Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension: Rear Problems

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,664 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 012011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 149,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact took his vehicle to a private mechanic for routine maintenance and was informed the entire rear frame was covered with rust. The dealer did not offer any assistance. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was 155,000. The approximate failure mileage was 149,000... updated 09/21/11 updated 09/30/11.

- Etters, PA, USA

problem #15

Aug 102011

Rodeo

  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the rear bumper was hanging down on the passenger side due to rust and corrosion. An authorized dealer was notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V436000 (suspension: Rear). The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 153,000. The VIN was not available.

- Hastings , MN, USA

problem #14

Mar 162011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
Had stage 3 call back done 3/16/11.the machanic inspected the frame. Both upper rear spring towers are rotted, and becoming deformed. Rear shock absorber frame brakets are rotted. Rear 5 mile hour bumber mounts are rotted. Both fuel tank monts are rotted. The rear right upper radius arm frame monting braket is rotted. We have already paid to replaced the section of the frame that the penard bar is mounted to, , because it too had rooted off.

- Westford, MA, USA

problem #13

Feb 012011

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 130,793 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a local repair shop for routine inspection when the mechanic advised the contact that the vehicle was unsafe to drive because of severe corrosion. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was included in the recall under NHTSA campaign id 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and that the vehicle should be taken back to the dealer where they could take pictures of the level of corrosion. As a result, they stated that the remedy specified on the recall should be sufficient enough to repair the corrosion. According to the dealer, the vehicle was unsafe to drive and should be taken off the road. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 130,793. Updated 04/12/11 updated 01/13/2012

- West Halifax , VT, USA

problem #12

Jan 202011

Rodeo

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contac received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the actual frame of the vehicle was severely corroded, not just the mounting bracket. Due to the actual frame being severely corroded the recall remedy would not be sufficient in correcting the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 90,000. Updated 03/08/11 updated 03/09/11

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Jan 012010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I own a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. I just received a letter from Isuzu stating that there was a recall on this vehicle due to massive amounts of corrosion on the frame. Last January, when I went to get my inspection sticker, my mechanic stated how bad the rust was on the underside and advised me to get rid of the vehicle stating that "it is unsafe to drive". I ended up holding on to the Rodeo until now and upon looking into this matter have found out that there have been numerous complaints about the same issue(s) I had. Let me state that I also get a 1998 Ford F-150 repaired by the same mechanic. My mechanic made a statement about how my work truck may look rough, but it is in way better shape structurally than the Rodeo. They both have the same manufacturing date, approximately the same amount of miles, and been driven on the same Massachusetts roads with the same salt on them. So, my questions to you are, why did it take so long to get this recall in motion" why are they able to state that because the vehicle is over 10 years old they are not responsible for it even though this issue has been going on long before Isuzu's recall date, or when they notified the NHTSA" it seems as if they are getting kind of a pass here. My friends Toyota Tacoma was recalled a few years ago and Toyota stood by their product and reimbursed her the value of the truck. There should be some sort of standard set forth on certain types of recalls. This is not an issue of a faulty seat belt or rusting spare tire holder, this is an issue of a car falling apart on the road while driving it possibly injuring the passengers as well as other motorists on the road. No excuses for Honda or Isuzu, there is no possible way they did not know about the faults years ago while servicing the same vehicles in their garages. Toyota got a public lambasting for faults in their vehicles but I have not heard a peep about Honda or Isuzu's lack of initiative to repair the vehicles. Thank you

- North Dighton, MA, USA

problem #10

Dec 152010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 77,589 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact received a recall letter regarding the suspension:rear ( 00V058000). The contact stated that the remedy repair stated in the recall letter does not remedy the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer should replace the entire frame due to excessive corrosion on the frame of the vehicle. The contact stated that this was a safety issue that could lead to a crash. The failure mileage was 77,589. Updated 01/28/11 updated 02/07/11

- Dade City, FM, USA

problem #9

Aug 262010

Rodeo

  • 170,000 miles
I own a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo and the rear frame also rotted to the point ware the rear spring support and a crossmember are almost completely rotted off also the left rear shock support completely became detached from frame.

- Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #8

Jun 302010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 114,149 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact was driving at 50 mph when the rear end of the vehicle began leaning to the left, causing the vehicle to become difficult to control. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility where the mechanic advised that the rear driver side frame was severely corroded. Parts of the frame had fractured from the vehicle as a result. The mechanic advised that the failure could not be repaired. The mechanic also recommended the contact having the vehicle destroyed due to the safety hazard of operating the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure and the current mileages were 114,149. Updated 11/12/10 updated 11/24/10

- Mount Perry , OH, USA

problem #7

Dec 152009

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 98,100 miles
I was driving on a highway and the car was swaying at 25 mph, all of a sudden, something broke underneath, lost control of the car and threw me across three lanes and back. Was able to stop the car before crashing. Vehicle had to be towed. Mechanic told me frame completely rotted, impossible to weld. Stabilizer arm broke from rest of frame. Updated IVOQ 10/18/10

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #6

Nov 172003

(reported on)

Rodeo

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Manufacturer's recall 00405800 concerning rear axle. Consumer was informed that dealership would perform repairs. Urged consumer to make an appointment for repairs on vehicle.

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #5

Apr 062000

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Recall #00V058000, subject...rear axle: The vehicle has been to the dealer at least five times for repairs. Each time the consumer brought the vehicle in, the mechanic couldn't find the problem. Vehicle is not under recall.

- Edneyville, NC, USA

problem #4

Aug 012001

Rodeo

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Sway bar broke off while consumer was driving. Contacted dealer, and dealer was not willing to do anything. Consumer states vehicle is jerking backwards while driving. Dealer could not find anything, however problem persist. ABS light comes on intermittently. Dealer could not find a problem.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #3

Nov 171998

Rodeo

  • miles
The dealership has tightened the axle bolts at least four times and replaced them once as a result of recall campaign (00V-58) and service bulletin (sb0006S002). Consumering is still experiencing the same problem. In September, 2000 the rear axle had to be replaced. After driving for about 2 1/2 weeks the slipping problem is still present.

- Unknown, UN, USA

problem #2

Jun 232000

(reported on)

Rodeo

  • miles
Consumer took vehicle to dealer for recall (00V058) repair of the rear axle which was making the noise, returned after being repaired one day.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 011998

Rodeo

  • miles
Vehicle has strong suspension vibration since brand new. Vibration is present at speeds of 25mph & above, & becomes more pronounced as speed increases. Have had tires balanced twice by 2 different dealers. Original dealer also tried swapping tires & wheels with another new Rodeo. Goodyear store rebalanced & rotated tires on 3 occasions. Nothing has helped. Vehicle is unstable and very uncomfortable at highway speeds.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?