Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,201 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #4

Apr 152011


  • 53,805 miles


On April 15, 2011 I took my car in to the dealership for it's annual inspection. I was told that I needed 2 new tires in order to pass the inspection and that the remaining two weren't in great shape. I decided to go ahead and purchase 4 new tires and was immediately quoted a price. I assumed the tires would be the same as what was on the car, michelins. I didn't ask and they didn't say. My mistake. I rode out with 4 mastercraft avenger touring 215/60/16V tires. I didn't make a not of the dot number but the manufacture date I was 2610. On June 1, 2011 the front left tire blew out while driving on the interstate. There was a very loud pop and the tire was immediately flat. At 60 miles an hour I am grateful that I was able to safely pull over to the left shoulder. Even so, that traffic flying by while I waited for help was scary. Vdot offers roadside assistance on the highways and I am forever grateful to them for being there to change my tire. I took the tire back to the dealership and they couldn't determine what could have caused the blow out. They replaced the tire. On August 11, 2011 the front right tire blew out. By the grace of god I had taken the day off work and wasn't traveling on the interstate. I was on a city street traveling at 35 mph. Vehicle mileage was 56,858 so the tires had about 4133 miles on them for the second blow out. The dealership wasn't going to help me this time and I was looking to replace all the tires. I no longer trust the tires and my life and the lives of those around me are worth far more than the price of new tires. August 13, 2011 I purchased some michelins at a wholesale club who offer warranty and maintenance. I believe there is a serious defect in the mastercraft tires that will eventually cost someone their life.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #3

Mar 202010


  • 49,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata with general exclaim tires, size P215/55/R17. The replacement tires were purchased on January 2, 2010. He replaced the driver's side front tire on March 20, 2010, which had a blister. The contact took the tire back to place he purchased it from and was advised that he did not purchase a warranty. The passenger side rear tire also had a blister. The failure mileage was 49,600 and the current mileage was 57,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #2

Apr 052010


  • 13,900 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I own a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. This past week I have been informed that the Michelin tires need replacing. They are cracked in the sidewall. Michelin guarantees these tires for 6 years and the tire company I went to said that I really should replace them for safety reasons.are we facing another Firestone incident" if I hadn't had a flat tire I would have never discovered this. The tire company said Michelin was really great to work with they allowed me 65% on my tires that have been drivenless than 14,000 miles. I would only have to pay $474 dollars for new tires. I think that a tire that is giving away in the sidewall should be replaced free of charge !!! what if I wasn't appraised of the situation and had a blowout. I haven't replaced them yet because of cost. Should I stop driving the car ? wasn't Firestone in trouble for faulty tires ? what about other drivers out there with a similar situation " I just think that a car's tires should be able to stand up longer than 29 months and 14,000 miles. Please advise. [xxx]

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #1

Feb 272010


  • 47,500 miles
On November 22, 2009 I purchased 4 new yokohama tires from ntb, mentor Ohio who installed them on a 2007 hyandai Sonata, replacing the original Michelin tires. The tires were AS530, dot #cclm 825 1309 4 31911 size 215/55R17 94V, 31911. The tires were rated for mud and snow for 60,000. The tires appeared to perform fine, until it snowed. In snow, the tires had virtually no traction at all. This front wheel drive car performed very will for the first two years on its original Michelin tires. With the new tires, the car literally got stuck repeatedly in snow in February, 2010. Finally, on February 27, 2010, my 16 year old daughter was driving the car. She was stopped at a busy intersection, waiting to turn left into a shopping maill across two lanes of traffic coming toward her in the opposite direction. All had green lights in both directions. When she had time to turn with a break in the traffic, the tires spun in the snow, delaying the turn. She was hit by an oncoming car because of this delay. Both cars were total losses, but nobody was injured. These tires should be recalled or at least lose the mud and snow designation. I have driven front drive cars for 30 years and never got stuck in snow. These tires are seriously defective. Please take them off the market.

- Solon, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?