Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,508 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #12

Sep 292006


  • 9,442 miles


We noticed a crack starting in the passenger side dashboard where the airbag was located. The crash pad was replaced on 9/29/06 under warranty. A new crack started in 2010 which continued to expand & spread. On 10/12/11, we returned to the dealership and they verified the situation. However, we were told that because the vehicle was now "off warranty, " regardless that it was in the exact same location as the original problem, they could not re-address the issue unless we paid for the repair first & then could be considered under the "good will consideration policy". we strongly objected to this policy, but were told that nothing further could be done. It is now 12/4/14, and the crack has become so severe that air bag light has come on, creating a potential safety concern for the passenger. We know that we are not alone with this particular problem as we have personally spoken with other 2006 Sonata owners that have experienced this same issue.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #11

Apr 182007

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the front passengers OCS sensor did not detect an occupant when the seat was being utilized. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the front passenger seat and sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired on three occasions but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 08V161000 (air bags).the failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 8/27/14 the consumer stated the vehicle had a crack in the dashboard. Updated 09/5/2014

- Palm Coast , FL, USA

problem #10

Feb 012014


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the driver's side sun visor remained in the downward position and obstructed the view of the road. The sun visor was unable to be secured in the upward position. The visor was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Lexington , MA, USA

problem #9

Dec 222012


  • 109,000 miles


Driving on highway from a family event doing 65 miles an hour. Experienced extreme instability. ESC light came on dashboard making us think problem was electronic. Continuing at a reduced speed, the car continued to dart to left. On a highway off ramp, the car darted toward the left hand guardrail, with rear tire squealing. We were still 50 miles from home. Limped the car home to bring to our mechanic. We took it to Firestone in ct. The mechanic put it on the lift and inspected it. Found it to have extensive corrosion on the subframe in the back end. We could of been killed. He told me not to drive the car until the problem was fixed.

- Portland, CT, USA

problem #8

Oct 112010


  • 81,450 miles
Dash is cracking. It appears to be following the shape of the front passenger airbag. No parts replaced.

- Berlin, WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Jun 262010


  • 32,000 miles
I own a 2006 Hyundai Sonata which I bought new. In 2007 I found a crack in the front passenger dash where the cutout for the airbag was located. I took it to the dealership in Sierra vista, AZ and they told me that many of these vehicles have a problem with the perforation in the dash causing the airbag to eventually come out of the dash. It was replaced. Three years later it has happened again the airbag perforation is basically cracking causing the exposure of the airbag compartment in the dash of the same vehicle I previously had replaced. This seems to be a safety issue that is common in this vehicle. Thank you,

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #6

Jun 082008


  • 42,000 miles


I own a 2006 Hyundai Sonata and the sun visor has just about disintegrated. It will not stay up and I have tried velcro, tape, etc. It is dangerous because it just flips down while driving. Many other complaints all over the internet. Dealer say not a recall.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #5

Sep 302009


  • 58,000 miles
I am the original owner of my Sonata. A crack has appeared on the dash following the outline of the passenger airbag. This will be the second dash I have had to put on the car for this same issue. To me this is a big safety issue with dashes cracking around my airbag. Deployment of this airbag may be forever compromised because of this problem. And the fact that it has happened twice the exact same way seems more than a coincidence. Although I have seen another complaint on this site, there are many more like me experiencing the same problems. A search on the internet for Sonata dashboard crack will bring up many posts from Sonata owners experiencing this very same issue multiple times such as me. I don't want to trust my young son and wife to a defective design that could shorten their lives. Please look into this issue.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #4

Dec 122008


  • miles
Had car in shop in for the dash to be replaced due to cracking all the way around the air bag compartment on the passenger side in 2007.this a 2006 model Hyundai Sonata-dash is cracked again in the same area as before completely around the air bag compartment fear this could cause injury or air bag to deploy without accident dealer states it is owners problem & expense as it has been just over 2 years since replaced the first time and there is no recall issued for this problem-feel that this is a defect in material & a safety hazard that could cause an accident or injury.

- Giddings, TX, USA

problem #3

Aug 012007

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact noticed a crack in the dashboard on the passenger side air bag panel. The dealer stated that the dashboard needed to be replaced. The cause of the failure was unknown. The repair was not made. The VIN was verified, but appears to be invalid. The failure mileage was 28,000 and current mileage was 30,000. Updated02-14-08 updated 02/14/08

- Chardon , OH, USA

problem #2

Apr 012007

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 20 mph, he heard a loud banging noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact stated that the noise was louder while making a turn with a passenger seated in the rear. The dealer inspected the vehicle on two occasions; the first time they were unable to diagnose the failure and the second time the dealer adjusted the rear suspension. The suspension adjustment failed to solve the failure. As of October 9, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 12,000 and the current mileage was 16,997. The dealer stated the front right door lock inoperable, passenger seat area makes a rattling sound, right trunk trim vibrates when vehicle in motion and hears knocking sound in the engine. Updated 10/23/07

- Bointon Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

May 102006

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,200 miles
: the contact stated while accelerating at anytime the vehicle hesitated without warning. The dealer indicated this was the design of the vehicle. The consumer stated the vehicle goes into neutral when the accelerator was released it would stop. Updated 07/05/06

- Cave City, AR, USA

Not what you are looking for?