Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,908 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #7

May 272014

Sonata Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 62,085 miles


When the car was started a beeping alarm sounded with a warning stating that there was a brake failure. Yellow triangle with black exclamation point also warning me not to drive. Brakes had severe grinding when trying to move. This is the second time that this has happened to the car. First time was approximately a year ago. I was originally told then that there may have been a hydraulic problem but then told that it was a bad connection somewhere. Waited approximately 15 minutes and car starts with out a problem. My fear is that the brakes will lock or fail while I'm driving on the highway.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #6

Apr 202014

Sonata Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 6,700 miles
I was driving at about 55 mph on the expressway with the cruise control engaged. Suddenly there was a loud dinning and the panel on the dash flashed "hybrid safety warning", "brake failure". the care would not accelerate. I was able to pull over onto the shoulder. The car would not go over 5 mph. I pulled off of the expressway as best I could. I then shut the engine down. I restarted the engine and the warning was gone. I took side roads home, but the warning did not return. The total failure of engine power was a very dangerous situation. I took the car in to the dealer on 4/21/14. They have not returned it to me. As of today 4/24/14.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #5

Apr 142014

Sonata Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 31,990 miles
Similar to NHTSA id numbers: 10546231 & 10582880 - "check brakes"...2012 Hyundai Sonata hybrid will not start or move (Apr 2014). From parked position, turned on vehicle (stepped on brake and depressed electronic ignition). Loud chimes occurred with message "check brakes". no brakes were on, car would not move forward/reverse. Car towed to said it may take a few days to a week until "hybrid" expert can diagnos due to other hybrid's awaiting service! same "check brake" issue occurred 8-months ago (Aug 2013) and was "repaired" with service software update.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012013

Sonata Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 22,392 miles


Similar to NHTSA id number: 10546231 - "check brakes"...2012 Hyundai Sonata hybrid will not start or move (Aug 2013). From parked position, turned on vehicle (stepped on brake and depressed electronic ignition). Loud chimes occurred with message "check brakes". no brakes were on, car would not move forward/reverse. Connected to bluelink who could detect "alert". car towed to dealer. Dealer saw code C1604 in computer log but by then car was able to start, could not duplicate problem. Dealer contacted Hyundai tech line, entered case and "repaired" by performing multi-ecv updates version #2 per tsb#13fl004; recalibrated rwolver and ec pressure. It's now 8-months later (Apr 2014) and the exact same problem is occurring again.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 052013

Sonata Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 1,800 miles
Purchased new in Mar. 2013, not our first hybrid. Car began to have shudder/jerky/rough take off from morning start and first stop sign at end of street. This became more often and worsened. One morning left curb as usual, brakes locked up at stop sign and warning light on dash for brake problem. Was able to back car back into curb spot and had towed to dealership. Date given was about the towing date. Car was in shop around three weeks due to needing new brake module or something that was leaking internally inside brake unit from factory. Car also had issue to were the battery would not charge properly. Worked correctly when purchased but then would not charge past 50% and usually less than. Repairs made and lots of updates and sensor adjustments and we were given car back. Sadly it only lasted a few months and had to be towed again. Late Aug, early Sept, the car started to jerk at take off again. I tried just sitting at curb for awhile after starting car to let sensors warm up. This seemed to help for short time. Problem worsened again until wife complained. I drove full time and it had gotten worse to bad and all the time. Bad acceleration, like brakes not letting off. Last straw! Nov 1st 2013, car jerked and shuddered at take off, brakes locked up solid at stop sign, locked up again at second stop sign, entering traffic to get back home... car stopped dead in middle of left hand turn in middle of highway!! fully loaded log truck coming at me passenger side. Took 2-3 hard stomps on accelerator peddle to get car moving, gas engine finally revved high but car just crawled forward!!! thankfully the truck had started braking as soon as he saw car hesitate in street and car crawled forward enough that I did not get hit. But that grill filled the entire passenger window. Car towed to shop again on mon 4th am. Called on 5th, huge software update, but no guaranty !"!?"

- Hoquiam, WA, USA

problem #2

Sep 302013

Sonata Hybrid

  • 6,389 miles
Vehicle will not start. Flashing "check brakes".no foot brake pressure. With the hood up can detect a motor pumping intermittently which I think is the brake power unit. Car has not been driven for about a month. No fluids on the ground.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #1

Nov 282012

Sonata Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Proceeded to back out of parking space. Brakes began making loud grinding noise. Pulled back into parking space when brakes failed. Brake failure light and chime was activated. Vehicle would not stop and hit the concrete handicap sign stopping the car. Previously had problem with navigation unit which was replaced once and ready for second replacement. Told service manager we thought it may be electrical related, not defective units. Believe the problem with navigation unit is related to the brake failure. After accident, Hyundai had automotive engineering consultants examine car. Hyundai said there was nothing wrong. However, service manager at dealer said the car had main hydraulic failure and new part was ordered. If nothing was wrong, why was hydraulic unit replaced. Hyundai refused to do anything.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

Not what you are looking for?