Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension Problems

2001 Isuzu Rodeo (Page 3 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,105 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Feb 172011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles


I own a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo, there was a recall issued in Dec or Jan timeframe in regards to corrosion of the frame. I took my vehicle to an Isuzu Rodeo dealership like it stated on Feb 17. The dealer did state that they would not be able to get to the vehicle until the following week. On Feb 24 the dealership did contact us and stated the vehicle was unrepairable and that they had submitted photos and documentation to Isuzu. I spoke with Isuzu on March 8 almost 2 weeks after they received the information from the dealer and they seemed unconcerned and stated that the dealer's pictures were inconclusive and that they didn't see why they could not put the brackets on the vehicle. I stated that I was told by the dealership told me the issue was beyond repair and Isuzu stated they needed more photos. It is going on three weeks without a vehicle and it seems Isuzu does not seem to care about the fact the there are individuals out there without and vehicle and not to mention the fact that the vehicle is completely unsafe to drive.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #9

Jan 102011


  • 92,000 miles
I received a recall #10V-436 form in the mail from the Isuzu owner relations center 1400 S. douglass road, suite 100 anahelm, ca 92806 on or about November 2010. It stated that I should call Isuzu special assistance center to identify the Isuzu service center closest to me. I was told the parts to repair my vehicle would not be available until the middle of January 2011. I called and an appointment for February 18, 2011 at bournival Isuzu where I bought the SUV brand new in August 2001. The SUV was due for a sticker January 2011. January 10 2011 this vehicle was in an accident. There was minor damage to the rear left side totaling $2,800. When the body shop further investigating under the vehicle he noticed extensive frame damage rotting with holes and extensive rust. He determined the SUV was unsafe. He also noticed the axel was 3/4 of an inch out of line. He then called our insurance company and the adjuster reinvestigated the vehicle. The adjuster at this time totaled the SUV. The insurance company took ownership of the vehicle and subtracted a large sum of money from the finale amount because of the holes and rust he found on the frame undercarriage, to look at this vehicle you would have thought it was years younger then it was. There was no rust, dents or scratches. This vehicle should have gone another 100,000 miles at least. It was garaged and meticulously maintained with records from the date of purchase. I was told by friends it drove and sounded like a brand new automobile. My intention was to have it for ten more years. At this time I am requesting the amount disqualified by the insurance company for the frame metal decomposition and an amount for loss of longevity and failure to fulfill my expectations.

- Fremont, NH, USA

problem #8

Feb 012011


  • 103,000 miles
The frame of my Isuzu Rodeo is full of rust/corrosion. There is a recall (recall 10V-436) on the brackets and this is not a fix. After inspection of my vehicle it was found to be a stage 4 recall. There needs to be a recall on the entire frame. This vehicle is unsafe to drive. The frame can break while driving. Cannot get recall done for the brackets because parts are unavailable to the dealer (steve castrucci, cincinnati, oh). Unable to drive vehicle due to this recall and feel unsafe driving it.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 032011


  • miles


Vehicle was recalled for failure of suspension supporting frame due to corrosion. Brackets were installed, and Isuzu claims this is an adequate fix. However, the entire rear of the frame is riddled with holes and heavily rusted. When the vehicle was picked up the dealership required signatures on photos of the damage to disclaim liability. Although the "official" position of the dealership remains neutral, we were told the vehicle was unsafe to drive. Isuzu offered to purchase the car for $935, stating their only responsibility was for the bracket.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #6

Jun 152010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
2001 Isuzu Rodeo:extreme premature rust damage to frame of my Isuzu Rodeo lse which almost killed myself as well as 3 other individuals. We should have received a recall or at least a warning as a courtesy! its only peoples lives that are at stake, and I am looking for some kind of retribution from Honda/Isuzu before I hire an attorney. Please hold those whom are responsible for this to the morality and ethics this country was founded and based upon. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newcreek , WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Jun 042010


  • 92,000 miles
Vehicle became very unstable while driving. After hearing noise from left rear, it was discovered that the left rear lower control arm had become detached from the frame rail. The mounting bracket pulled away from the rusted frame, leaving a gaping hole in the frame. Vehicle is not drivable and does not appear to be repairable.

- Wakefield, MA, USA

problem #4

Nov 262009


  • 82,983 miles


Two days prior to my traction bar detaching itself from the frame in the driver side rear of my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo that only has 82,983 miles on it. I was hearing knocking under the car. Never did see anything wrong other than the whole frame is rusted.. driving on a main road in town with my little girl in the car I lost control luckily I have a 5 speed I was able to down shift to slow down before hitting the breaks I pulled off the road to find the stabilizer bar detached. The amount of rust and rot on the frame, any welder and mechanic that looked at it said it is not worth repairing because of the winters we have it will just fall apart again. This needs to be a recall there are so many people out there with the same problem as me and many of us carry our children in the vehicle.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #3

Oct 302009


  • 143,353 miles
The car was driven away from a gas station, and with no warning, it began to weave all over the road. Upon inspection, it was discovered that the driver's side control arm separated from the frame, due to serious rust. The control arm attaches to the rear axle, and is welded to the lower side of the frame in front of the rear wheel. The corrosion was so severe at that point, that the bracket separated from the frame. This causes the rear axle to move, resulting in the car steering with the rear wheels. This condition makes it extremely difficult to control the car. The car was towed home. A few weeks later, it was towed to a body shop for an estimate. The owner inspected the car, and said that it would be difficult to repair, and estimated the cost at $3,200. The car has not been repaired, and is not drivable. I purchased this car new in 2001, and have always garaged it and maintained it properly. The body, drivetrain, and interior are in excellent condition, but the car is sitting in the driveway, because it is unsafe, and I cannot afford to repair it at this point.

- Haddam, CT, USA

problem #2

May 012008

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle began to swerve. The trailing arm on the rear axle of the frame disconnected from the frame. The contact noticed that the frame was rusted and rotted all the way through to the point of disconnection. He called the manufacturer corporate offices and was informed that the vehicle was beyond its manufacturer warranty due to the mileage. The current and failure mileages were 110,000. Updated 06/09/2008. Updated 06/09/08

- Leicester, MA, USA

problem #1

May 152001


  • miles
Steering wheel makes loud vibration noise when turning to left or making left turns. Vehicle been to dealer on several occasions, and problem still reoccurring. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Palm Habor, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?