Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,572 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Isuzu Axiom transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Isuzu Axiom:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Isuzu Axiom Owner Comments

problem #20

Jul 272011

Axiom

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failure slips in and out of over drive.

- Belfast, ME, USA

problem #19

Aug 122011

Axiom

  • miles
I have a 2002 Isuzu Axiom. My transmission is having problems for the second time. The servo cover has came off and all the fluid is leaking out. There are several cases of people reporting transmissions problems and failures in this vehicle. It seems the entire transmission should be recalled. These are not cheap repairs. Thank you.

- Townsend, GA, USA

problem #18

Jan 202011

Axiom

  • 140,000 miles
Isuzu Axiom 2002 2wd with 141000 miles. With 115000 miles in 2007 all of the sudden transmission failed and left me in the middle of the torrential rain with my wife and infant. We couldn't navigate car to the safety and we were in the middle lane when that happened. It was a very scary moment. I had to replace transmission. I had installed new transmission as I didn't want to experience anything similar. Now it failed again. There is something very suspicious about this transmission in these vehicles. I think somebody needs to address these issues.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #17

Oct 042010

Axiom 6-cyl

  • 98,032 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving my 2002 Isuzu Axiom normally to work. I parked in a downtown parking garage and was instructed to park on the 4th floor. My car had great difficulty climbing the ramps and finally stopped climbing at the 3rd floor. I left my car all day and drove home after work, taking all surface streets and avoiding hills. The next day I carefully drove to my mechanics shop and(then the check trans & check eng lights came on) was told the transmission needs replacing or rebuilding. I carefully drove to a transmission shop and am having the transmission rebuilt at an out of pocket expense of roughly $3,300. Fortunately this all happened while I was driving, as it is normally the family car driven by wife. So basically the transmission suddenly failed without warning, there are no leaks or smoke or smell. And the warning light came on after it was too late. We did take our car to the dealer for its last trans service and had appointment to get a trans service 3 days after it failed!

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #16

Jul 152010

Axiom

  • 130,200 miles
I get my Isuzu Axiom 2002 in April of 2009 and now for the past few days everytime I put my car on drive it would make a loud noise and when I put it on park.everything has been done to my car but now the transmission feels like its always on neutral and other people with the same car tell me they have the same transmission problem what can I do to get this fix...

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #15

Jun 142010

Axiom

  • 80,000 miles
Transmission failed on 2002 Isuzu Axiom with only 80K miles.

- North Prairie, WI, USA

problem #14

Apr 012010

Axiom

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Isuzu Axiom with 84,000 miles. The transmission is slipping. Apparently this is a defect that many, many owners are experiencing or have experienced. This defect needs to be recalled and fixed by the manufacturer. The second issue is the buttons on the radio/heating and cooling unit falls out. This too needs to be recalled and fixed by the manufacturer.

- Adelphi, MD, USA

problem #13

May 092010

Axiom

  • 110,000 miles
Transmission went out. All of a sudden wouldn't go into gear. Has a little over 100,000 miles. Haven't had fixed yet. Having trouble finding a mechanic to work on it. Apparently this is a common thing with this car. Researched on-line and lots of posting same problem. One person suggested making a complaint so that maybe it would be recalled.

- Glen Rose, TX, USA

problem #12

Apr 082010

Axiom

  • 118,300 miles
2002 Isuzu Axiom does not shift. Have reported this numerous times to Isuzu service provider as car still under warranty (not yet 120K). They keep adjusting it instead of replacing it. Even after each dealer attempt to make adjustments, this vehicle, upon acceleration from a stop or near stop, strains when going into second gear, goes nowhere, then clunks loudly & lunges dramatically forward at a very rapid speed. It scares me but I have no other transportation. On my last family trip (4/8/10), I thought I was going to get killed as the car suddenly refused to shift and go uphill in DC on the interstate while in heavy high-speed traffic!!! I hope this SUV does not kill my family and me. This vehicle is dangerous!!!

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #11

Apr 022010

Axiom

  • 90,000 miles
2002 Isuzu Axiom transmission failure. When shifting from 1st to 2nd gear transmission gets stuck and cannot go faster than 20 mph. Axiom transmission are near impossible to find and when one is located it costs 3,000 to have installed.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 082007

Axiom 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was repaired under Isuzu's manufacturer warranty at vista Isuzu for a minor transmission leak on 8/8/07. On this date I drove car from the repair shop and at approximately 40mph and about 1/2 mile from the repair shop the car lurched and the rear axel locked up sending the car in an uncontrolled right to left swerve. Surrounding cars around me were barley able to avoid hitting me. I took the car back to vista Ford and later I contacted their repair shop manager and they were unable to verify the cause, and I was only told that all forward gears were shredded and that gear material was found in the transmission pan and that a high pressure pump within the transmission unit could have potentially cause the incident.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 202006

Axiom 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Isuzu Axiom. The vehicle's A/T oil temperature light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who flushed the transmission. The same warning light illuminated again at 41,715 miles. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the piston accumulator cover. At 43,543 miles while attempting to pull out of a parking spot, the vehicle would not catch gear and started to shutter. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who replaced the transmission. At 45,800 miles, the failure has recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the gasket was melted and leaking fluid. The dealer also replaced the transmission sub pan because it was cracked. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 46,000 and failure mileage was 36,000.

- Big Bear Lake , CA, USA

problem #8

Jan 132006

Axiom 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,100 miles
2002 Isuzu Axiom began having transmission leaking and slipping problems at 4, 0000 miles. Contacted dealer as to history of these types of complaints, and they stated that they could not provide this information. Also contacted Isuzu, and they would not either, stating that I would have to contact NHTSA as this was considered internal information not to be released to the public. However, when doing a search on the internet I found numerous complaints of the same problem. In addition, have taken vehicle in for a brake job on two different occasions as I keep getting a shuddering feeling as if I am having brake failure. Upon the independent mechanic reviewing the brakes wear, was advised twice that they do not need replacing as to the wear conditions. Also have found repeated complaints on the internet over this same problem, however, once again dealer is not willing to admit problem or correct as to warranty!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 152005

Axiom 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought my Isuzu Axiom in Nov 2002. It has had several hazardous defects. 1) in May 2005, at 60,000 miles the transmission suddenly failed while driving, causing the vehicle to slow to 20-30 mph, no longer accelerating. It was brought to the dealership. The transmission fluid burnt up. After two transmission flushes the transmission still needed to be replaced. Only after getting Isuzu involved, did the dealership honor the warranty and replaced the transmission. Three weeks later I received the vehicle back. The same day it suddenly slowed again, not accelerating past 20 mph and it slipped/spun accelerating from stop lights. It was immediately brought back to the dealership, the main oil seal was replaced. After that it worked with intermittent periods of slipping/spinning when accelerating. It progressively became slower to accelerate when passing, changing lanes. In Sept. 05 the transmission went bad again, my vehicle suddenly stopped accelerating while going up a hill, causing a near accident with vehicles behind me. It was towed to the dealership, the transmission needed replaced again, for the third time! what good is Isuzu Axiom's 10 year/120,000 mile warranty if the transmission keeps going out suddenly as I drive it? the warranty won't prevent me from being in an accident the next time this happens. In addition it has experienced the following defects. 2) Sept. 04 the timing belt cracked at 44,000 miles, needing replaced. Per the schedule maintenance it should not need replaced until 100,000 miles. 3)June 04, the low fuel light came on and the gas meter dipped to empty after just filling up. The fuel pump needed replaced. 4)June 04, the check transmission light came on, it could not be duplicated at the dealer. 5)March 04 and October 04 the front wheel bearings needed repacked and now need fully replaced due to barely passing Sept 05 state inspection. 6)the vehicle intermittently skids to stop when brakes are applied in the rain.

- Sandston, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 032005

Axiom 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
This vehicle "looks" great. However, the tires are like ice skates on the slightest of wet roads. The car jumps to the side over any bump with sport ride engaged, and the whole car "bobbles"" with it off. The transmission did the slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear like others have said, resulting in having no vehicle for nearly a month while waiting for a transmission from france. "Isuzu" has no loaner car policy, so pay for a broken car, and have a nice walk. We purchased the car from courtesy Isuzu in brandon Florida. The people there were nice. We later moved to St petersburg, where we have had nothing but grief at bert smith Isuzu on US19. They were so lacking in care and concern over my wife daughter and I vehicle-less for a month, that when we finally got the car back, we refused to even bring the car there for our "free" oil changes. I'd rather pay $20 somewhere else than to deal with this dealership. Now the last straw... the other day the engine starts making a loud tapping noise as I'm travelling down the highway. I immediately got off the very next exit and coasted to a gas station. I bought a quart of oil and waited for the engine to cool a bit. I added the oil, started the engine, and no more sound. I drove home. 4th of July weekend, I hoped to limp through until Tuesday the 5th. Monday I drove my wife to her job about 5 miles away, and half way back, the sound returned louder than ever. I carefully drove the car the rest of the way home, and called aaa the next morning. Now my engine needs to be replaced, and because I didn't take my car to them for the oil changes, they are refusing to cover the engine without me showing them receipts I didn't know I needed to keep. My engine is dead, and they won't cover it. ?!?! the car is still well within coverage. With a year and a half left to go, what am I going to do"

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #5

May 162005

Axiom 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
First of all I've had my Axiom for 3 years and its been in and out of the shop on a least 7 or 8 different occasions. The initial problem that I was experiencing was the continued failure of the A/C. each and everytime there was a problem in which was fixed. Also doing these visits I would complain about a possible transmission problem which was always ignored and not resolved. Then a couple of weeks ago the transmission was slipping on a regular basis between 2nd & 3rd gear and there was a problem with fuel guage indicator. My truck was in the shop for over a week in which the fuel indicator was resolved and a seal was replaced for the transmission issue. I was told by the service technician that I needed to have the transmission service in which I did. Now its been 3 weeks since I've received my truck back and now the transmission is slipping between 3rd & 4th gear. I've researched other complaints and there seems to be an overall with the transmission. I'm nervous to drive this car with my family and someone needs to look into this

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #4

Nov 102004

Axiom 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought my car in July 2004 the transmission kept slipping and I took it into the dealer at least 3 times finally in Nov. 2004 they kept the car and they told me it was the mode switch we paid $400 to have that fixed we got the car back and as we were driving home we had the same problem happen. So we took it back and they told me that the transmission needed to be serviced so we forked out another $100 to have the transmission serviced. That didn't work. They told us they would reimburse the $400 for the mode switch well we still have not received the money back yet. So once again I returned the car to the dealer and this time they replaced the transmission. That took 3 weeks! I finally got my car back and 1 month later I had it back in the shop for the front differential had gone bad and they are replacing it. Another 3 weeks. The first week they did not even have a loaner car for me so I had to find a ride. I have not received my car back yet and I'm not really sure about rather it will be fixed or not. My brakes also vibrate when we push on them to stop. They say there is nothing wrong with them. But reading all the complaints, I wonder. Now I'm concerned for my safety and for my families safety. I really like it but it does not have a very good record for having only 6 months and it has been in the shop 2 of those months.

- North Ogden, UT, USA

problem #3

Oct 022004

Axiom 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,485 miles
1. 8,000 miles to current brakes intermittently fail when traveling at 30+ mph. When the brakes are depressed the vehicle lunges forward. 2. passenger side seat belt intermittently only allows retraction regardless of the brakes are depressed or not. 3. 46,539 miles fuel gauge shows 1/2 tank onboard computer shows low fuel and fuel light illuminates. Dealer replaced fuel pump assembly. Problem corrected. 4. 57321 miles intermittent sluggish acceleration (intermittent since 20,000 miles) combined with intermittent incorrect timing shift from 2nd to 3rd gear. Dealer reluctantly replaced piston seal cover under drive train warranty. 2nd opinion private mechanic verified the leaking seal. Problem has worsened remains unresolved as of 10/2/04. Friend purchased same make and model within 2 weeks of my purchase both from robbins Isuzu, humble Texas and has had the exact same problems only her braking problem resulted in an accident. Isuzu dealership refuses to acknowledge any problems.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 012003

Axiom 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,317 miles
The ABS light continuously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to dealer and they dealer replaced the bearings and hubs. While traveling at normal speed, the driver hit a slight bump and the vehicle made a loud grinding noise and jumped forward. Description of all problems are as followed: ABS sensor/hub bearing right side, ABS grinding, cracked arm rest, door panel arm rest cracked, the ABS light continuously stayed on, broken cargo cover hooks, left rear coil boot stuck, hub bearing right side, weather strip torn, exterior door trim chrome peeling, broken cargo cover holders, broken left rear coil boot stuck, torn weather strip, faulty hood lock would not open, knocking noise on the driver's side on right turns, the front windows were noisy at highway speeds, the rear bumper on the right side was loose, the steering wheel rubbed the column when turning, the remote didn't always open the driver door, the seat did not give the consumer enough leg room, the ash tray was not properly fit, the brakes would grab and vibrate when stopping and releasing, the front end was bumpy, when the consumer would turn the vehicle he felt he could lose control, at times the vehicle would display a fast start and on others times would be slugglish and would not take off, the transmission did not respond fast enough and the consumer would have to wait for passing gears to engage, the windshield would fog on the outside when the temperature was colder on the inside, the driver side spark plug boot closest to the drivers side was defective and did not come out with the coil, and the passenger seat handle would fall each time someone would attempt to get in the vehicle. The service dealer was not able to determine exactly where the knocking noise was coming from under the front end on right turns and suggested that Isuzu should be responsible. The consumer stated that the purchase sticker displayed 55% usa/Canada parts content.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

Apr 302002

(reported on)

Axiom 4WD

  • miles
You can shift the transmission into gear without depressing the brake pedal while the key is in the acc position.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?