Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
122,011 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #8

Aug 172015

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 17 August 2015, I was driving my 2006 Hyundai Sonata at 75 mph in the left lane of I-64 near nitro, wv. As I passed a tractor trailer while entering a slight curve to the left, without warning my car violently fishtailed causing the rear end of my car to momentarily go under the tractor trailer while my front end was headed toward a four foot high concrete median. By the grace of god I was able to steer out of the situation without hitting either the truck or the wall. Corrosion of the steel cross member in the rear end caused the left rear control arm to detach suddenly. I had the vehicle towed to the local Hyundai dealer where I had previous routine maintenance and recall work performed. Later that evening I researched the NHTSA site for recalls on my vehicle and found the following notice which I had not received: Report receipt date: Aug 12, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V354000 component(s): Suspension when I questioned the service personnel as to why I did not receive the notice, their records showed my vehicle as registered to the original owner. I purchased the vehicle in 2007. There appears to be gross negligence on the part of both the dealer and Hyundai in not informing me of this recall. As stated above, the dealer had performed recall work on my vehicle while it was in their shop for routine maintenance over the past 3.5 years.

- Hurricane, WV, USA

problem #7

Aug 142015

Sonata

  • 210,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 30 to 40 mph, the vehicle ran over a bump and the rear end moved back and forth. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the rear passenger side tire was out of alignment and the subframe of the vehicle was corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 13V354000 (suspension); however, the VIN was not included. The approximate failure mileage was 210,000.

- Lawrenceburg, IN, USA

problem #6

Apr 172013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Upper control arms failed & were replaced 9/27/2012. This required another dealer alignment. Front tires then wore out 6,200 miles later. Tires wore down to metal belt core; could have easily blown out. I had 3 previous dealer alignments and was told by dealer in April 2013 there is no more camber/caster adjustment possible, my car is "out of specs", that I need a $650 aftermarket camber adjustment kit. Dealer told me to rotate tires every 3,500 miles which is much sooner then the factory recommended 7,500 miles. I was told tires will lose 50% or more of tread life. My April 17, 2013 dealer alignment failed, could not be done. I had dealer alignments Sept 26, 2012 (with new upper control arms), Jan 22, 2010, July 29, 2010, July 29, 2009. I have good photos of the severe tire damage, steel belting clearly visible. I am original owner and have detailed repair records from the dealer.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 102013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 156,330 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed a shimmy vibration louder than normal while driving to work on highway, upon exiting on main road heard very loud thump bang on left rear drivers side. I assumed it was a blow out as I couldn't steer the car (pulling to right) but managed to make into parking lot off the main. Upon inspection left rear tire still on car not flat, but on a total slant approx 45 degree. I was very glad to be off highway however still this is a major safety issue. After towing to garage, mechanic called me later and said the entire rear sub-frame rotted and broke from car needing to replace everything suspension sub-frame, including control arms, and would need an alignment, he also said that's why my tires wore down quicker than usual due to suspension issue. I didn't contact dealer since car no longer on warranty, after checking the internet for used parts (could not afford new parts as mechanic's estimate was already at the $1800 mark) was surprised to see the hundreds of complaints already posted with this same issue. I did repair the car with a total bill (used/recycled parts) for $1567. I still did not feel safe driving this car. Why would it take so long to have a recall...it is obvious this is a defect which could cause serious crash, fatality serious injury and should be covered by Hyundai for repair or full reimbursement.

- Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 062013

Sonata

  • 107,756 miles
Earlier in the day when I was driving with my nephew and sister, the ESC light came on. The next time I drove it, the light did not come on and was not on at the time of this incident. I was driving in my neighborhood, turning a corner, when I heard a loud clunk from the driver rear side. I stopped and saw a large rusty metal piece had detached from the frame on that side and was dragging on the road, the wheel was tipped out wobbly. I knew it could not be driven. I called aaa and had it towed to a local garage. Due to holiday weekend, my husband saw the mechanic on Monday 7/8/13, who diagnosed it as a rear subframe corrosion and failure. He advised us to check for a recall as he was familiar with a prior front frame recall a few years ago. He had other repairs ahead of us, so we had it towed to our mechanic 15 miles away. When our mechanic got it on the lift we were told the damage was very severe: The rear end was rotted, needing removal/replacement of rear crossmember, 2 upper and 2 lower arms, L/R upper control arm and joint, with rear shocks and mounts, and alignment.we called Hyundai regional office, opened case # 5870260. The agent reported no recalls and this was not under warranty, but he stated he was "very familiar" with this type of problem in other years and models. He advised contacting the dealership, as they may be able to do something. (herb chambers of auburn, MA.) the service manager at the dealership advised us to have it towed to them at our expense (40mi.) his lack of empathy and telling us that Hyundai would take little or no responsibility for repairs, outside of a recall, prompted us to have our mechanic do the work. Repairs were done with Hyundai factory parts, ($2,640 including labor). We are convinced that the vehicle has a defect which could have caused a crash, serious injury, and/or death had it happened in any other circumstance.

- West Brookfield, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Jan 212013

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
Before getting deployed to afghanistan, I took my Sonata to a Hyundai dealership to have some repair work done so I could let a friend borrow my car while deployed. Much of the suspension had rusted out and needed to be replaced. I also had to get a new set of tires, despite the fact that the tires I had weren't much more than one year old. In any case, I'm writing this to you after reading an article about an NHTSA investigation into Hyundai Sonatas (2006-2008) for having similar problems. Fortunately, I replaced the parts before an accident occurred but wanted to let you know about the issue in case it helps the investigation. Unfortunately, I cannot provide you with detailed information because all of my paperwork is in storage while I'm in afghanistan.

- Olmsted Falls, OH, USA

problem #2

Oct 262012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
This problem was discovered Oct 26, 2012. My son noted some loss of control after hitting a road bump. I inspected the car and noted that the rear diver-side wheel was at a weird angle. The car was moved to my local repair shop on Nov 1st. They informed me that there was subframe corrosion effecting the rear control arm and making the car unsafe to drive. He advised me to have my Hyundai dealership look at it. I called garvey Hyundai, of queensbury, NY, where I purchased this vehicle. I spoke to the service manager and arranged to have the vehicle towed from my shop to garvey. He informs me that there has not been any prior problems with subframe corrosion and this model year and no recalls. He tells me that it will cost between $1350 and $2400 to repair and although Hyundai is not responsible they offered me $500 toward the repair work. I feel that this should not be an issue with a vehicle that is only a 2006 and that the repair should be covered in full by Hyundai. The car has spent winters in a garage when not driven. I have had multi issues with this vehicle, including needing to have the engine replaced (while still under warranty) I see that there has been subframe corrosion issues with prior years.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #1

Nov 252006

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
This complaint applies to a 2007 Hyundai Sonata limited (no option for 2007 was available in drop down menu) (issue 1) at or around the initial few days after taking delivery I began to notice abrupt vibration and shaking coming from the steering wheel; substantial enough to feel in the seat. Vehicle was taken back to dealership on 3 separate occasions to remedy the problem but they reported that they were unable to duplicate the problem and reported the vehicle to be in manufacturer specification. Nonetheless, dealer attempted wheel balance and radial force balance as a "good will gesture." Problem is now more articulated and the issue remains unresolved. (issue 2) engine emits a rattle noise similar to lifter clatter upon start and continues throughout operation; particularly in colder weather. Timing chain tensioner was replaced and one noise was resolved but the continual nature of the lifter clatter remains. Dealership and Hyundai representative reported that they were unable to duplicate the problem and the issue remains unresolved. (issue 3) fuel sloshing coming from the fuel tank. Manufacturer and dealer claims this to be normal and not a safety risk. Sound is more pronounced at or around 3/4 tank. Brought this to the attention of the dealer and the manufacturer directly and remains unresolved.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?