Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,165 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Hyundai Tucson engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments

problem #5

Jul 052010

Tucson 6-cyl

  • 133,830 miles


I have a 2005 hyundi Tucson 2.7L V6. Im having problems with the vehicle stalling when coming to a stop. The problem happened today at a stop sign. Thankfully there wasn't another car in front of me because I couldn't stop in time for the sign after it stalled. This has not been the first time this has happened. Its happened about 6 other times, all when coming to a stop at traffic lights, stop signs and yield signs. The car does start right after its stalled. I've done a fair amount of research on this issue and it seems it hasn't been solved yet. I've read of other Tucsons being involved in accidents due to this problem. Some cases have been when traveling ay highway speed. This is a serious problem that needs to be resolved.

- Patterson, NY, USA

problem #4

Dec 012009

Tucson 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,148 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Hyundai Tucson. When attempting to make turns while driving, the vehicle will stall without warning the dealer has been contacted, but no repairs were made. A representative from the manufacturer stated that they did not have any recalls or warranty for this type of failure, and that they were not sure how to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 33,148. Updated 3/8/10 the throttle positon sensor was replaced. Updated 07/09/10

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #3

Sep 202006

Tucson 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,829 miles
2005 Tucson Hyundai dies out while decelerating and at stop.

- South Elgin, IL, USA

problem #2

Aug 202006

Tucson 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1-2-05 I bought my tuscan Hyundai-mat rolling up/sunglass case sticking. Mats were replaced. Glass case fix 06 problems list: August 22, 005--perform recall 068-esp-hecu reprogramming- passenger door gets stuck--npf unable to duplicate customers concern-customer to return at a later date.---- sunglass case gets stuck--they were unable to duplicate it. D C/S check engine light is on--check and report M performed scan tool test found gas cap loose--reset light--ok--- C/S check brakes they lock up then slide--M performed brake check--no problem found--- C/S seat belt on P/S squeaks while driving--cannot locate February 22, 06 C/S perform open campaign as required--50B035R1--recall 922 C/S plastic cap on passenger seat bottom, cracked part on order- C/S eyeglass case not opening at times--part on order D C/S perform L.O.F. lof perform oil and filter change/lube suspension/check and adjust tire pressure service advisor April irrizary Aug 02, 06-- C/S brakes pulsating--cause 99--51712A00--brake disc serving on both side C/S seat track cover missing on passenger side--part is on order C/S esp light is on--E refer to line 1. the very next day on I-95 in rush hour the esp light comes on, I loose power but this time both fuel/brake get stuck. Aug 04,06 I brought back the vehicle ----C/S car looses power, brakes lock, esp light goes on-cause 99--they gave me a loner car and told me not to worry about the mileage and they would call me when it was ready. I had the car for 9 days. Cause 99--rear wheel speed sensor (rh) ABS re--214-w 1-95690-2E300 sensor asm. Yesterday, Sunday, August 20, 2006--I drove around alot around 7:30 pm. While slowing down for a light my brake lock cause me to swirl to the side to avoid hitting the car in front of me. Can someone help me please! I don't want to crash or have individuals hurt in my vehicle neither!

- Hartsdale, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 102005

Tucson 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
I bought Hyundai Tucson 2005 (SUV, 2.0 gl, 4 cylinders, shiftronic) on 4/9/05. I took this car back and left it at a dealer on 4/16/05 because 1). The cruise control did not work. ). I drove that car to la. On hwy 5 with the same speed as 80 mph. As the others. When I drove up to the hills, the speeding was dropped to 60 mph. (20 mph.difference) and couldn't speed up until down from the hills. I've tried to change to lower gear... it was still struggled. I got honk and almost got hit from the cars behind. Everyone (sales, financial, service department) whom concern this case told me that they will fix everything for us. On 4/22/05 `jayson` called me to pick up that car. He told me that `there were 2 technicians checked my car and there was nothing wrong, cruise control works, this car is a normal as 2.0 gl and only 4 cylinders. For the first problem. I tried to drive and check it with it. Finally, he found out that the cruise control's chip was loosen and fixed it. What did his 2 technicians check? for the second problem. He said it's a normal car, he couldn't do anything... just the way that car is. But for me, it unsafe to drive even the hills in the city (I usually go to san francisco, and travel around especially lake Tahoe, yosemite). This car is automatic transmission !!! E suggested me to change to lower gear. I've done but it never worked !! these words `we'll help you`. result; that's all they have done. I'm not satisfied, feel unsafe to drive and unfair from this dealer. I don't want to pay for it. Please check

- San Mateo, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?