Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,167 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Hyundai XG350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Hyundai XG350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Hyundai XG350 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Mar 182015

XG350 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


While following a line of cars through a local city street my car accelerated coming close to the car in front. I brake, the car did not respond. I used all my strength on the brake pedal and the car responded by going faster. To avoid a collision, I swerved to the right into a convenience store driveway. However, I hit the bumper of the car in front of me and this finally stopped my car. I read on a website that this is not an uncommon problem with this model. Why has there been no recall to solve this problem?

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #34

Jan 012015

XG350 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Hello. I was sold a lemon by [xxx] of al's motor sales located on 1126 N. montello St, brockton, MA 02301.when I went for inspection I got a rejection sticker because the car needed a catalytic converter, timing belts, airbag light being on, headlamps and a backlight, and would mysteriously accelerate on its own for no reason without my foot being on the gas pedal! once I ran a VIN scan realized that he received the car like this but never disclosed that to me. He also left the information of the previous owners in the vehicle. Rather, he turned off the O2 sensor lights and led me to believe that the car could pass inspection. I traded my 1998 infiniti I30 for a 2005 Hyundai xg 350 so that the price of the vehicle would no longer be $3500 but $2400. Within two weeks the check engine light came on. [xxx] has avoided my calls and gotten very verbally aggressive in person when I speak to him about his actions. He has agreed to refund my money, infiniti, car keys, $2400 and brand new battery I put in the Hyundai, but keeps putting off the times we're to meet. I believe he is trying to bleed out his time with the lemon law so that he doesn't have to adhere to the refund. When asked to read the terms of his own federal buyers guide, he couldn't! I would like his whole operation investigated as he is not being truthful and knowingly robs people continually. He has had my vehicle for 3 weeks going on 4 weeks. My trust and rights have been raped and I would like justice. As a school teacher I need this car to get work and instead, I take public transportation while paying car insurance. This dealer is illegally selling vehicles that are compromising the safety of other motorists and pedestrians. Please investigate the matter before it evolves into a tragic fatality. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Randolph, MA, USA

problem #33

Jul 312014


  • 21,000 miles
I was almost parked at the curb in front of a drugstore with my foot on brake easing into spot when car lurched forward, jumped the curb and violently crashed into the concrete wall about 6-7 feet away. Wall, not brake, stopped car. People came out from store as crash was heard/felt inside. I don't know what would have happened to me if I didn't have seatbelt on. As it was, my chest was extremely sore for several weeks from seatbelt. Airbag didn't deploy. Car was totaled thank god as I would never drive it again. So many complaints with same issue no recalls or service bulletins. Hyundai line is can't find anything wrong when car was checked by them after accident so it is driver error. I've been driving for many years and never had an accident and still consider that I didn't have an accident but not sure of insurance company's stand if I buy another car, if I can find a safe one after all of the recalls. This situation is unacceptable.

- Sunnyside, NY, USA

problem #32

Dec 072012

XG350 6-cyl

  • miles


2005 Hyundai xg350L. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden acceleration accident. The consumer stated as she was preparing to park in an angle parking space along the West side, ground level, of the parking garage, she pressed the brake pedal to slow the vehicle to make a right turn into the parking space, it suddenly accelerated resulting in a severe collision with the concrete wall. As the vehicle accelerate forward, the consumer depressed the brake pedal as hard as she could. Also, the air bag did not deploy in the accident. The vehicle was declared totaled.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #31

Feb 262011

XG350 6-cyl

  • 62,600 miles
I purchased this 2005 XG350 in 2007 with 11,600 miles and under warranty and today's mileage is 62,600 miles. When starting vehicle today husband stated car seemed to be running a little rough and I said it has been like that since we put the new battery in December 2010. We drove 30 miles at average of 55-60 mph with little starting or stopping. After turning into the parking lot we had to drive about 200 feet to park. He took his foot off the accelerator and then stepped on the brake to stop. The engine progressed to 6500 RPM's and couldn't shift transmission out of drive, had both feet on brake and then smoke started coming out of hood. When he felt like the brakes wasn't going to stop it he then turned off the key and front wheels continued to advance forward and tried to climb the sidewalk and eventually shut down. Afterwards he stated he felt the accelerator pedal actually move under his foot and then took his foot off and put both feet on the brakes. We were extremely shakened by this event and fearful for the return drive for our safety and others we may encounter. We returned home safely without further incident but very concerned for our safety in future. This had never happened before. However I did report twice to dealership about deceleration problems. Over the past 3 years after starting vehicle, it had no power to accelerate into traffic. First time could turn off car and wait a few minutes and then restart and would run fine. Second time drove 1/2 mile and turned off car. When restarting there wasn't any acceleration power over 10 mph had to pull over turn off car 3 or 4 times before it ran fine. The 3rd time had to turn off car 3-4 times to get it to run correctly. Dealership did take out battery to reset the computer to correct problem however now I'm having the acceleration problem that is very scary. Called the dealership to report but it was Saturday afternoon and they closed at 1pm. Will contact dealer for further explanation, if any.

- Eldon, MO, USA

problem #30

Jun 012006


  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Hyundai XG350. The contact stated that the vehicle attempted to surge forward while it was stopped with his foot on the brake pedal. The contact applied heavy pressure to the brake pedal to keep the vehicle stopped. The failure occurred four times. One of the failures resulted in a crash. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer once where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,500 and the current mileage was 44,000.

- Matter, GA, USA

problem #29

Jul 252010


  • 90,000 miles


On three occasions over about 4-5 month period ending July 2010 I experienced sudden unintended acceleration with my 2005 Hyundai xgl350. The first 2 times I was stopped at a red light and the car started to accelerate unexpectedly. I already had the brake depressed for the traffic stop and had to press the brake as hard as possible to prevent the car from taking off. The unexpected acceleration surge lasted about 5 seconds then ended. The car did move forward but in both cases I did not have any injuries or damages. I did not take the car in for service after either of these incidents. The third incident happened on July 25, 2010 in Norfolk, va. I was parking between two cars in a restaurant parking lot. The parking space faced a curb which boarded some floral landscaping. With my foot on the brake at all times I very slowly pulled in and started bringing the car to a stop the car about 3 - 4 feet from the curb. Before the car came to a stop it began to unexpectedly rev up and accelerate forward. I pressed on the brake as hard as possible but the car's front wheels manage to climb over the curb and move the front of the car into bushes before the acceleration ended and I was able to regain control of the car. I put the car in reverse and backed down over the curb. On that same day I drove the car for about 12 hours returning from Virginia to New York and did not experience any unexpected acceleration problems. I plan to bring the car into the Hyundai service on July 27, 2010 to investigate and hopefully fix the problem.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #28

May 032010


  • miles
2005 Hyundai xg350L - intermittently when depressing the accelerator pedal, vehicle will not respond and after a few seconds will surge forward. This occurred when pulling into parking lot and upon removing foot from the gas pedal, the vehicle surged forward. The vehicle jumped a 10" curb and took out a support column. The vehicle then hit the front of the building.

- Oxford, AL, USA

problem #27

Jan 072009


  • 35,000 miles
Fails to accelerate when pedal is depressed. Then after 1 to 3 seconds it accelerates like a jack rabbit because the pedal is depressed too far.

- Morehead, KY, USA

problem #26

Feb 152010


  • 20,000 miles
Vehicle speed control is erratic and cannot be predicted on occasion. Sometimes the vehicle will jump quickly at the smallest touch of the accelerator and other times it will not move faster than about 5 mph no matter how much the throttle is pressed. This causes serious safety issues as entering a roadway can be dangerous with little to no power available at times. It also makes navigating a small area such as a parking lot unsafe when the power is delivered far too quickly. Incidents typically happen 3-4 times per day (my typical commute is about 60 miles per day). The incidents usually never last more than 20 or 30 seconds.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #25

Jul 272009

XG350 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Hyundai XG350. While driving 5 mph, the contact attempted to stop the vehicle, but it continued to accelerate. She had to exert maximum pressure to the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop, but the mechanic was unable to locate the cause of the failure. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 41,000. Updated 10/06/09 the consumer stated on a separate occasion when the cruise control was set, the vehicle increase in speed up to 80 mph. Updated 10/08/09

- Spring Vale , ME, USA

problem #24

Jan 192009


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Hyundai XG350. The contact stated that the rpms would increase unexpectedly. He noticed the failure on three occasions. Even when pressing firmly on the brake pedal, the vehicle would continue to accelerate. He shifted into neutral in an attempt to gain control of the vehicle, but it continued to rev up until he turned the ignition key to shut it off. The failure sometimes occurred when he attempted to decelerate. He took the vehicle to two different dealers, but they could not duplicate the failure or provide a failure code. The manufacturer was not notified. The current mileage was approximately 43,000 and failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #23

Oct 152008


  • 30,000 miles
2005 XG350 has had two specific problems related to engaging car in drive and acceleration. When car has been sitting overnight or for a prolonged period of time and it is placed in drive, the car just sits there in excess of 15 seconds and then transmission clunks into gear and starts going. This problem occurs daily when car is first started and reappears if car cools down for several hours after it has been driven. Related to this problem is acceleration of vehicle. After gear finally engages, the slightest pressure on the gas pedal can send the car lurching forward quickly. The other day while backing out of the driveway and then placing car in drive, was almost hit by another car coming down the street that no doubt expected us to be moving. Even though we had placed the car in drive, it went nowhere. Lucky the other guys stopped in time or we would have been hit. This could be a real safety issue. We have reported these problems to dealer on two separate occasions but they have been unable to replicate them and nothing has been done to resolve our problem.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #22

Jul 162007

XG350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,350 miles
Purchased XG350 in December 2005 on two occasions when first leaving the driveway noticed that when pressing the accelerator the car did not respond. After releasing and trying a couple more times the car then lurched forward. That was shortly after the purchase. Now have a little over 26,000 miles on several occasions when pressing the accelerator the car seemed to surge forward for the amount of pressure. On July 16, 2007 left the driveway and the car would not respond to pressure. Kept trying for about 1/2 mile pressing and releasing and just as I was going to turn around the car surged forward and drove fine for the last two days. I will be taking it to a Hyundai repair service department soon as this could be very dangerous if pulling into or driving in heave traffic.

- Byron, GA, USA

problem #21

Mar 022007

XG350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,620 miles
Speed control - acceleration. On 10 occasions since 03/05 the accelerator pedal can be depressed, nothing happens, and then the vehicle takes off. Yesterday was the last straw - backing up and it did it. When it did take off with accelerator depressed about half way, it took off and even though I was ready for it to do that I couldn't get it stopped quick enough and it hit a pole. It tore rear bumper. I have had it to dealer 4 times and they kept car for 5 days and could not duplicate the problem. Told us until they can get it to do it while they had it - there isn't anything they can do. So far when it has happened pulling out into traffic we were able to avoid getting hit. Cannot understand why NHTSA hasn't addressed this problem. Perhaps because no documented deaths have occurred.....

- Platte City, MO, USA

problem #20

Jan 142007

XG350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Car accelerates/lurches forward when idle or starting to drive from a standstill. This happens intermittently and my wife has taken it to the dealer twice for this. The dealer states they cannot find anything wrong. Well, by reading the complaints on this site about the same problem my wife is experiencing, there is a problem, and a serious one.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #19

Jan 292007

XG350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Hyundai xg 350. When accelerating the vehicle would not respond; the contact could feel the gears shift and the vehicle moving slowly. The dealer stated they were unable to diagnose the failure. The contact called the manufacturer and was unable to get a response. Updated 03/19/07.

- Logan, UT, USA

problem #18

Oct 052006

XG350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,727 miles
: the contact stated while stopped at an intersection with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle accelerated without warning on several occasions. The vehicle was driven to the dealer who could not diagnose the problem. Updated 10/30/2006 -

- Ocean City, MD, USA

problem #17

Sep 132006

XG350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,350 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled upon acceleration for the first 5-10 minutes the vehicle was driven. After pumping the accelerator pedal a few times, the vehicle would start. The dealership was aware of the problem and determined this was a characteristic of the vehicle. Updated 10/4/2006 - the consumer indicated that each morning the vehicle was started, put into drive and driven into traffic it stumbled and would not accelerate. When the consumer lets off the accelerator pedal the vehicle accelerated suddenly.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #16

Jun 052006

XG350 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
: the contact stated the vehicle accelerates without the accelerator pedal being depressed. This has occurred on four occasions, once causing an accident. The rpms shoot up to the top. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer however they have not be able to duplicate the problem. 08/29/06 certified letter received by Hyundai on 7/30/06. No response by Hyundai or by price.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?