Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 1
Average Mileage:
69,068 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 5 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #226

Aug 132013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 66,861 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car (Hyundai Sonata 2006) was traveling the intersection with a green light. The other car was traveling the intersection with a red light, and did strike the driver side of my car. The other car caused the severe damage to my car and I got injured. My car's side air bag was inflated, but my driver front air bag was not inflated so that I got permanently injured in my eyebrow and chronic back-pain. I strongly believe that if my driver front air bag was inflated, I do not suffer from chronic back-pain and do not have a permanent scar in my eyebrow.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #225

Aug 132014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
Air bag light on. This is a continuing issue with this vehicle. This is a safety issue and I feel it should be repaired not at my expense. Contacted dealer and also contacted Hyundai customer assistance center. I was told that there was a previous recall but the vehicle is out of warranty it has to be repaired again at my expense. I feel that this being a safety issue, Hyundai should take care of their customers...updated 09/30/14

- Muscle Shoals, AL, USA

problem #224

Apr 152014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the passenger front seat belt buckle needed to be replaced.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #223

Jul 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air baglight on disconnecting system. This is a safety concern Hyundai charges to diagnosis and repair. Researching this on the internet this is a constant problem, and someone will be killed or injured please do something to correct this problem a recall is in order.this is drivers side air bag.I took this car to dealer for passenger side air bag light they said nothing was wrong now that light is also on. NHTSA please do something.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #222

Jul 012014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
We had the passenger seat re-calibrated due to lit airbag light sometime last year under the previous recall - we were not notified by Hyundai at all and instead, were told by the dealer when we took the car in that it was a recall item, which we found unconscionable on the manufacturer's part. We could not afford an airbag repair and drove the car for over a year, and found out later that the defect would render the entire system nonfunctional. The airbag light is lit again - the dealer told us not to put anything on the passenger seat besides a person so as not to trigger "something". when I inquired again about the lit airbag light, the dealer told me "it could be the seat belt" and quoted a price well over $100. It is clear the dealer, capital city Hyundai in tallahassee, Florida is already aware of the problem, and therefore, so is Hyundai. Now I see that this is an emerging problem through an edmund's article dated July 25, 2014 - please compel Hyundai to act on this defect as soon as possible. My college aged son and teen daughter use the car and I worry constantly about their safety. Consumers should not have to pay for a defect involving safety at all - I paid for the car once!!

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #221

Dec 212009

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 57,301 miles
In 12/21/09 airbag system light kept coming on. Took it to the dealer. They stated chip related to air bag system under the passenger seat was broken and I was not covered under warranty. Invoice # [xxx] (dennis Hyundai of dublin) repairs estimated at $500 to $900. Called Hyundai with a complaint. The service manager then called we had a meeting. I paid $ $175.03 to replace the chip. They also repaired passenger seat per NHTSA recall 13V-354 (note the recall repair only worked for about a year). After the warranty expired I took the vehicle to both the dealer and local repair shops. The airbag light would come one and then sometimes when I stopped reset its self or the dealer/repair shop could reset the light. The electrical wiring system started to act up after the 60,000 mile warranty period expired. The ABS light comes on then goes off the radio will come in loud the get quiet. The constant however is the airbag system light. I had the seat belt (driver side) changed (twice) in 2011 as the first replacement in did not work. The airbag light was off for a short time and then came back on. It will not reset so the airbag light is always on. I have always felt this problem should be covered by Hyundai. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #220

Aug 092014

Sonata

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light came on. Had the vehicle sent in to dealership last year for the same problem. Car is in great condition do not know why the light keeps coming up. A recall needs to be initiated to fix the problem once and for all. This could be a potential danger for my kids.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #219

Apr 012014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
My air bag light came on and has stayed on consistently. Our mechanic read the code and it is the passenger side seat beat buckle. I have been told by Hyundai that their warranties only cover seat belts and air bags for 5 years or 60,000 miles. I cannot believe they advertise as "America's best warranty." I know this affects whether the air bags would function properly in an accident, so I urge you to please force them to recall this item and repair and/or replace it for anyone affected for free. Fyi, I did have this problem with a Honda Accord in the past and Honda did not even question repairing it-it is warranted for the lifetime of the car. I will certainly never buy another Hyundai again and will encourage anyone I know not to buy one either. Again, please force Hyundai to correct this problem with a recall. Thank you for your time and investigation.

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #218

Aug 032014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 142,650 miles
I started the car and noticed that the airbag warning light would not go out. I checked the owners manual and it said bring it to the dealer as soon as possible. The dealer charged 95.00$ to diagnose the problem, and another $810 to change the 2 front seatbelt buckles. This is a safety item because the airbags may not deploy in case of an accident.Hyundai should recall these vehicles and fix the problem. I see that an investigation was opened on this problem, and would like tone included in the number of people complaining about this problem thanks for your time and consideration

- Newberry, FL, USA

problem #217

Jul 232014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,400 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag indicator would illuminate each time the vehicle was started. The dealer stated that the front seat belt receivers needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 90,400. The vehicle was repaired at a cost of $ $365.35.

- Fords, NJ, USA

problem #216

May 102014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag light turned on during a 200 mile road trip, where there was no accident or any kind of incident. The airbags in this vehicle were never deployed. The airbag light is now always on. I just saw the notice from NHTSA on this issue and decided to file a complaint.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #215

Oct 242013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
I received a letter explaining a recall for the sensor in the passenger seat which malfunctions. It stated that if my car does not display the airbag off light to call and start a case. I called and did so. I took my car to the Hyundai dealership where I purchased my car. I was told that I had to pay $95 for them to verify that was the issue. I left and called the number for Hyundai on my letter again. They sent a message to the dealership and told me to take the car back. I did so and left my car and got a loaner. They had my car for two weeks. I got my car back and it was repaired. Fast forward to July 2014, same thing started happening again. I called Hyundai and set up a case again. I called the dealership and was given an appointment to bring my car. I got a loaner again. I left my car on Monday and on Friday that same week my car was ready. I dont believe they sent my passenger seat to California again. It scares me to know thst the airbag may not deploy. I feel that Hyundai should have to give us replacement cars because these electrical issues are dangerous. Please make them do something for us. Im scared to drive my car but have no choice. I tried to trade it in but I have to put down at least $1000.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #214

Jul 122013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 25,350 miles
Purchased Sonata 2006 in Sept 2012 at 16,400 miles. At approximately 25,000 miles, the air bag sensor light came on. The passenger occupancy sensor and seat belt indicator flashes on and off, . but not at the same time. Either one or the other flash. If I lock the passenger seat belt, the sensors seems to work, but it doesn't last long.have.been reading about safety recalls.how can I find out which vehicles are affected. Present 32,567.miles.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #213

Feb 212013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 89,625 miles
My airbag light first came on in January 2013. At first it would come on then go off for a couple of days. It did this for about 2 weeks then just stayed on until I fixed it in Feb. 2013. It was the sensor in the belt, and cost me $668.95 the first time. Then 6 mos. Later the airbag light came on again. This time it was a different problem and was charged $50. A couple of mos. Later, it comes on again, but I haven't fixed it yet. I had the problems fixed at gary rome Hyundai in holyoke, MA. I sent a letter to Hyundai regarding the issues that I keep having with the airbags. They sent a response, but not the one I wanted. I asked them why a recall hadn't been issued for the airbag problems I was having since obviously I wasn't causing the problems. I also printed out and enclosed many pages of consumer complaints about the same issues I was having. I'm glad that you're looking into this. Thank you.

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #212

Mar 012011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle did not deploy airbags due to front end fender bender. Vehicle indicated "air bag" sign prior to incident. After the incident, vehicle was serviced; however, the "air bag" sign re-appeared after a few months. Another accident on 7/3/2013. Front end fender-bender. Air bag did not deploy again. No incident report in either case.

- Snoqualmie, WA, USA

problem #211

Jul 022007

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
Passenger air bag light has come on 80% of the time we have owned this vehicle with my wife in the passenger seat. Her approximate weight is 140 lbs. When I sit there,165 lbs, the light does not come on. That tells me that my wife is not safe sitting in that seat. I took it to the dealer in 2007 and they could not fix it. I think this is a dangerous safety issue and needs to be recalled.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #210

Jul 242014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Airbag light remains lit, suspected it had to do with passenger airbag recall. Dealer says not, that it is the passenger seat belt pretensioner and that in an accident the seat belt system would not work if not fixed and wants to charge $485 to do so. This is a safety issue and needs to be added to the recall because, based on the number of complaints I see, this is obviously a parts failure. Since the driver's side gets used far more often than the passenger, it is hasn't failed as a result of use.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #209

Jul 012014

Sonata

  • miles
I am another Hyundai 2006 owner with the passenger seat belt on who paid $105 for the diagnostic which returned code B1706 having to do with the pretensioner and seat belt. Not according to Hyundai applicable to the recall. I now have to pay another $350 to have this repair done. This should be a recall. Shame on Hyundai, I bought this car partly because of the air bag system and the desire for a safe vehicle. How can they split hairs and claim this is not a widespread problem?

- Solana Beach, CA, USA

problem #208

Apr 182007

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the front passengers OCS sensor did not detect an occupant when the seat was being utilized. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the front passenger seat and sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired on three occasions but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 08V161000 (air bags).the failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 8/27/14 the consumer stated the vehicle had a crack in the dashboard. Updated 09/5/2014

- Palm Coast , FL, USA

problem #207

Apr 032012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Airbag light remains on. Took to dealer under recall notice. Code B1706 for sensor problem not under recall. Not fixed, this is a safety issue that Hyundai should take responsibility for.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?