Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 1
Average Mileage:
69,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 15)

problem #299

Aug 012016


  • miles


Air bag light on drivers side dash has come on for no reason and is staying illuminated. Passenger side sensor that shows a person is sitting in the seat without a belt on is flashing. Both occurred at the same time. Seems like a recurrent problem that the manufacturer won't deal with due to the numerous similar complaints read online.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #298

Jul 012016


  • 41,800 miles
Takata recall..we've owned this car since November, 2015. About 2 months ago the red airbag light appeared on dashboard and has remained red whenever the ignition is on.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #297

Aug 152016


  • 102,600 miles
Recently suddenly airbag light came on and it now stays on all the time after starting the car. When I start the car, it blinks once and then remain lit. I used the code reader to get the codes and it gave two codes for airbag system, B1102 and B1448. On further googling, the 1st code indicates low input voltage and 2nd one indicates passenger occupant detecting system fault. Now I am concerned to use the car as the air bag system is turned off.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #296

Aug 102016


  • miles


Airbags off signs are suddenly appearing in the vehicle. Passenger air bag off sign also appearing. Vehicle has never been involved in accident. Hyundai has fault design and have to fix this.

- Prospect Heights, IL, USA

problem #295

Jul 202016


  • miles
My airbag light is illuminated and seat belt light blinks on the passenger side. It seems to be a known problem with the Hyundai Sonata. Dealer needs to recall the passenger seat/faulty sensor for the safety of the passengers

- Plymoth, MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #294

Dec 152015


  • 130,000 miles
I was involved in a accident on December 15, 2015 the other driver cut across three lanes and into my car at mph 40. My vehicle was struck thrusting it into a small wall and pole. My seat belt unbuckled and the airbags did not deploy I think this is a manufacture defect.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #293

Jan 052016


  • miles


The light of passenger air bag sensor constantly on. The passenger seat pad was already changed by the dealer on a recall., however the sensor light is still on. Consumer does not know if air bag will deploy or not. This might be considered a serious hazard. The dealer will not recognized gravity of situation or perhaps denied it. The passenger seat sensor light will be constantly on whether the car is stationary or in highway.

- Humacao, PR, USA

problem #292

Jul 112016


  • 86,600 miles
Air bag light came on in the dash at approx 86,600 miles; for no apparent reason. Also noticed that the passenger seat belt sign near the center console is flashing even if there is no one seated in the passenger seat.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #291

Jul 092016


  • 65,000 miles
My 2006 Sonata only has 65,000 miles. But the airbag light always on from this year and brake line was rust. For the airbag, the light in dashboard is on when car starting, and the passanger airbag is off even if someone sitting on passanger seat. For the brake, the front brake line was rusted last year and all the brake oil is totally leak out, so there is no brake when driving it. And the rear brake line is broken this year due to rust. I am in freeway when the rear brake leaks, so image how terriable it is. Never seen this from other 10 year old vehicles.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #290

Jun 232016


  • 122,310 miles
My airbag light and passenger wear belt light came one even when an adult is sitting in the passenger seat. The car had never been involved in an accident so I don't know why the air bag light came on.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #289

Jun 012016


  • 123,000 miles


Airbag light came on for no reason.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #288

Jun 072016


  • 156,000 miles
My airbag light randomly came on last week and has not gone off since. I have never had any lights on my dash board illuminate. The mechanics are quoting ridiculous prices to fix it and I am nervous to drive it with the light on.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #287

May 012016


  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While braking, the vehicle veered right or left and a scrubbing noise was present. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the front suspension arm was faulty. Also, while driving, various speeds, the vehicle suddenly shut off and the front driver side air bag sensor light illuminated. The cause of the failure was undetermined and the manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 157,000.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #286

Mar 182016


  • miles
First, oil is leaking on alternator and area around, car needs a valve cover gasket, driver airbag light stays on, passenger sun visor wont stay up, the vehicle has 149000 miles on it. There are to many complaints for these subjects, a recall needs to be issued.

- Petersburg, VA, USA

problem #285

Feb 032016


  • 120,000 miles
Sensor in passenger seat cushion not working properly and will cause the airbag and seat belt light to illuminate and also causes the airbag to not deploy upon impact. This is a problem that should be a recall issued from Hyundai as there are millions of people that have this same complaint.

- Waukegan, IL, USA

problem #284

Feb 022016


  • 135,000 miles
Air bag light comes on the dash. Have tried to reset by pulling the fuse as well as disconnecting the battery for 2-5 minutes, but to light comes right back on.

- Martinsville, OH, USA

problem #283

Dec 112015


  • miles
I was involved in an accident the front was smashed in the vehicle was declared a total loss and the airbags and not the ploy and I need help.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #282

Nov 162010


  • 79,411 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at a low speed, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the connector in the front passenger seat needed to be tightened. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the mat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 79,411. Updated 04/08/16

- Howard Beach, NY, USA

problem #281

Nov 072013


  • 66,438 miles
On Nov. 7, 2013, I notified Hyundai that we had been experiencing problems with the Sonata's occupant classification system (OCS). The system did not consistently recognize my wife as an adult passenger, even though she clearly exceeded the necessary weight threshold designed to activate the airbag sensor. Hyundai, after mechanical/electronic review, stated the OCS was working as designed. It wasn't. we returned the vehicle for service on April 1, 2014, and again on May 22, 2014, only to have Hyundai tell us the OCS was operating "ok". again, on July 30, 2015, we returned the vehicle for service, as the OCS was still malfunctioning. Hyundai, at that time, performed a reprogramming. Still the OCS does not consistently recognize my wife as an adult passenger. I have contacted Hyundai an almost innumerable number of times in regard to this issue. Though Hyundai even had an arbitrator document the defect, to date we still have no resolution. It is unsafe for my wife, or any other adult passenger, to ride in the car. And, as one can see by the history, it has been that way for quite some time.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #280

Dec 012015


  • 85,000 miles
Air bag light in instrument panel remains on at all times. ESC indicator turns off at random times while driving. Rear suspension knocks when fuel tank is low (I.e. near empty).

- San Jose, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?