If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2009 Hyundai Genesis brakes NHTSA complaints: Service Brakes

NHTSA — Service Brakes Problems

2009 Hyundai Genesis (Page 1 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,559 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Genesis brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Genesis Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Nov 082013

Genesis

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought my car in to address a recall on the brakes. 10 days after they flushed my brake fluid I noticed I had to push down hard on the brake pedal for the car to stop. I brought the car in and they said the master cylinder needs to be replaced at my cost. I have two young children and I'm extremely concerned about the safety of this vehicle.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #51

Mar 272013

Genesis

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, he attempted to engaged the brakes but the pedal extended to the floor and failed to stop the vehicle. In order to stop the vehicle the contact was forced to shift out of gear. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the front tire brake pads and master brake cylinder were replaced but failed to remedy the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- Redlands, CO, USA

problem #50

Oct 302013

Genesis

  • 49,990 miles
Sudden loss of brake pressure. Brake pedal became very mushy, and had to be pressed all the way down to brake the car. After brake was pumped a couple of times, issue went away. Appears to be caused by a faulty ABS hydraulic module. After the incident, did some research on the Genesis owners forums, and seems like the same issue has affected a number of other vehicles as well. www.genesisowners.com/Hyundai-Genesis-forum/showthread.php?T=9926&page=7

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #49

Oct 282013

Genesis

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving our 2009 Hyundai Genesis eastbound on the Florida turnpike at approximately 75 mph. A vehicle put on their brakes ahead of the car and my wife went to apply her brakes and the pedal went nearly to the floor causing her to nearly lose control of the vehicle before braking action finally activated. I immediately took the vehicle to our local Hyundai dealership and was presented with a $2375 repair bill for a failed ABS control module. I have since learned that this is a reoccurring failure with the Genesis model and a recall is currently in effect for these vehicles on the brake system. This is a critical safety issue that must be addressed immediately!

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #48

Oct 302013

Genesis

  • 108,000 miles
This is the second time in a week where the brakes have just failed. The brake pedal will go all the way to the floor. After pumping the pedal pressure is restored. Concerned about safety going forward.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #47

Oct 312013

Genesis

  • 82,599 miles
I experienced brakes issues with my 2009 Hyundai Genesis on 31 Oct 13. Driving home from work, I had to push my brakes all the way to the ground and pump them several times to get the vehicle to stop. I called the Hyundai dealership to get an appointment for my car, they were able to see my car on 4 Nov 13 (today). I received a call from the Hyundai representative (waldorf, md - store #MD041) this morning notifying me that my car's brake system - hydraulic electronic control unit is failing. This seems to happening more often to these particular cars. I was told the brake fluid was replaced in my car in March 2013. The change of the brake fluid was to prevent this from happen. The brake fluid did not prevent this from happening to my vehicle. I believe Hyundai should recall/fix the faulty hydraulic electronic control unit for the Hyundai Genesis versus the customers paying a $3,000 bill which is unnecessary.

- Laplata, MD, USA

problem #46

Oct 202013

Genesis

  • 71,129 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving in traffic on interstate and traffic came to a sudden stop in front of me. I applied brakes and they went to floor and was slow to activate. The car did stop but brake pedal goes to floor nearly before stopping. Happened once before. The first time I stopped and checked brake fluid and they seemed to correct, not this time. I have taken car to two dealers for repair and they both said brake fluid change recall, nothing further. They both let me leave with brakes still going to floor. I am a 33 year state police investigator and saw the news of recall online. I had to take evasive action to avoid crash both times.

- Gulf Shores, AL, USA

problem #45

Sep 092013

Genesis

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle failed to decelerate upon engaging the brakes. The brake pedal also abnormally traveled to the floorboard as the vehicle came to a stop. The vehicle was able resume in operation however, the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer twice where the technician was unable to duplicate the problem, however the front brakes and brake fluid was replaced. There was a voluntary recall issued by the manufacturer pertaining to the replacement of the braking fluid. The owner was responsible for the expense of the brakes as the brake fluid was replaced under the recall. The failure persisted after the repair was performed. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000.

- Downingtown , PA, USA

problem #44

Aug 082013

Genesis

  • 68,282 miles
Without warning, the brake pedal traveled almost to the floor of the car before stopping the vehicle. The first occasion happened on August 7, 2013, but the problem corrected itself and the brakes seemed fine until October 20, 2013, when my husband and I were vacationing in the mountains of North Carolina, approximately 5 hours from our home. Again, without any warning, the brake pedal went almost to the floor before stopping the vehicle. We made it home safely, but the brake failure was a major safety concern. After seeing information online about a recall of the Genesis related to the brakes, we took the vehicle to the Hyundai dealership in goldsboro, nc, on October 23, and they replaced the brake fluid, which failed to correct the problem with the brakes. They told us the master cylinder needed to be replaced. Based on the history of the problem, we did not agree with that diagnosis and, on October 24, took the Genesis to johnson Hyundai in raleigh, nc, where they determined the problem was caused by a failure of the hydraulic module for the antilock brake system. The Hyundai company told us they are currently investigating this very same problem with the 2009 Genesis but the investigation is not far enough along to determine if a recall will be made. Further, that we should have the repairs done (over $2100) and if a recall is made, we would be reimbursed. Johnson Hyundai is trying to help us find a resolution to this issue. The vehicle is only four years old and about 10,000 miles out of warranty; $2100 in a repair bill is a lot of money for us to pay for a brake problem of which Hyundai is already aware....updated 11-12-13

- Four Oaks, NC, USA

problem #43

Oct 172013

Genesis

  • 70,000 miles
When trying to use the brakes in my vehicle, I noticed that I had to push them all the way to the floor for them to engage. It seems that every so often, this is an issue

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #42

Sep 292013

Genesis

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake pedal went all the way to the floor and braking effectiveness was severely reduced (compared to normal). This was the first stop after a "panic stop". the problem could not be reproduced at will. Approximately two weeks later, the same failure was experienced (again at the time of the first stop after a panic stop, but this time travelling at about 30 M.P.H.). again, the problem cannot be reproduced at will as it is intermittent.

- Independence, LA, USA

problem #41

Oct 212013

Genesis

  • 114,000 miles
My wife and I were traveling to work on I10 West between quincy & tallahassee Florida when she attempted to slow down and get off the exit when she press the brake pedal and the car would not. I yelled to her to pump the brake and the car suddenly begin to slow down. We took the car to the dealership and they eventually told us after two day that it was the ABS modulator and the part & service is $2400. Refuse to pay. Took the car in for a brake fluid recall and replacement of brake switch just a month ago.

- Quincy, FL, USA

problem #40

Sep 192013

Genesis

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact was driving 45 mph when the brakes were applied to stop the vehicle. The brakes failed and the parking brake was used. The vehicle was merged off the roadway and was towed to an independent mechanic. The master cylinder and calipers were replaced, but the issue was not corrected. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 83000.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #39

Aug 052013

Genesis

  • 45,000 miles
My local dealer, kuhio motors, has failed to correct a brake problem that has been on-going for over two months. The dashboard warning lights for the anti-lock brakes (ABS) and electronic stability control (esc) have been burning continuously for over two months. Kuhio motors, my Hyundai dealer, has failed to correct the problem after three visits for service. I understand that several Genesis drivers have experienced brake failure due to a defective braking control module.

- Princeville, HI, USA

problem #38

Oct 122013

Genesis

  • 90,000 miles
I was driving around 45 mph when the car in front of me braked suddenly to avoid an animal in the street. My brakes did not initially work at all and I had them to the floor. After about 3 seconds they began to brake. Now my pedal can be pushed to the floor without braking and I have to pump them to get them to work. It was the first time I have experienced that problem, but since the incident they will not brake but very slowly.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #37

Aug 132013

Genesis

  • 106,115 miles
Traveling on freeway when a vehicle suddenly changed lanes in front of me causing me to brake suddenly and hard. The brake pedal went down, the vehicle slowed, and then the brake pedal started to go down further but the car didn't stop. I had to pump the brake pedal several times in order to avoid hitting the vehicle in front of me. Afterwards the brake pedal was very "soft" and it didn't initiate any slowing of the car unless I pumped the brake pedal several times.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #36

Aug 162013

Genesis

  • 102,713 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and went nearly to the floorboard without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle became hard to stop. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electro-hydraulic control unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 102,713 and the current mileage was 107,000.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #35

Sep 062012

Genesis

  • 33,471 miles
On 9/6/2012 my wife was driving at approximately 40 mph, when a pickup truck pulled in front of her, she applied the brakes and the pedal went almost to the floor, but she managed to stop the vehicle. She immediately drove it home, and I tested the vehicle with the same results, the brakes went almost to the floor. Called Hyundai and they had the car towed. Picked the car up on 9/12/2012. Hyundai diagnosed the problem as a failed ABS unit. Thankfully the car was under warranty, since the cost to repair was $2071. Since I just heard about the recall, I thought it was important to report that the problem happened over 1 year ago.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #34

Aug 292013

Genesis

  • 73,762 miles
2009 Hyundai Genesis with 4.6 liter V8 engine experienced brake failure at approximately 9:00 am while traveling at approximately 40 mph. The brake pedal went soft and went to floor with greatly reduced braking affect. No warning lights appeared on the instrument panel indicating a brake failure or any other problem with the vehicle. The vehicle was brought to the local Hyundai dealership who indicated that a service notification had been issued concerning the brake fluid (campaign #TL6 20C022ro) and the fluid would be replaced. After the fluid was replaced the brakes were still inoperative. The dealership service department next said the brake ABS module had failed (hecu). The costly ABS module was replaced and the brake operation returned to normal.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #33

Jul 112013

Genesis

  • 35,000 miles
I own a 2009 hundai Genesis 4 door sedan, 6 cylinder. On 3 ocaisions this past summer, in rapid succession, my brakes failed, and in 1 instance I narrowly avoided an accident on the highway. The brake pedal inexplicably goes all the way to the floor before the car finally comes to a slow stop. Very dangerous. Broght it to the dealer, who kept it for 2 days. They said they replaced the brake fluid(they said it was a recall item and they never contacted me about it, they admitted) and they charged me for replacing my front brakes. Have had the car a month now, and its happened twice more-this is an accident waiting to happen for me or anyone else with a Hyundai Genesis.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?