I contacted Hyundai by telephone, asked why the dealership did not have the proper information to perform the inspection and was told that the recall information was not available to the dealership until after my vehicle was taken in for service on 12/17/13. I was then informed that if I wanted the brake system components inspected for corrosion damage, I would need to take the vehicle in for an additional recall service. Since NHTSA provided me with the proper recall information for this campaign on 11/5/13, it is not clear why Hyundai failed to provided this information to their authorized service network until after 12/17/13, more than 30 days later, resulting in improper servicing to complete the NHTSA campaign. Many consumers are unlikely to challenge the lack of inspection and may therefore continue driving vehicles that are improperly serviced, and present a potential life safety and collision damage risk. Meanwhile, I will be required to wait longer and spend additional time to have the proper servicing performed. Carousel did take the time to inform me about other, unrelated, servicing they recommended, and offered to perform for a fee.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #59

Sep 182013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
When the brakes are applied the car starts to slow down but does not stop until the brakes go almost to the floor. I am just waiting for the time when it does not stop at all. With all the complaints I am seeing about these brake problems it appears a recall should be forthcoming from Hyundai.

- Homosassa, FL, USA

problem #58

Nov 192013

Genesis

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while at a stop, the brake pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard. The contact mentioned that the failure would recur intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the hydraulic electronic control unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V489000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The vehicle was repaired under the recall in April of 2013 but the failure recurred. The approximate failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #57

Dec 122013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 70,552 miles
Driving in a 45 mph road, there was a traffic light that turned red. My speed before starting to brake was approximately 40 mph. When I pressed the brake pedal, it went almost to the floor and the car was not stopping. Immediately I pumped the brake pedal several times and fortunately the brakes slowed down the car until it came to a stop almost at the middle of the intersection. It was a blessing that there was no other car in front of me or crossing the intersection at the time. Drove home very slowly and towed the vehicle to the service center. ABS module was replaced at a cost of over $2400. A few months before the car had the brake fluid replaced due to a vehicle recall from Hyundai. Service performed by the same service center that replaced the faulty ABS module.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #56

Dec 032013

Genesis

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph and applying the brakes, the brake pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V489000 (service brakes, hydraulic) which stated that the hecu module would be replaced as necessary however, the technician refused to replace the hecu module under the recall and stated that they would only replace the brake fluid. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the dealer was not authorized to replace the hecu module. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #55

Oct 232013

Genesis

  • 79,000 miles
At the time of the first incident I had come to a stop and noticed the car starting to move forward and the brake pedal slowly moving toward the floor. I thought it was probably low brake fluid, but checked it and it was fine. The problem continued and seemed to slowly get worse. I have since taken it in for service and repair of the brake related recall items. This did not resolve the problem and I was told I needed the ABS control module replaced at a cost of approximately $2400. After realizing that the NHTSA is currently investigating this faulty part, I wanted to make sure that my issues with this part were added to the list of complaints.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #54

Sep 022013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 85,748 miles
Problem: Upon applying brakes, reduced brake pressure & longer pedal travel, feeling like master cylinder problem- although brakes continued to work with greater effort. Nov. 2013 received Hyundai safety recall notice 13V-113: Replace stop lamp switch and flush/refill brake fluid. Dealer completed service noc 30, 2013. Dealer said that master cylinder needed replacement. Service performed Dec. 5, 2013. Dealer then said hydraulic electronic control unit needed replacement. (parts ordered.) I feel that my brake problems were caused by the manufacturer installing inadequate/faulty brake fluid. The repairs need to be done at the manufacturer's expense.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #53

Sep 022013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 85,748 miles
Problem: Upon stepping on brakes, reduced brake pressure, longer pedal travel- feeling like possible master cylinder failure, but brakes continued to work. Nov. 15, 2013 received Hyundai safety recall notice 13V-113: Replace stop lamp switch and flush/refill break fluid. Dealer completed service Nov 30. Dealer said master cylinder needed to be replaced. Service performed Dec. 5. dealer then said hydraulic electronic control unit needed replacement. I feel the brake problems are due to the faulty break fluid that was installed by the manufacturer and repairs need to be done at the manufactures expense.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #52

Dec 022013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
While driving the car at 5.20 pm on Monday December 2, 2013, my brakes failed. The brake pedal almost went to the floor, were very soft, and only barely worked. I managed to stop the car without hitting any other vehicle. Since I was close to home, I carefully maneuvered the car to my garage where it was safely parked. On Tuesday morning (the next day) I had the car towed to shawnee mission Hyundai. That afternoon they called me back to say that the problem was complete failure of the brake control module (hecu). Upon investigation, and without any advice or assistance from the people at Hyundai, I have discovered that this is a known issue for Hyundai, and the subject of a recall. I am writing to inform the authority that the parts failed on my car.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #51

Nov 262013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • miles
I had to take my car into service due to two recalls that had been posted. One for the brake switch and the second for the brake fluid. In addition to that, my wife had also mentioned to me that the brakes felt "sponge-Y". once I got to the local dealership and notified the service advisor what issues I had, he told me that my car needs a new ABS module. I did some online research and discovered that there have already been similar complaints filed for this problem. I would like to add myself to that list of consumers who have this vehicle with this problem. I look forward to having this issue being resolved.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #50

Aug 132013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • miles
On 8/13/13 at approx 930am, traffic was approaching a traffic light when it turned yellow. Driver of vehicle infront of me suddenly stopped and as I applied the brake to stop as well, my brake pedal was depressed to the floor but had no braking power. I was not able to stop so unfortunately I struck the vehicle infront of me. All repairs were finished on 8/29/13. As I backed into my driveway I noticed that my brake lights were not working. I contacted the auto body shop and they looked at it the next day. They advised me that the brake lights were not in direct relation to their services rendered but that I should take it to a local dealership to have it checked out. They also advised me that my brake pedal seemed soft and should also be looked at. I made an appointment with the dealer and they advised me that there was a recall on the brake fluid and stop light switch. The brake lights started working again prior to my appointment so I ended up canceling it. In early Nov I noticed my brake lights again were not working. I brought the vehicle in and they fixed the brake fluid and stop light switch saying they were recalled. They also advised me that my brake pedal went to the floor and should have it looked at but would have to pay for diagnosis and/or repairs. When I got home again, I backed into the driveway and noticed my brake lights were not working even though I just left the dealership where they fixed it. Recalls are stating that the previous brake fluid may corrode the brake module reducing brake effectiveness possibly ending in a crash and that the stop lights have malfunctioned on other cars. I wanted to make you aware of my issue before I contacted Hyundai directly and possibly a lawyer. Thank you

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #49

Nov 082013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Brought my car in to address a recall on the brakes. 10 days after they flushed my brake fluid I noticed I had to push down hard on the brake pedal for the car to stop. I brought the car in and they said the master cylinder needs to be replaced at my cost. I have two young children and I'm extremely concerned about the safety of this vehicle.

- Clovis, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?