Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,057 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Genesis engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Genesis Owner Comments

problem #13

May 012016


  • miles


When accelerating while turning a corner the engine loses power completely. In a heavy traffic situation this has caused near accidents and oncoming drivers to slam on the brakes. Vehicle begins at a dead stop. 1/2 way thru the turn there is always a complete loss of power and car stalls for several seconds until power returns. This happens every time while accelerating around a corner. Scary

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #12

Mar 092016


  • 57,385 miles
My 2011 Hyundai Genesis engaged in unintended sudden acceleration on 3/9/16 at 5:35 pm, in tampa, fl, resulting in a crash into a dwelling at 306 West frances avenue, tampa, fl.33607. Vehicle was in the process of being parked on side of house when it all of a sudden accelerated and applying the brakes failed to stop

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 222015


  • 80,527 miles
On December 22nd, 2015, I was driving the car into my parking lot at my office when the car began to accelarate on its own. This is the second time in the last 6 months that the engine has accelarated without depressing the accelerator and then continued to rev higher when the car is put into park. If it was not for some quick thinking, I almost went into a wall of the garage. I immediately called the Hyundai dealer and spoke to the service manager. He could hear the reving of the car. He asked if I felt safe driving it to the dealer which I did. All thoughout the ride, the car continued to accelarate on its own. When I arrived at the dealer and turned the car off, the car stopped doing this. The dealer kept the car for 5 weeks and could not duplicate or find any problems. I have asked to speak to someone at Hyundai to see what the next steps are if it happens again

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #10

Dec 182015


  • 38,233 miles


On December 18, 2015 at approximately 4:45pm, my husband and I were beginning our trip to an event. We were stopped at a stop light, about the 4th or 5th car in line to turn left onto a major road. There are 2 lanes for turning left and we were in the turn lane next to the lane that goes straight across the main road because we were going to have to make the first right onto the interstate after getting on the main road. We had already come to a complete stop and had been stopped for probably a minute or so. Cars were also stopped behind us. It is a steep hill, and we were facing uphill so his foot was firmly on the brakes. Then all of a sudden the engine just started roaring like it was full throttle and it took off forward and hit a Nissan frontier pickup truck in front of us. It went under the truck's bumper and kept plowing forward. He tried to take it out of gear and it would not go. We watched as the hood kept crumpling more and more as we were lifting up the truck as we were going under it. The back wheels of the truck were off of the ground. I finally thought to reach over and turn the engine off. Thank the lord, it shut off before anyone got hurt.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #9

Dec 182015


  • 38,233 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Genesis. While idling at a stop light, the contact's vehicle accelerated and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,233.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #8

Oct 202014

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I was driving at 35 mph in the lane, the car on the left lane hit the rear body and tire of driver side, but the car didn't stop even after the impact. After the collision, I pressed very hard on the brake pedal to stop, but it kept moving, even increased its speed up to 60 mph, and turned into the different direction. Also the wheel was stuck by itself and I was not able to turn anywhere with my hands. It went off the opposite side of the road without any control. 20 years old Toyota Camry was able to stop at the spot of collision, but Hyundai Genesis couldn't. the wheel and the brake were both stuck and unable to be controlled and crashed into the electric pole. The air bag was deployed, and Hyundai Genesis was totaled. In 2014, the brake recall service was received two times from the dealer. There must be the mechanical failure in the brake, speed control, and the wheel which caused this total loss. I was injured and taken by the ambulance later. I never had any accidents like this before with any other cars!

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #7

Aug 192014

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 25,883 miles


Car loss all forward power, speed dropped to 20 mph accelerator had no effect. After pulling to side of road engine would not go above 2000 RPM in neutral. Engine light came on, limped to dealer. Dealer diagnosed as trouble code C15, throttle body assy. Dealer replaced throttle body, drove car for 50 miles in 4 days. Now have the same problem, engine light on and no power. This is a very dangerous problem. Will have car towed back to dealer. Loosing power with no warning while driving on the interstates or pulling out into traffic is dangerous and safety problem!!!!!!!

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #6

Apr 132014

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 97,200 miles
Got jackrabbit yesterday evening(aprl. 13 Sunday 2014, 6:30pm ). when I tried exit to roadway from parking lot, motor rev up by itself and break system could not stopped vehicle completely. I could hear the squeaking noise from breaks even I push the break pedal deep, I still was in the parkinig lot and could steer onto empty parking space and shifted lever to "neutral" and right after that, motor RPM jumped over 6000 with loud motor noise. I shot off the motor and a little later, reignite over and over, same thing happened. About 20 minutes later, symptom disappeared by itself. I think I was lucky because I was not on the highway. I video recorded this with my smart phone. *

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #5

Aug 202013


  • 59,101 miles
Twice today, while driving in stop/go traffic, the car felt as if it was accelerating on its own. When I took the foot of the brake to go, the car would jolt forward on its own. Had to press the brake bery hard to make sure it wouldnt go by itself. I had to pull over, afraid I would hit car. When I put it on neutral, the engine revved to 3000rpms and it stayed there. My foot was not on the gas pedal at all. When I tried shifting back to drive, it jolted forward. The only way to get it to stop doing this was to turn the engine off. After the first time, I drove about 30 min in 40mph traffic, before it did it again. At times the car felt like it didnt want to accelerate when I wanted to. Then as traffic slowed down, started accelerating on its own again. This is not the first time this happens. I brought the car to the Hyundai dealership several months back for the same issue and they said they found nothing wrong. Someone needs to look into this before someone gets hurt.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 142013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 19,200 miles
When starting my car, rpms jumped to 4 without press any pedals. And my car was shaking and really big sound from engine while its on park. And I switched to drive mode and suddenly my car move forward by itself. And then hit sidewalk and heatshield got damaged. I went to dealership. But no problem found. I was really scared, I thought im gonna die.

- Ridgefield Park, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jul 162012

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 37,800 miles


Over the past two months I've experienced three cases of uncontrolled acceleration. Specifically, as I'm driving the car begins to accelerate. I remove my foot from the accelerator and the car continues to accelerate. As I step on the brake the car will slow down, but it's "fighting" me. As I remove my foot from the brake the car begins to accelerate again. If I shift into neutral while this is happening, the RPM's on the car increase very rapidly. The only way I can stop this is to turn the car off. I'm not using cruise control and I have been traveling from 35 to 40 mph. I can't recreate this problem at will and neither can the dealer - so nobody at the dealership has any idea what to do. They have contacted Hyundai with no luck.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #2

Aug 162011

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 2,175 miles
On 8/16/11, while driving down a couple of hills on my brakes, approaching a car & stop sign at an intersection a little over 2 blocks away, I pressed down harder on the brake pedal to come to a complete stop. The car, a new, 2011 Hyundai Genesis, would not stop. I continued to press harder and harder on the brake, but the car would not stop. It just continued at to move at the speed I was driving down the hill, approximately 15-20 mph. As a result, the car rolled directly into the car sitting at the stop sign.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 232011

Genesis 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated while attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated causing the contact to crash into a wall on April 23, 2011. On June 3, 2011 while approaching a stop sign, the vehicle accelerated through the stop sign and struck another vehicle on the rear fender. A police report was filed. The contact and passenger were not injured. The dealership was contacted and stated that they had never heard of that type of failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 2,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 11/18/11.

- Bala Cynwyd, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?