Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,667 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Hyundai Tucson wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments

problem #6

Aug 202014


  • miles


All four yokohama avid touring S P215/65/16 tires have extreme tread/mold separation at 40,000 miles making them unsafe to drive on.

- Nixa, MO, USA

problem #5

Dec 172009

Tucson 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Problemas con el power train. History = en el primer aŅO SE daŅO cd player lo cambiaron pero empece a tener dificultades con el horn por un mal entendido cambiaron el clock, hasta la fecha nunca me arreglaron el horn el cual deja Y empieza a funcionar en cualquier momento. El vehiculo en veces prendia la luz del "check" pero por unas horas O un dia el dealer nunca encontro nada en veces tambien SE daba como jalones como que SE queria parar, SE llego a para 3 veces, los del dealer nunca encontraron nada siempre la lleve ahi para mantenimiento Y cambio de aceite, ellos cobran demasiado por los servicios, ya cambie headlights 2 veces Y otras lucesitas del frente, SE cambio serpentine belt, bateria, llantas, parabrisas, frenos; en los ultimos 9 meses cambie a otro lugar para cambio Y chequeo de fluidos. El 12/17/09 7am, prendio a la 3rd vez que trate fui Y vine al trabajo Y casa sin problemas, por la tarde sali a los 15 minutos SE empezo a jalonear Y cada ves que bajaba la velocidad SE queria apagar el motor lo cual sucedio al hacer algun stop, pero la prendia de nuevo sin ningun problema al regreso a casa volvio a pararse varias veces, ademas SE prendio la luz de "check" Y a los 5 minutos SE prendio otra que por el SEŅor que levanto el vehiculo SE que indicaba problemas en el "power train" Y menciono tambien el 4X4. Total que al prender esa luz ya no quiso levantar la marcha nomas como a 1 milla por hora Y eso jalonendose mucho, bueno por una U otra razon yo hable hasta el 12/29/09 para que la levantaran Y hasta hoy SE me comunico que tenia un sensor daŅado algo asi como "throtle position censor" por lo cual me quieren cobrar $455 + taxes. Yo no tenia idea de este sitio, Y creo que tenia derecho de que SE me comunicara en el dealer acerca de todos los recalls para este tipo de vehiculo, estoy insatisfecha con el vehiculo Y por los altos costos de mantenimiento que he tenido que pagar de algo que ya sabian que existia. Necesito ayuda urgene, please. Received complaint written in english.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

May 222009


  • miles
Bought new cooper 235/60R16 CS4 touring 100V tires on 9/9/08. In May 09 I noticed an uneven "bumping" from the right front tire. I took the vehicle in and two tires had to be replaced because the tread had separated from the steel belt. I noticed a recall for another cooper tire, but not this one. I now have two new tires but I am still concerned about the two original tires that were purchased in 9/09/08. From September 08 to may28, 09 I only put on 1,576 miles on my vehicle, mostly around town. I fear if I had continued to drive on the original tires they may have separated and caused an accident or rollover of my 2005 Hyundai Tucson. Have there been other reports of this tire separating" do I need to worry about the original two tires that are still on the vehicle" note: The description on my bill describes the tires as CS4 touring. I could not find that exact match in the tire description field.

- Ofallon, MO, USA

problem #3

Dec 122008


  • 36,000 miles


This car was purchased on May 2005 and now Dec 2008 the tires are all worn out, the dealership was contacted and they said that nothing was to be done. The warranty is expired. Only at 36,000 miles"?" this is crap/.#$$%^^

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #2

Sep 262008


  • 19,000 miles
The cd player don't work the rear tires are worn out to the point they have no tread at all and I have just 19000 miles and the dealer and manufacture say that my warranty does not cover this is on a 2005 Hyundai tuscon the tires are bf goodrich this tire company and Hyundai company should be checked out because this is wrong.

- Twilight, WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Apr 102008

Tucson 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
My wife and I own a 2005 Hyundai Tucson. After 20,000 miles we had to replace the tires as the treads were worn all the way down. This occurred in November 2006. We purchased tires with a 60,000 mile tread warranty and obtained an alignment. In April 2008, we were notified that the vehicle would not pass inspection due to extreme treadware. The driver's tire on the inside was at 0 while the rest were around 4. my wife could had suffered a tire blowout. The dealership informed us that some Hyundai require additional bolts to get the camber within manufacturers specs, . bit they do not consider that a warranty issue. This is a matter that affects the safety of the occupants if a vehicle can not be aligned. The tires wore extremely quickly. Needless to say, we were forced to have these parts put into the vehicle in order to make it safe. I think that there needs to be a recall for this matter. Hyundai is putting cars out there that do not comply with there own specs, chew through tires and could potentially cause accidents due to tire blowouts.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?