Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,984 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon Owner Comments

problem #9

May 262012

Tiburon

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the clutch is slipping - the motor for the passenger door window has failed and the driver side is failing. - the driver side interior door handle does not work, and the locking mechanism is failing.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #8

Nov 302004

Tiburon

  • 19,855 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact attempted to roll down the power windows while parked but the windows would not operate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where she was not informed of the cause of failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure has since recurred approximately six times. After each occurrence, the vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer to be repaired. The failure mileage was 19,855 and the current mileage was 84,000.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 012003

Tiburon

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,000 miles
On July 04 2003, we purchased a 2003 new Hyundai Tiburon from philpott motors in nederland. The VIN[xxx]. it started on Dec 19, 20031 when the passenger window motor had to be replaced under warranty. Then, on Dec. 22, 20031 the vehicle had a coolant leak that was repaired under warranty. On February 16, 2004 the clutch went out all of a sudden with any warning. To April of 2003. In which all the parts they replaced have a production date of April 2003. In August of 2004 seven months later the clutch went out again on IH10 during noon traffic they would not cover it. The mechanic at transmission exchange told him that was not the case and that he stated that the slave cylinder was probably bent prior to their repairs six months ago. My complaint to philpott that if they agreed to cover the slave cylinder why would they not cover all the charges due to the fact this is a pull/push and if the salve cylinder was bent that it would cause this type of damage to the clutch. They refused to cover it costing $1,920.85. On September 16, 2005 the battery went out.. in August of 2005 the battery went out again. On the last week of August my daughter brought the vehicle to be serviced and asked why the air bag light was on and the technician told her the car was fine that he did not note any problems and that the light was on because it was telling her that everything was working. On September 05, the clutch started slipping again and we have parked the vehicle. Everyone has been told the exact line. It was the driver and it's a wear and tear item. Like the dealers have been told what update: The Hyundai rep stated that there was not any abnormal wear on my clutch that the flywheel was the problem and that we would have to pay to have it fixed because, the flywheel is not covered under the warranty. Updated 07/18/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #6

Sep 022005

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since we purchased this vehicle new we have replaced the battery twice, the clutch, fly wheel, slave cylinder, three times, a coolant leak fixed, the window motor and it is currently at the repair shop. We also have had to replace all four tires and have the vehicle aligned. The air bag light is also on at this time. The thing that makes me angry is that a service technician has seen or vehicle twice and said our vehicle was fine. So, why did the clutch go out 10 days later?

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 152002

Tiburon

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I bought this car in July 2002. It now only has alittle over 8,000 miles. Since I have had this auto I have had to have the doors realigned because they would not close. The radio would just go out. They replaced the radio but 3 months later it happened again except this time the A/C would not put out cold air properly. Come to find out if I cut the A/C off, the radio would come back on. The last few trips to the dealership I had to leave my car for the day. They checked out everything and could not find anything to cause it to be doing what it does. They did change the battery because the car was dying on me at any given time. I've had 3 different recalls sent to me.

- Sasser, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Feb 152003

Tiburon

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles
The all-new 2003 Hyundai Tiburon boasted to deliver a perfect combination of stylish design, high quality and outstanding performance. In reality, the new vehicle, which I leased was plagued with numerous handicaps. The knob on stick shift keeps falling off-appears to be broken. Re-attached knob and centered face plate only to have knob fall off again still broken. July 18 2002 A/C fumes coming thru vents this is caused by grease on wheel from band clamp loose off cv boot. July 18 2002 steering wheel shakes at high speed- car sways at rear. Steering wheel off center, they adjusted, still shakes. July 18 2002 park and emergency brake defective. Park brake loose and brake light flashes. Emergency brake loose/does not hold, they fixed both, they are broken again Jan 9th. Dec 18 2002 sunroof will not open requires a new motor and module, which was installed. When I picked up the car I tested it and it still would not open. They said make another appointment in the new year. Dec 18 2002 driver side window defective-goes up very slow yes, power window is dragging. We will order a new one. Jan 10/03 still no part. Bob (service manager) will call me when parts are in. Jan 17th, I called, yes parts are in, as per bob the letter is in the mail. As of Feb 25/03 I have yet to receive that letter. May 15 2002 I bought (from Hyundai showroom) blue neon lights for windshield wipers $22.59 had their service dept install them $30. The first time I washed my car they fell off. Yes, they were defective. June 11 Hyundai re-installed my old ones and in doing so dented the car roof. Aug 28 2002 with the pending possibility of lay-off I went into the dealership to see what my options were. The manager directed me to call financial lynx leasing co. Financial lynx directed me to call dealership. The manager told me I could buy out my lease for $6000 at that time. Thank god I didn?T get laid-off. I am not looking to get out of my lease. Sincerely, carrie urbanowicz

- London, AL, USA

problem #3

Oct 312003

(reported on)

Tiburon

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag warning light stays illuminated while driving. When this occurs the driver's side window is inoperative. Although the dealership has serviced the vehicle several times for this issue, the problem recurred.

- Daingerfield, TX, USA

problem #2

Feb 042003

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The windows would not roll down. The dealer said the regulator was bad.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #1

Aug 212002

Tiburon

  • miles
The drivers window and or window(s) had become inoperative. The consumer was told by the dealer that the problem was the switch, then was told that the problem wasn't the switch but the regulator, and when the part was placed on, it failed again. Also, the consumer stated while driving, she had heard a bell ringing. Scc

- Oxon Hill , MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?