Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,755 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Hyundai Veloster wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Veloster:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Veloster Owner Comments

problem #9

Jun 042015

Veloster

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rolled backwards while parked in my driveway twice and vehicle was found out in the road by my neighbors. I was driving it a week ago and my RPM's were tacking really high but could not accelerate speed and I was in 6th gear and it was telling me to shift to 6th then 5th back and forth. Had it checked out at dealership and they said my clutch had abnormal wear and tear but wasn't covered under warranty. They did not check the parking break to see if it was what caused the malfunction of the clutch. The clutch never gave me any problems it was just the car lagged when trying to accelerate speed.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #8

Nov 142015

Veloster

  • 33,000 miles
From 9/8/2015 to 11/14/15 I have had three tires needing replacement due to their sensitivity of minimal road conditions and getting damaged. Each time I hit a small pot hole, small enough to where I thought it was a dip in the road as I came upon it. But once there I couldn't safely maneuver around it to avoid it. The style of these tires are 18" wheels which leaves no room for cushion. I have never had a problem with my sports cars, so I didn't think to ask about tire issues when I purchased this one. I cannot continue to purchase a new tire approximately every 3 weeks, so on 11/18/15 I have to pay another significant amount of money to purchase a full set of tires that will hopefully not blow out at any bump or twig in the road. The roads I travel are city roads and aren't even hazardous roads with ultimately dangerous driving conditions. I purchased this car in July 2015, and to have to go through all this in less than 6 months is ridiculous. My paperwork is all through discount tire in auburn hills, Michigan.

- Independence Twp., MI, USA

problem #7

Oct 302013

Veloster

  • 23,000 miles
I have had 3 tire blowouts on my 2012 Hyundai Veloster. All for the original Hyundai tires. 3 of the 4 tires have been replaced. The car only has 25,000 to date. I have never had any other vehicle with such consistent issues..

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #6

Aug 152013

Veloster

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car purchased new in 2011. Me - 50+ female, have driven 18K miles in 30 months. Current mileage approx 18,800. Blown kumho front passenger tire at 35 mph - rim and tire replaced by dealer at my cost in Aug 2013 at 14K mileage. Jan-Feb 2014, repeated visits to dealer due to tires losing air. Feb 21, 2014, back passenger tire replaced by dealer at my cost due to bubbling and rotated to front. (Aug replacement rim and tire now on back passenger side). Dealer states tire rated for 60K miles. Dealer states all tires thoroughly examined and good to go. Cost from Aug to Feb $1000 for two tires and rims. Eight days later, have driven 50-60 miles only since visit to dealer. On Mar 1, 2014 (sat), back passenger tire flat, car towed to dealer on Mar 3 (mon). Dealer says back rim (replaced in August) needs to be replaced again but tire is fine ("??"), also need front left tire due to bubbling. Will cost another $800. Total of nearly $2000 in rims and tires in 6 months on a car with 18000 miles. Calls to Hyundai. They are "working on it" but dealer is not responding to specific questions. Mechanic at dealer blames the road. How can a rim be bent in a week but the tire is okay"??" call to kumho regarding tires. Tires are not rated for any mileage. Lie #1 from dealer - said tires rated at 60K. Currently in rental car at my cost while Hyundai and dealer play games. Seriously contemplating getting an attorney involved. I am providing personal information required by this website and expressly state I do not wish to be contacted with any offers, information, etc. Either by email or phone and do not give permission to have my information given to any third parties.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #5

Sep 272013

Veloster 4-cyl

  • 28,109 miles
After only 18 months and 28,000 miles of leasing my car from Hyundai I could hear the front drivers side wheel was making some kind of clicking sound. After inspecting the tire, which is a kumho brand, I noticed that the inside of the tire had a long narrow thread of rubber hanging from it. I called for the car to be towed to my local Hyundai dealership (valencia Hyundai). When the maintenance department ([xxx]) told me that both front tires were very worn and need replacing I expected after such a short period of time that they would be covered by the warranty. Apparently, they are only covered by the manufacturers warranty. I called kumho tires who informed me that the warranty only covers defects and according to Hyundai there was no defect just wear and tare. The point I'm trying to make is that maybe Hyundai should not be using kumho tires in the first place as they are obviously not very good tires. I made a complaint to Hyundai and suggested that they ought to at least go splits with me on the cost of the replacement tires, although I think that was too generous of me, I think they should replace them for free. So now I'm waiting to hear back from the complaints department. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

May 142013

Veloster

  • 27,686 miles
The low rider rear tires were making loud noises - rear left went flat - cheap tires because the belts were showing through the tire - got towed to bangor, Maine to nearest dealership - they replaced the faulty tire and told me the left one was also showing through the belts. So every 27685 miles I'll need to pay $390 ?? that's right, they charged me that much for two tires and no this is not an escalade, (free towing from perry me) 120 miles to bangor woweee !!! told them the air bag notification light came on they turned it off, it was off for a short time - its back on.

- Perry, ME, USA

problem #3

Dec 192012

Veloster

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Veloster. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph over a pot hole, the tire pressure monitoring system warning light (TPMS) illuminated. After parking the vehicle, the contact noticed that the front passenger side tire lost air. The contact added air to the tire but it continued to lose air at least three additional times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer advised that the front passenger side wheel was bent. As a result, both the tire and the wheel needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified who offered no assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #2

Jan 052013

Veloster

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Veloster. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, he drove over a speed bump and noticed a scraping sound coming from the front driver and passenger side tires. The contact noticed the tires had lost air. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the front driver and passenger side rims were scraped and would have to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated the space between the front rims and the tires was minimal. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 300.

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #1

Jan 062012

Veloster

  • 4,700 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Veloster. The contact was driving 67 mph when the front passenger side rim exploded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who advised the contact that the failure was caused by road debris, which impacted the tire and destroyed the rim. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 4,700.

- Terrell , TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?