Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 16
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 4 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #276

Mar 262016

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Briefly, 2011 Hyundai Sonata to dealer for engine recall 132 campaign on 3/24/16. Notified dealer that car had stalled on highway 2 days prior. According to dealer, car "passed" recall. On 3/26/16, engine seized on highway at 65mph. Thankfully, no injuries. Car towed to dealer on 3/29/16. Hyundai approves new engine on 3/30/16. To be continued...

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #275

Dec 202015

Sonata

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owned a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed, but failed. The brakes were repaired three times prior to the crash. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent salvage yard. The contact was not injured. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V759000 (service brakes, hydraulic) and 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000. The vehicle was destroyed.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #274

Sep 012015

Sonata

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. After approximately 40 minutes, the contact was able to restart the engine and the vehicle operated normally. A burning odor was present coming from the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was no remedy available to repair the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Taylor, TX, USA

problem #273

Mar 302016

Sonata

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle made an abnormal noise and stalled. The vehicle was able to restart and was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine rod needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000.

- Browns Mills, NJ, USA

problem #272

Mar 292016

Sonata

  • 87,000 miles
As I was driving on the 405 freeway the car shut off. I was able to make it off the freeway but the car would not start again. After having it towed to my mechanic, he said it has something to do with the engine. I looked up the recalls for this car and see this is a problem others have had. Is there anything I can do to fix or get another car?

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #271

Mar 112016

Sonata

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 5 mph in a parking lot, a warning message displayed "critical error" and the vehicle stalled. After numerous attempts, the vehicle restarted. The failure began immediately after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). One week later, the failure recurred. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to the dealer. The mechanic stated that the starter would need to be replaced. The contact mentioned that the vehicle remained at the dealer for seven consecutive months before the recall repair due to the part not being available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #270

Jul 252014

Sonata

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine seized and I had it replaced at a cost of$3,620.04. As per the agreement they made regarding the engine failing due to metal objects being in the engine that was their fault, they would reimburse owners for this cost. I have been waiting over 6 months and when I called, they stalled by requesting me to prove I owned the vehicle by submitting my registration or insurance for the vehicle. I traded in the vehicle last fall and do not have the the items anymore. My name is on the bill I paid for the engine replacement, this is just another way they can try to not pay even they agreed to pay.the engine failed at the savannah airport.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #269

Oct 012015

Sonata

  • 41,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. After the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine), oil leaked from the engine and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the hoses and coil springs needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,200. Updated 05/20/16

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #268

Aug 202015

Sonata

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. When the vehicle was started, the check engine light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The contact stated that a quart of oil was added and the dipstick was replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Savanah, GA, USA

problem #267

Feb 142016

Sonata

  • 100,299 miles
I took my car in to len stoler Hyundai at 11275 reisterstown road owings mills md on Feb 08 2016 for a recall campaign 132 and campaign 136. I was told everything had been inspected and was fine. On Feb 14th 2016 I was driving home late at night on a residential street when I noticed a noise, clicking sound when suddenly the car stalled. I called my son and he tried to start the car. The oil gauge indicator was on and when he inspected it indicated that oil was very low. Which was unusal because at the time of the recall, I was told my oil was low and I also had an oil and filter done. There was no indication of any leaking from the bottom of my car then nor at the time the car stalled. My son put more oil in the car. The car wouldn't start and he pushed it to the side of the road. The next morning I called aaa and took it back to len stoler Hyundai.its been three weeks and they are still fixing it.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #266

Feb 292016

Sonata

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

II had a recall on several things on my car. Took the car back to dealer I bought it from had the recall stiff done and two week later my starter went out. I informed them there was also a recall for the starter and they argue me down that it was not. Well several people I know with the same type of car year, make and model and they received an notice but when they took it in the recall was found. I had to get my car towed and pay for the repairs in the amount of $575 at for they were trying to charge me over $700. I should not have had to pay for a recall and now trying to find how to file a claim for a refund. My car stop on the street in front of my place of employment I got a jump it made it home and died again on the street call aaa and had it towed to dealer.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #265

Feb 242016

Sonata

  • 96,970 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the engine failed. While driving 50 mph, the lights on the instrument panel illuminated and smoke emitted under the hood. The contact was able to move onto the shoulder of the road. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic, which located a failure code at the engine starter. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 96,970.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #264

Feb 012016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to NHTSA's campaign number 15V-568. Consumer states that vehicle was repaired but the issue still exist. The consumer stated the brake light switch was replaced several times, and there was clicking sound coming from the steering wheel.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #263

Feb 202016

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
Car will not start when I hit the start button. Sometimes it will and sometimes it takes 4 or 5 times to start. Car makes an electrical rattle like noise but doesn't turn over. Also, when I try to shut the car off, my display will tell me to shift to park and the radio will stay on. I've had the car in for the shift lever cable recall but I believe there is more to this. The car is doing the same thing before and after the recall fix. I commute 200 miles to work so the miles I post will be high.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #262

Feb 012016

Sonata

  • miles
My steering wheel has become increasingly loose and shaky over the past months when driving or stationary. There is a very distinct (and getting worse over time) "clicking" or "knocking" sound when I back up and turn my wheel either way. I was told by my mechanic that something is wrong with my steering gear box/shaft sector and possibly some of my axles. He told me this was dangerous, and that the recall campaign number 097 should cover me. However, I was told by Hyundai that my specific car does not fall under this recall, even though I my car has the exact symptoms of the recall. I was also told that because of recent recalls, my warranty would be extended. However, Hyundai has now told me that my warranty extension only covers the sole engine, and not the axles though they are part of and covered by the initial engine warranty. Hyundai has told me there are "kits" to fix these problems, but I have to pay over $1000 for the kits to fix, even though these were faulty parts by Hyundai. The Hyundai service manager I spoke with told me flat out that my car had faulty parts, but that the kits could fix them. I asked him whose fault it was that they were faulty, and he said that all car companies deal with this and it wasn't because of my driving. But even still so, I have to be the one to pay for Hyundai's faulty parts and non-existent recall help. I'm beyond frustrated after reading so many reviews and forums online of people with the exact same car symptoms as mine who are unfortunately also not covered by the recall. If I cannot get a better response and answer from this, I will be contacting the main lawyer who others have also contacted about this and filing an official lawsuit. I expected way better from Hyundai and am disgusted and disappointed at the lack of service, truthfulness, and integrity from this company at this point.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #261

Jan 012012

Sonata

  • 5,700 miles
Weeks after I got the new car from the dealer the car commenced to make the weird noise related to NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000. But also was some heavy burned oil smell coming from the engine. After the authorize dealer make me pay over $700 to fix some broken parts (cover of oil). After few online researches I understand the debris cause the broken parts of my oil engine. And I need to confirm what other risk and consequences are involved.

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #260

Oct 302015

Sonata

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 5 mph, the check engine light along with several other warning lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the crankshaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #259

Dec 172015

Sonata

  • 59,000 miles
First, this is my 2nd complaint I've filed. My car has been repaired many times for recalls (one is being done currently for the second time) and other warranty repairs. This is the list so far: Idler pully, tensioner arm and belt, steering column (which broke while driving after I had to get 4 new tires and 4-wheel alignment (24000 miles) that they said I had to get), premature starter failure, short block, leather around gear shifter wore hole in it, and my car has now been in the service dept. Since Dec. 17th because the engine failed again. They ordered a long block for it but Hyundai motors America cannot keep up with getting the engines manufactured and sent to all the dealerships fast enough for the recall.I am now the 12th car down on the list. I still have another outstanding recall for the brake stop pad, and I noticed recently the rearview mirror is faded in spots (dark worn areas). I contacted Hyundai motor America public relations hotline. It took them 2 weeks to get back to me. The man that called me asked for information from me, he called the dealership, and then sent me a letter stating they would only reimburse me a portion of my repairs I had to pay for. In the letter, also was a release of liability for me to sign. That's not going to happen!!!! the release would have made them not liable to past or any future situations, including death. How stupid do they really think we are? they've had well beyond an acceptable amount of time to take care of these recalls. It's time to buy the vehicles back and rebuild their image. If not, there will be more recalls or events that could lead to death. Holding them accountable is the only acceptable way to handle this.people are still out there driving unsafe vehicles!!

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #258

Dec 112015

Sonata

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning and sideswiped a retainer wall. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The contact stated that the vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V568000 (engine and engine cooling) and 15V759000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #257

Oct 022015

Sonata

  • miles
Cant get light to work, have replace bulbs a few times, and have take it to an advance auto place where they have told me it's a problem with the electric work and engine not the bulb. The bulbs were fine and not burnt out. Have been having issues since last October 1st was only one head light now as of this weekend its both.

- Springfield, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?