Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,011 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Jun 052006

Tiburon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have experienced a clutch failure at 4500 mi and paid out of my own pocket to fix it. I am currently experiencing transmssion problems with my 2003 Hyundai Tiburon V6 6spd and I dont think Hyundai is willing to fix it under their "amazing" 100,000 mile warranty.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 292004

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 19,000 miles
I have 2003 V6 Tiburon, clutch failed at 19,000 miles. I learned to drive on manual transmission, have driven 6 years and never any clutch problems until this car. Dealership blamed me stating "owner abuse". had Hyundai regional rep come out and she also blamed me, and said there were no other complaints on 2003 Tiburons. Told her about this site and she said "oh well, that's from people who race their cars and abuse them, we're not taking responsibility for their problems that they've caused themselves". dealership was great, they came down on cost of repair from $1700 to $1400. They replaced all parts with 2004 parts and I haven't had any other problems, even though I still drive the same as I always did, so how can it be "owner abuse" that caused the problem" if it was my fault then why hasn't it happened again" my mom bought 2004 5 speed Tiburon (she bought it before my problems started) and hasn't had any trouble at all. Seems Hyundai did realize there was a problem with 2003 clutch assembly and wouldn't ever admit it, but changed parts for 2004. They need to acknowledge this widespread problem and reimburse all owners that have paid out of pocket to repair something that was Hyundai's fault in the first place.

- Port Aransas, TX, USA

problem #11

Dec 202005

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 22,500 miles
1. bought a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon V6, 6-spd (manual transmission) -- event: No event. Simply drove the car as normal. 2. less then 23,000 miles my clutch gave out. 3. I had to replace the clutch assembly, flywheel and throwout bearing. Parts and labor cost me over $1500 in repairs. Less the 23K miles and I had to pay over $1500 for transmission repair. This is a common problem that owners of this year, make and model are experiencing. Yet, Hyundai refuses to do anything about it except force their customers to commit to a very expensive car repair early in the life of the vehicle. No car under normal wear and tear should have as much work done as myself and many others have had to deal with. This needs to be set up as a recall by Hyundai and those of us hammered by this should be reimbursed.

- Coventry Township, OH, USA

problem #10

Mar 012004

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while shifting from fourth to fifth gear at 55 mph, the clutch made a grinding noise and malfunctioned. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for inspection. Upon inspection, the dealership replaced the transmission and the clutch. Although the problem reoccurred, no additional repairs were made. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Everson, WA, USA

problem #9

Dec 132005

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 69,000 miles
I experienced my clutch failing at night on the way home this December. It was okay, then it went all the way to the floor. Hyundai usa was contacted and had been told that my bumper to bumper 100,000 extended warranty would cover the repair. The local dealer told me that it isn't covered. After battling between national and local I brought the car home and had a friend, experienced mechanic, replace what I had been told was the problem, the slave cylinder. It still has the same problem. Now, I have a fairly new car, I still can't drive. I have found several dozen consumers complaining of the same thing. Tsb's have come out on this model and yet, I am getting the run around from the dealer and Hyundai usa.

- Bartow, FL, USA

problem #8

Nov 012003

Tiburon

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,000 miles
On July 04 2003, we purchased a 2003 new Hyundai Tiburon from philpott motors in nederland. The VIN[xxx]. it started on Dec 19, 20031 when the passenger window motor had to be replaced under warranty. Then, on Dec. 22, 20031 the vehicle had a coolant leak that was repaired under warranty. On February 16, 2004 the clutch went out all of a sudden with any warning. To April of 2003. In which all the parts they replaced have a production date of April 2003. In August of 2004 seven months later the clutch went out again on IH10 during noon traffic they would not cover it. The mechanic at transmission exchange told him that was not the case and that he stated that the slave cylinder was probably bent prior to their repairs six months ago. My complaint to philpott that if they agreed to cover the slave cylinder why would they not cover all the charges due to the fact this is a pull/push and if the salve cylinder was bent that it would cause this type of damage to the clutch. They refused to cover it costing $1,920.85. On September 16, 2005 the battery went out.. in August of 2005 the battery went out again. On the last week of August my daughter brought the vehicle to be serviced and asked why the air bag light was on and the technician told her the car was fine that he did not note any problems and that the light was on because it was telling her that everything was working. On September 05, the clutch started slipping again and we have parked the vehicle. Everyone has been told the exact line. It was the driver and it's a wear and tear item. Like the dealers have been told what update: The Hyundai rep stated that there was not any abnormal wear on my clutch that the flywheel was the problem and that we would have to pay to have it fixed because, the flywheel is not covered under the warranty. Updated 07/18/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 112005

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was a defect in the vehicle, they used deformed clutch part. The clutch was slipping. Vehicle is at the dealership now. When shifting gears and pushing the gas pedal it takes it a few minutes to kick into gear and it jerks the vehicle. There is a technical service bulletin 0440005. Noticed this problem on September 11, 2005, and should be getting a call from the dealer today. It has done this everyday since noticing noticed the problem.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 142004

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 25,000 miles
In December 2004 while driving my 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT, the clutch went out and I was unable to shift properly in traffic, this incident almost cause a multi-car collection. I had to coast to the side of the road and turn off engine, shift into 1st gear then start the car. I called the Hyundai dealership for help and they told me that the clutch warranty ran out at 12000 miles, I couldnt afford to pay their high costs so I bought a new clutch and had it fixed by a mechanic I could afford. It runs the same due to the flywheel and the warranty covers up to 50,000 miles --now the dealership is refusing to fix it because another mechanic worked on it. They knew this at the time I called the first time-----I just read the tsb #0440005 the procedure was not follled by them --it says clearly that the clutch and flywheel are deformed and need to be replace if the customer calls in about a clutch problem like I did --they never did--if they did I would never had got it fixed by another mechanic and bought the same factory clutch again that was deformed they never told me. Help please.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 212004

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 31,578 miles
I have had my clutch and transmission repaired since 9-02. Then I was told about a defective part in the transmission, but it was no repaired at the time. I was told I could drive the vehicle, so I believed the service technician. In 6-03, once again I the defective clutch assembly, flywheel, pressure plate, clutch plate and the throw out bearing were replaced, and the sunroof motor was replaced for the second time. On 10-03 sunroof was repaired again. On 5-04 the sunroof was repaired again. ON7-21-04 I advised service department my gears were getting stuck, but all the serviceman did was removed starter and told the rep it was covered with clutch disc material, therefore it was not covered by my powertrain warranty. It is the transmission that was not fixed on 9-02 that was the problem and they refuse to check it. I have a 2003 Tiburon!!!

- Guadalupe, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 012004

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Clutch went out three xs before 40,000 miles. If anyone has the same problems please respond in detail. Thanks.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 162003

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 21,609 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hyundai Tiburon with 6 speed and six cylinder engine experienced clutch and flywheel failure when going over bridge. Loss of momentum could have caused accident. Vehicle has only 21000 miles on it and I am a safe driver with 37 years experience. No other vehicle that I drove had a clutch failure before 100,000 miles.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #2

Jan 062004

Tiburon

  • Manual transmission
  • 20,440 miles
I have a 2003 GT V6 Hyundai Tiburon with 20440 miles on it. The clutch and gear have gone out. The dealer will not replace and wants to charge $1800 for repairs.

- Boys Town, NE, USA

problem #1

Jul 142003

(reported on)

Tiburon

  • 7,000 miles
Vehicle experienced clutch assembly failure. While driving, suddenly driver was unable to shift gear. Shift lever will not move. Dealership replaced the part, problem recurred.

- Berlin, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?