If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,094 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Feb 032009

Sonata

  • 62,704 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 2006 Hyundai Sonata in 2008. Airbag light continuously glowed on dashboard. Contacted Hyundai dealership, as Hyundai has a recall regarding airbags on 2006 Sonatas. Was informed by dealership that car was 2000 miles past manufacturer's warranty. Required authorization of payment to dealership to have airbag problem inspected at a cost of $324.65 not including parts or additional labor. Had vehicle repaired at different repair shop. Replaced front passenger side seat belt assembly and sensor. Airbag light is now off. Have retained all parts for inspection and forwarded complaint to Hyundai motor co.

- Hayward , CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 122008

Sonata

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions, the passenger side "air bag off" warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. When the failure occurred, an occupant was positioned in the front passenger seat. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired; however, the recall remedy has not corrected the issue. On a separate occasion, the failure recurred. The authorized dealer was notified and refused to repair the vehicle with the free recall remedy. The vehicle has not been repaired again. The failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage was unavailable.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #31

Feb 022009

Sonata

  • 68,856 miles
I was driving home from work and hit a deer with the front of the car. The airbags did not deploy.

- Tahlequah, OK, USA

problem #30

Jan 222009

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Hyundai Sonata has the air bag lite on after I start the vehicle. I took the vehicle into the dealership and they informed me after a diagnostic check that my seat belt assembly L/F preteensioner has high resistance causing the air bag light to stay on. This item is not covered by the warranty and would cost in excess of $400. My complaint is that I feel this item should be covered by the manufacturer. The Hyundai dealership technician informed me that the item would cause the air bags to not deploy in an accident and can cause the seatbelt to automatically release. This definitely seems like its a safety issue item. My vehicle has not been in any accidents and is well taken care of so the only cause for malfunction to an item like that would be defective manufacturing of the seatbelt equipment. My vehicle was purchased brand new and although it has high mileage from highway miles it has been well maintained. Please take the time to look into this matter before someone is seriously injured in an accident.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #29

Dec 202008

Sonata

  • 69,743 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received a recall notice regarding the air bag indicator and OCS front passenger seat. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer five times, but the indicator remains illuminated. The dealer continues to state that the vehicle is repaired and there is no failure with the air bag indicator. The contact was informed that he would have to pay for the next repair. He called the manufacturer and was informed that they would call him back within four days. The contact has yet to receive a call back. The failure mileage was 69,743.

- Shru Boak, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Sep 282005

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). He drove the vehicle to the dealer approximately 6-7 times and they inspected the air bag warning indicator. The contact was informed that the occupant classification system operated as designed. The passenger seat was eventually shipped to the manufacturer and they reprogrammed the OCS. The dealer reinstalled the passenger seat, but the air bag warning indicator began illuminating intermittently soon after. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer stated that the OCS was operating as designed. The current mileage was 19,650 and failure mileage was 2,000. Updated 01/08/09 updated 01/09/09

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #27

Nov 032008

Sonata

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger air bag does not activate when an occupant is seated in the front passenger seat. Hyundai stated that the occupant must weigh 128 lbs. In order for the air bag to activate. The occupant referred to in this complaint only weighed 105 lbs. The contact received a recall notice and spoke with two different dealers. They stated that they could not change the weight requirement in order to activate his air bag. The contact did not take the vehicle in for inspection. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Atkins, AR, USA

problem #26

May 052006

Sonata

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. When the contact started the ignition, the front passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently on the instrument panel. The air bag system would not properly recognize a small statured occupant in the passenger seat. The authorized dealer discovered a recall defect that was included in NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). The technician was unable to duplicate the failure and refused to repair the vehicle. The contact was concerned of the safety risk involved. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current mileage was 31,000 and the failure mileage was unknown. Updated 12-15-08 updated 12/17/08.

- Los Alamos, NM, USA

problem #25

Nov 072008

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags) and immediately called the dealer. The technician stated that the occupant who was seated in the passenger seat at the time the air bag indicator illuminated needed to be present. The contact stated that it would be extremely inconvenient to take her child out of school just to be present at the dealer for inspection. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure and current mileages were 50,000.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #24

Nov 042008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The vehicle was taken to the dealer regarding NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). The contact informed the dealer that the failure occurred intermittently, but they did not inspect the seat. The dealer informed him to bring the passenger so the failure could be verified. The manufacturer agreed with the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 33,000. Updated 11-25-08 updated 11/26/08.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #23

Nov 032008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received a recall notice regarding the air bag. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the air bag was working properly. The contact referenced the 120 lbs. Weight requirement in the seat. The current mileage was 59,400 updated 11-19-08 the consumer stated when her mother-in-law sat in the seat it did not register that an adult was sitting in the seat. Updated 11/19/08.

- Sothington, CT, USA

problem #22

May 302008

Sonata

  • 70,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer informed her to wait until she received a recall notice for the air bags because there was no recall at the time. Once the contact received the notice, she took the vehicle to the dealer for the repair; however, the defect was not related to the recall. In addition, the warranty on the vehicle was already expired. The contact stated that the failure was a huge safety hazard. The failure and current mileages were 70,500.

- Shoemakersville, PA, USA

problem #21

Oct 172007

Sonata

  • miles
The passenger airbag actuation sensors do not work correctly on our 2006 Hyundai Sonata. My wife can ride on the passenger side and sometimes the dash light shows that the passenger airbag is off and sometimes it shows that it is working. The mechanics claim that my wife does not weigh enough, but she assures them that she is plenty heavy!

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #20

Nov 012007

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags) applied to his vehicle. While driving at an unknown speed, with a 120 lbs. Passenger in the vehicle, the air bag sensor failed to recognize the passenger. The dealer could not duplicate the failure and would not make any repairs. The failure and current mileages were less than 23,000. Updated 11/7/08 updated 11/13/08.

- Wiliston, FL, USA

problem #19

Sep 232008

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received a recall notice from Hyundai regarding the air bags. The dealer stated that in order to repair the vehicle, they would need the person who was seated in the passenger seat to be present. The dealer would be able to observe if the air bag indicator illuminated and determine what repairs need to be made. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 30,000. Updated 11/07/08 when a certain sized adult sits upright in the passenger seat, the air bag light does not register that anyone is sitting in the passenger seat. Updated 11/07/08.

- Bensalam, PA, USA

problem #18

Jun 072006

Sonata

  • 19,000 miles
The "airbag off" light in our 2006 Hyundai Sonata randomly illuminates indicating that the airbag is not functioning, even when a large adult is in the passenger sit, sitting upright with no seat covers. This occurs intermittently and is not reproducible at will. Hyundai motor Corp and dennis Hyundai of dublin, oh have both refused to fix the problem since it is not reproducible at will.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #17

Jun 182008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received a recall notice regarding the air bags and took the vehicle to the dealer to be repaired. Once at the dealer, she was informed that unless the air bag light illuminates while the passenger is seated, they would repair the vehicle. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 23,000. Updated 10/14/08 updated 10/16/08.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #16

Sep 142006

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 3,915 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that whenever his 140 lb. Wife rides in the front passenger seat, the air bag light illuminates, which indicates the air bag if off. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer approximately eight times for this issue, but there has been no resolution. An air bag recall was issued and the contact returned to the dealer. The issue still has not been resolved. The current mileage was 24,950 and failure mileage was 3,915. Updated 10-08-08 updated 10/09/08.

- Cherry Valley, MA, USA

problem #15

Sep 152008

Sonata

  • miles
Since I have had the car I have complained that when my 25 year old daughter sits in the front seat the air bag is not activated. She weights approx. 125lbs. They told me that they will not fix the seat cushion because she does not weigh enough. That's crazy she has no problem in any other car. I thought that's why they sent out this recall " when a small structure adult sits in the front seat the OCS does not properly activate". healy brothers Hyundai said that if the tech sits in the seat and the light goes off they will not fix the problem but that's not what the recall is about. It's about a small adult. I feel very uncomfortably when she is in the car and the air bag is not working. Is there any way I can have the OCS reprogrammed as the recall suggests.

- Lagrangeville, NY, USA

problem #14

Aug 272008

Sonata

  • 26,132 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While attempting to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags), the dealer could not repair it because the passenger side air bag light was working properly at the time. The failure occurs intermittently. The current and failure mileages were 26,132.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?