Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Jan 012015

Sonata

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the driver and passenger side headlight failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 123,000.

- West Point, MS, USA

problem #54

Oct 232014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I was informed by several co-workers that there were recalls for our car, the 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The problems that are affecting my 2011 Hyundai Sonata are: Exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switches, brake light and steering: Gear box: Shaft sector. The only recall that the Hyundai dealer honored was from campaign 123. Campaign 110 and 122 will not be honored due to the manufacture date of my vehicle which is March 28, 2011. If my car is having the same problems as the other 2011 Hyundai Sonatas why can't my vehicle be repaired under the recall. I feel that this is unfair to consumers of the 2011 Hyundai Sonata due to a manufacturing date. Please give me some type of remedy for this matter!!! had I known about the business practices of Hyundai I would have never purchased this vehicle!!!

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #53

Oct 202014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 75,300 miles
While I was driving, at about 40 mph, another driver flag me down and asked me to check my taillight. I parked my car on the side, and I noticed that the whole taillight had fallen off the car. It was just hanging from the wires. Upon inspection I noticed that the plastic studs holding the taillight had broken off. Lots of small plastic pieces all over. Glad I wasn't on the freeway, because it would had caused an accident if it would had fallen off the car. The taillight shows no signs of any impact at all it is clean.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #52

Oct 222014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 103,106 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have replaced brake lights 5 times due to someome telling me they were out. Was stop by a cop today because both brake lights he said we're out. Why are these lights burning out so fast" automotive guy said put some grease on bulb then place them in. I did and they still went out"

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #51

Aug 112014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 73,689 miles
Left and right taillight assemblies falling out of taillight housing/car body. Metal taillight bolts no longer secured in plastic taillight assembly. Plastic taillight housing "crumbling" where taillight bolts are affixed into housing.

- West Hills, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #50

Jun 272014

Sonata

  • 57,000 miles
Driving on the highway at 70 mph, the complete left rear taillight fell off and out of the vehicle, dangling only by the light bulb wiring harness. Another driver had to flag down my wife down to get her attention that the light had fallen out. All 4 bolt housing pieces had crumble apart internally causing this.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #49

Jan 272014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 59,017 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Found left rear fender tail light assembly no longer mounted. Further inspection found all four mount stud plastic molding broken away, light assembly being supported by single electrical connector. Dealer service department was not surprised and stated they have seen this issue before, most likely over torqued during manufacture. Now, 6/17/2014, at 68111 odometer, the right tail light assembly, P/N 92402-3Q000, had the same physical/mechanical failure. This poses a serious threat not only to other vehicles inability to determine what my vehicle is doing but as a foreign object threat to other vehicles as 5 pound, two foot long projectile.

- Clayton, OH, USA

problem #48

Jun 162014

Sonata

  • 36,821 miles
I was driving down a road which is only 25 mph in my parents neighborhood when I turned around to head back once I got out the car I noticed that my drivers side taillight was hanging out by the wires. There was no damage to the taillight or on the car, the inside plastic pieces where it is mounted to the car were broken. Going to try calling Hyundai tomorrow as it just happened tonight. But after reading all the other complaints it sounds as though they will do nothing. This is a safety concern.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #47

Apr 102013

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the headlight housing was fractured. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was made aware. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 90,000. The VIN was not available.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #46

Dec 182013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
In December, as I was walking to my car in the morning to go to work, I noticed my brake light hanging out on the right side of the car. The whole lighting fixture was removed from the plastic and not connected to the hinges anymore. I couldn't afford to fix it at the time so I rigged it so it would stay in place temporarily. About 2 months later, the left side did the same thing. The entire lamp light was hanging out of the sockets again! I became enraged because both times this happened while the car was parked. When I took it to the dealership, they said it was vandalism and said I would have to pay full price for both lights. After I did some research, I found lots and lots of posts with the same thing occurring to them. This is not a coincidence! there needs to be a recall for this as this is not safe. I am scared to wash my car due to the electrical wires that may be get shorted. I am going to try my best to complain about this in many platforms as I can until this is deemed fair and addressed by the proper authorities. I was actually praising Hyundai for the experience up until this point. Now, I feel robbed and will not recommend this car due to the injustice experience. If this has happened to you, please report it. Thank you for listening.

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #45

Feb 262013

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Add me to the growing list of tail light issues. My taillight was found hanging for no apparent reason. When I took it to the dealership for warranty replacement, pictures were taken and forwarded to their rep as the dealer had not seen this issue before and they were looking for authorization. Although there was no exterior damage to the tailllight, the inside plastic where it is mounted to the car was all broken up. A determination was made by someone who had not even seen the vehicle to deny warranty work due to damage. There is no damage to my car! the dealer offered to install the taillight at no charge if I would buy the part. I didn't feel that I should pay $182 for a new taillight and they offered to find me one used. What does that tell you" I was able to find an aftermarket replacement for $61 and they will install for free. How foolish of Hyundai to lose a customer for a cheap repair. What good is their warranty if they don't honor it" and, by the way, they don't recognize your website with all others who have issues.

- Sugar Grove, IL, USA

problem #44

Apr 112012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 55,946 miles
I have purchase my vehicle in March-2011 as a certified pre-owned vehicle. There are several complaints I have on this vehicle since purchased, but I will stick with a recurring issue. 4/11/12 I took my vehicle in because a blown passenger low beam headlight that went out. They determined that upon inspection found an open circuit due to blown right front bulb. It was "corrected." 06/07/12 took my vehicle once again for the drivers side headlight that went out. Installed bulb 5/2/13 took my vehicle for a blown passenger low beam headlight that went out. "undetermined." 2/5/14 took my vehicle for a blown passenger low beam headlight that went out. "undetermined updated 04/17/14

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #43

Dec 022013

Sonata

  • 61,000 miles
I have experienced several issues related to the Sonata within the last several months starting in December, 2013. * several of the service indicators have lighted up on the dashboard that have never behaved this way before. * doors will not lock unless I have my key in the ignition and the engine turned on. Remote switch does not function at all. * the front low-beam lights do not function. * the clock on the dashboard does not function. * internal dome lights do not function at all on any switch. * the ESC light is malfunctioning is appears. Comes on for no reason and stays on. * several times it has been hard to get the car into "D" drive and then to get out of "D" and back into park. * engine makes weird noises, roaring, and clinking that it has never made before. * overall I am happy with this vehicle up until these issues happened and they seem to all happen at this particular time. Within the last three months.

- Swansboro, NC, USA

problem #42

May 122011

Sonata

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that she attempted to start her vehicle but to no avail. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the brake light stop switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 14,000.

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #41

Dec 012013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 104,400 miles
While driving at 65mph on highway, there was a sudden loss of acceleration. It was as if I had let go of the gas pedal. Of course the pedal was at the same position and did not change. I let go of the pedal and repressed it and noticed that I got my power back. It does this intermittently for the last two months.no code errors appearing on dash or obd reading. Will happen at any given speed. Other issue is the driver side break light will work for a few weeks and then burn out, in which it will leave the remaining center and passenger brake light permanently on while the headlights are turned on. So it appears that I am breaking but I am not. Only temporary fix is to remove the left bulb from its socket.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #40

Nov 302013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 28,159 miles
Hyundai Sonata 2011 push button start. I am the original owner of the vehicle. Yesterday I went into my car and proceeded to start my car. I had to push the start button three times before it actually started up. This happened twice within 2 hours. 5 days prior my vehicle had been to the Hyundai dealership for the recall on the stop lamp switch. An existing recall (NHTSA campaign number: 13V113000) indicates that for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata the stop lamp switch may not function correctly. They, the dealership, performed the service and replaced the stoplamp switch. As result my car is experiencing intermittent switch point contact with the push-button start. This is crazy.

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #39

Nov 212013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Nov. 21, 1013 exterior lighting tail light. I am the original owner of a 2011 Hyundai Sonata (approx 28,000 miles). I walked out to my parked car and noticed that the drivers side rear tail light was hanging by some wires. I had passengers in the car and there was no impact, accident, or anything else to cause the tail light to pop off and hang by some threads. Upon further inspection I could see that the plastic studs were broke and the metal stud was detached or never attached. The following day I took it to the laguna niguel Hyundai dealership that I purchased it from. One the service advisors,346, came out and looked at the tail light..he saw plastic pieces around the screws that were cracked and broken off which caused the tail light to dislodge and fall off. He said that I was fault and he wrote me an estimate for $248. I am obviously not at fault. The dealership taped the tail light onto the body frame. I was very lucky that the tail light did not fall off, I did not cause an accident, it was raining, and that I was not pulled over by the police. I phoned Hyundai to file a case. I received a phone call from the dealership on 11/28/13. I was told to bring the car in so that the service manger, [xxx] could look at the car (very in convenient, the car had been at their dealership 3 days prior for several hours while they serviced 3 more recalls for this vehicle). [xxx] basically did nothing except walk out to the car. He did not take the tape off to inspect the problem. He told me that he had been touch with Hyundai. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #38

Sep 162012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
In April 2013 I drove from suffern, NY to bridgewater, NJ;I set the alarm and went inside. Twenty minutes later, I went back outside only to discover the taillight on the passenger side hanging out by the wires. Noone was home in area and there were no marks on the car- my alarm never went off a year prior (not sure of the exact date) in a parking lot =when I went into a building to play bingo, the taillight was fine when I returned to the car a few hours later the taillight on the driver side was hanging out (again hanging by the wires) both times I brought my car to Hyundai because I felt it was a defect in the car but they insisted it was vandalism and made me pay approx. $300 to get a new one. There is no way someone could take this taillight out with not one mark on the car and it never caused my alarm to go off. Hyundai insisted because inside the screws were broken to hold it in, that it had to be vandalism and refused to do anything for me=I even called the corporate office. if you do a search of Hyundai Sonata 2011 hanging taillights, lots of sites with complaints.this is a defect in this model of the car and needs to be repaired and recalled.it is very dangerous, mine fell out while parked but many others fell out while driving at high seeds and could have caused severe accidents.I cant afford to fix the 2nd side and have it taped into place- I should get refunded for what I paid for the first side.here are links to sites with other complaints. www.carcomplaints.com/Hyundai/Sonata/2011/lights/exterior_lighting.shtml please look into this, tons of complaints and not our fault but they are not doing anything about it. It needs to be recalled. Other things wrong with car but this is worst.

- Suffern , NY, USA

problem #37

Oct 312013

Sonata

  • 32,293 miles
The passenger rear tail light fell out of the housing unit. There was no noise or issue before hand & it wasn't noticed until I came to a complete stop at my destination where I saw it hanging along the side of the car. I pushed it back info the housing unit as firmly as I could and continued into my appointment. Upon leaving, I instinctively lowered my speed to 45-50 mph when I heard a thud about 20 miles from where I first noticed it had fallen out. The total unit had then broke loose from the housing, the wiring came undone & the light fixture crashed into the highway (60 mph speed limit) where the automobile behind me had to swerve to avoid the fixture hitting his vehicle, as it bounced around on the pavement because of the dropping.

- Lavon, TX, USA

problem #36

Oct 152013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 29,715 miles
Complaintant walked out of home to vehicle. Upon approaching vehicle, complaintant noticed that the left rear brake light housing (driver's side) was detached, and sticking out about 1 inch from the vehicle. Complaintant carefully slid the housing back into its cavity, where it stayed. Complaintant then departed. About 3 days later, complaintant noticed that the housing was again detached from the vehicle, and again slid it back into place. Over time, the complaintant repeated returning the housing into the cavity three (3) additional times. When the complaintant was confronted with a 5th event of the housing detaching from the vehicle, complaintant shined a flashlight down into the cavity, and saw that the housing mounting sockets were fractured/shattered, and none of the several mounting studs/bolts were attached. But, the studs/bolts were still attached to the vehicle shell. The only thing holding the housing assembly onto the car, were the wires to the brake light, back-up light, and turn signal light. No surface scratches, nor body damage experienced. After inspecting the defective housing, complaintant surmised that Hyundai tail light housing is made of hard, brittle plastic, which shatters when overly tightened at factory, or due to the vibration of this overly hard riding vehicle. Additionally, complaintant noticed when vehicle was purchased new, that the driver's side tail light was not flush with the rear trunk gate, and was extended outward about 1/4 inch. The light assembly on the right/passenger side was flush with the trunk gate, and has not produced a similar issue, yet. Complaintant secured housing to the vehicle cavity by using duct tape. Complaintant scheduled vehicle repair with Hyundai dealership for tomorrow. Update to follow.

- Garner, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?