Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,799 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Nov 162016

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ESC light com's on randomly causing car to decelerate becomes hard to steer and car looses power. Have had various things done to car but it continues to happen randomly. Diagnostics from different mechanics indicate electrical problems am told care is unsafe to drive at 83,000 miles. This should be a recall2006 hyuandi Sonata

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #27

Sep 062016

Sonata

  • 91,600 miles
I went to my car to get a blanket and noticed that my brake lights will not turn off and my ESC off light is on.

- Justice, IL, USA

problem #26

Jul 092016

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
My 2006 Sonata only has 65,000 miles. But the airbag light always on from this year and brake line was rust. For the airbag, the light in dashboard is on when car starting, and the passanger airbag is off even if someone sitting on passanger seat. For the brake, the front brake line was rusted last year and all the brake oil is totally leak out, so there is no brake when driving it. And the rear brake line is broken this year due to rust. I am in freeway when the rear brake leaks, so image how terriable it is. Never seen this from other 10 year old vehicles.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #25

May 012008

Sonata

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the rear brakes failed to work. The contact stated that the brakes needed to be replaced every 10,000 miles on average. The contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic who diagnosed that the passenger side rear brake pads wore prematurely, the caliper was frozen, and the rotor was rusted. The brake pads, rotor, and caliper needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Little Neck, NY, USA

problem #24

Mar 112016

Sonata

  • 87,200 miles
2006 Sonata: The ESC ABS light comes on and pushing the on/off switch does not put it out. If I shut the car off and re start, the dash light goes out sometimes; may return the next time I start the car..

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #23

Oct 212015

Sonata

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 10 mph, the brakes failed and a crash occurred. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 58,000. Updated 03/11/16 the consumer stated when the brake was applied, the pedal went all the way to the floor. Updated 04/05/16.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #22

Aug 012015

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 50 mph at night, the headlights did not illuminate. The contact stated that the check engine and air bag indicators illuminated. The failure occurred on several occasions. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the evap and O2 sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. On another day, the ABS indicator illuminated and caused the brake lights not to illuminate. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #21

Jun 252015

Sonata

  • miles
I have been having the ABS/ESC light come on periodically but usually when I turn the car off and back on again the ABS/ESC light would go off. But now my check engine light is on as well as the ABS/ESC light. The check engine light stays on but the ABS/ESC light does not come on until I hit the brakes for the first time while driving. Hyundai Sonata 2006 3.3L V.6.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #20

Mar 102015

Sonata

  • 65,248 miles
Under regular driving conditions the brake pedal would become so hard that they could not be pressed down, the speed would decline to 5 miles per hour and the car would start smoking. The ABS and ESC light would come and wouldn't go off until car is turned off. This S due to a faulty ABS hecu unit (hydraulic and electronic control unit) and the right front upper control arm. I contacted Hyundai who wouldn't pay the dealer to fix my 2006 Hyundai Sonata gls V6 with 65,263 miles. They advised that the isn't under warranty, however, the ABS hecu unit is faulty. This is a safety concern for myself and fellow drivers.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #19

Mar 092015

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 94,511 miles
On March 9th, 2015, I was driving home from work after picking up my infant daughter from daycare when several warning lights illuminated on the dashboard of my 2006 Hyundai Sonata; the airbag, ABS, and ESC off warning lights. In preparation for the upcoming left turn into my neighborhood, I tapped the brake pedal to disengage the cruise control and coast to the intersection. The cruise control did not disengage. I applied more pressure to the brake pedal to slow down, but upon releasing the brake the vehicle returned to the set cruise speed. I now applied as much pressure as I possibly could to the brake pedal and the cruise control set light did not disengage. The Sonata downshifted and revved up to 4K RPM attempting to overpower my braking. At this point it was too late to avoid the intersection. I placed the car into neutral and swerved to avoid hitting an oncoming vehicle and median, at the turn. The Sonata spun out and came to rest in the oncoming traffic lanes after overshooting the turn. I verified my daughter was uninjured then proceeded to drive the Sonata, at idle, the remaining 1/8th of a mile to my house. After arriving at home, I visited Hyundai's and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's vehicle recall information web pages and found no recalls regarding my Sonata's VIN.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #18

Mar 092015

Sonata

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact who was an independent mechanic stated that while inspecting the vehicle he discovered that the rear parking brake pads were rusted. The contact indicated that the failure was caused by moisture in the brake pads. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Eaton, OH, USA

problem #17

Oct 012014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Car slides replaced brakes rotors and tires had a wheel aliment still happens then my ESC ABS lights come on then the car drives funny and doesn't work.

- East Orange, NJ, USA

problem #16

Sep 272013

Sonata

  • miles
The ESC off light turned on by itself. When pushing the button for the ESC off, nothing happened. A few days later I noticed a minor stutter-step of the car's forward motion with a slight grinding noise, and the ESC off light was illuminated again. The ESC off light stayed illuminated. When I arrived at my destination, I shut the car off then turned it on again. The ESC light was no longer illuminated. August 27, 2014, I left my car at the dealership and proceeded to work, they "found damage to left-front wheel speed sensor and left-front tone wheel. They also stated both the speed sensor and left-front tone wheel need to be replaced before further diagnosis could be performed. August 30, 2014, I was traveling at approximately 40 M.P.H. when traffic ahead began slowing. I applied the brakes and the car didn't just stutter & grind, it was like one side of the vehicle wasn't braking at all and the other side was breaking hard. The car jerked side to side for a short distance then seemed to right itself. The ESC off light was now illuminated again. If I had been traveling any faster, or in heavier traffic, this certainly would have caused me to have an accident. I feel this is a design flaw, not an error on my part as the consumer, and believe this to be a life and death safety issue. My brakes have never been worked on and there's no logical reason for the speed sensor and left-front tone wheel to be damaged.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #15

Jul 072014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 75,720 miles
When I started the car in the morning the( eco off) light came on, and there was no power, but the engine was still on. I pulled over to the side of the road, shutoff the ignition, when I started the car again, everything was normal. The check engine light was on. It happens every time that the car is parked overnight. The solution is always the same, pull over and cutoff the ignition for a few seconds.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 252014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 159,000 miles
Campaign #092 was replaced on my vehicle at bel air Hyundai on 9/14/2010. The vehicle was there for other regular service and the recall was performed. At that time, the switch was not a problem. No check engine light and we were unaware that this recall was even performed. I'm sure it was listed on my paperwork. This week, my check engine light comes on and my ABS light stays on. I took it to autozone. The code was P0504. Faulty stop lamp brake switch. I looked it up online, unaware that it was already replaced once. Called bel air Hyundai, made my appointment, took the car in on August 29, 2014. I was told by [xxx] that my car did not qualify for this recall. Not that it had been replaced, but that my VIN did not qualify. I took my vehicle back because I could not afford the $160 repair on the switch that I really and truly thought would be covered by this recall. I called Hyundai customer service and opened case# [xxx]. the gentlemen I spoke with gave me the information regarding the completed campaign from 9/14/2010 and suggested that I call bel air Hyundai back again and that they should replace this switch for free. I did as he suggested and was told by [xxx] that this was not their policy to perform recalls twice and the repair was going to cost me $160. Needless to say, I'm a little unhappy about all of the work that I've had to put into this and I'm still going to be out money for this repair. This is a faulty switch as per the recall. Who is to say the 2nd one is not faulty as well? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).?

- Havre De Grace, MD, USA

problem #13

Jul 012014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 78,100 miles
Brakes failed due to corroded steel hard lines for rear brakes. The hard lines failed approximately under the driver seat in a protected plastic channel that contains the brake hard lines, and fuel lines. On further inspection brake lines are heavily corroded, and fuel lines also have extensive corrosion. The point of failure happened while attempting to stop quickly in a high traffic situation while applying high brake pressure. The brake lines are in a partially enclosed channel - so are not visible for inspection, and the issue was missed even after taking the car for an evaluation at sears after this issue occurred. Symptoms of this incident included: Sinking brake pedal, brake warning light, low fluid in brake reservoir, and loss of control of the vehicle. Brake lines can fail - however this was surprising as the car has very low miles - and was only driven for approx 65,000 miles in the midwest where salt was used occasionally (central Illinois). It should be expected that the brake lines would last at least for the 10yr or 120,000 mile manufacture lifetime of the car.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #12

May 022014

Sonata

  • 165,100 miles
I was at a stop light and zero speed notice my ABS and ESC light comes on time to time. And notice my lights go out from time to time in the back stop lights.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 042014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 101,350 miles
While driving in early rush hour traffic, another vehicle shifted lanes unexpectedly. While hitting the brakes, the vehicle "jostled" and shook and was failing to stop. After pumping the breaks I was able to regain control and barely (3-6 inches) avoid hitting anyone else. The mechanic just called to inform me that one caliper pin in the front right brakes, as well as one caliper pin in the rear left had completely froze up. This is the second time the front right has done so (first time on or around January 13, 2013). After researching this today, this is a huge safety issue with this make & model.

- Bedford Heights, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 192013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 72,400 miles
On my way to work one morning I noticed that I had next to no pressure in my brakes. When I had my neighbor investigate what was wrong, he noticed that my hard brake lines were so rusted and corroded due to snow/salt/etc, that my brake line nearly crumbled to the touch. I had to replace this brake line for my car to be safe. The person that worked on my car informed me that there is a groove that this line sits in, which caused it to sit with the salt/snow that corroded it. My car is only 7 years old, and I take very good care of it. This is in my opinion a very dangerous.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #9

Oct 202013

Sonata

  • 66,758 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the brakes failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for service under NHTSA campaign number 13V354000 (suspension) however, the repair did not correct the failure. The contact was driving downhill at unknown speeds when the brakes failed to engage when depressed. The contact applied aggressive force to the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. The brake pedal also became stuck to the floorboard. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 66,758.

- Royalston , MA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?