Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension: Rear Problems

2001 Isuzu Rodeo (Page 1 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
95,652 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

May 012012

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that there was a noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop, where they stated that the front and rear tie rods and wheel bearings were defective. The mechanic also discovered that the underbody of the frame was corroded, especially on the driver's side. The mechanic refused to make any repairs. The failure was related to the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension: Rear); however the manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included. The approximate failure and current mileages were 117,000. Updated 8/23/12 the consumer stated there was a slow leak on the front passenger side tire. There was also a slow leak on the rear driver's side tire since the purchase of the vehicle. Updated 09/06/2012

- Mattapan, MA, USA

problem #52

Apr 102012

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,684 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While traveling 30 mph, the contact noticed that the rear of the vehicle had fallen to the ground, causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and no repairs have been made. The current and failure mileages were 107,684. Updated 06/05/12 NHTSA recall number 10V436000. Updated 06/06/2012

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #51

Dec 072011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that there was a loud bang from the rear driver side of the vehicle. The vehicle began to maneuver toward the left side of the highway. A local mechanic diagnosed that the leaf spring separated from the vehicle due to rusting. The vehicle was deemed non-repairable. The manufacturer was notified, but denied any assistance with repairs to the defect. The failure and the current mileage was 111,000. Updated 02/28/12 the requested the dealer to perform the rear suspension recall. Recall # 10V436000. Updated 03/21/12

- Canadensis, PA, USA

problem #50

Aug 012002

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


The Isuzu recall is bogus the lower link is ok, it is the frame that is falling apart. Corrosion is everywhere on the frame this is not acceptable as owners we should be compensated for risking the lives of our loved ones. The consumer stated there is excessive corrosion in the vicinity of the forward mounting bracket for the left and right rear suspension lower link. The consumer stated the vehicle was deemed beyond repair. The consumer referenced recall 10V436000. Updated 09/29/11

- Valencia, PA, USA

problem #49

Apr 042011

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • miles
Issue is with a safety recall # 10V-436 excessive corrosion of frame and bracket which mine is in very bad condition on 04/04/11 I brought my vehicle to rothrock motors for a diagnose. The service manager also called Isuzu 877-460-0706 as well with no response for a remedy. In the meantime my car has not been drivable due to this condition and have had to arrange transportation daily for 3 months due to the fact they are unwilling to rent me a car while this process is solved which I believe they should buy back the vehicle as the service advisor from rothrock motors stated to me when the car was inspected and is noted on the invoice # iscs839275 "vehicle has more damage to frame awaiting response from Isuzu" this is my case # 11143015 for this recall. Any help in resolving this matter is appreciated I have been inconvenienced far too long through no fault of my own due to this failure. Consumer E-mailed pictures. 07/07/11

- Binghamton, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #48

Jun 202011

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
Driving thru parking lot around 20mph when a loud noise heard from rear of vehicle, vehicle became impossible to steer.

- Michigan, MI, USA

problem #47

Nov 012010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 201,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that after having his vehicle inspected by an independent mechanic they advised him that the entire sub-frame was covered with rust. He was also advised him not to drive the vehicle due to the severe corrosion. He later received a recall notice in regards to NHTSA campaign id number 10V436000(suspension:rear). His concern was that the bracket was connected to the rusted frame which should also be included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were approximately 201,000. Updated 07/21/11 the rear frame was completely rotted out due to rust and corrosion. Updated 09/16/11

- Montville, ME, USA

problem #46

Apr 142011


  • 152,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear). After repairs, the vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop for state inspection where the contact was informed that the vehicle was unsafe and would not pass inspection due to severe frame rust and corrosion. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed the vehicle was safe to drive. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 152,000. The VIN was not available.

- Grafton, MA, USA

problem #45

Apr 072011


  • 150,000 miles
My husband was leaving the house, when he pulled away the frame, not the lower link bracket broke. The bolts were still in place. The frame is so rotted he was able to push his finger through it more than a foot away from the lower link bracket. They (Isuzu) has decided to scrap my 2001 Rodeo, I bought it in October 2010, a month after the recall (which I knew nothing about and still have not received a letter of recall) for the price of $5000. This vehicle should not have been on the lot to be sold. Isuzu should have gotten them off the road. Now they are only offering $1500 for it. I am forced to take it, because I am unable to go without a car, being a 1 car family, and money is tight. I have to take this offer to pay on the car I had to go buy to replace my Rodeo, which is wonderful condition with the exception of the frame, that is not covered in this recall. The wrong parts are being recalled and we as consumers are being forced to take extremely to little for our cars.

- South Point, OH, USA

problem #44

Aug 242010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 145,440 miles
On August 24, 2010 I was making a right turn from a parking lot, I heard a very loud noise and bang from my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo pulled off to the side of road. That's when I noticed the drivers side rear control arm had separated from the frame.since that time I have followed all of Isuzu's requests for a remedy and now waiting for them to buyback my truck. I'm just now filing complaint because of what I've read online about their absurd buyback offers and them requesting consumers to fill out a W9 form, when the offers a @ a considerable loss to what we Rodeo owners originally paid. And the fact they (Isuzu) knows darn right well the cause of the defect is that bad metal was used to build the frames, not the suspension to cause the recall.

- Northborough, MA, USA

problem #43

Apr 012011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles


While driving the vehicle the rear suspension broke causing the vehicle to swerve into oncoming traffic. Luckily there was no accident and the vehicle was towed to a friends home until we could determine what needed to be done. I had known about the recall since late December but was unable to get the vehicle in to be checked that quickly. The closest repair facility was 95 miles away from where I lived. Bill colwell Ford in hudson, Iowa was contacted and the vehicle was towed from my friends home. An attempt to repair was made but it was later determined it would not be possible. I have waited for Isuzu to contact me for over a week regarding a repurchase remedy for this issue. I have contacted Isuzu as well as the service manager at bill colwell Ford, and Isuzu is holding up the process. I am paying payments and insurance on a salvage vehicle which doesn't seem fair. I am greatly concerned they will attempt to undervalue my vehicle if they ever get that far in the process. I am without a vehicle and I am extremely angry that more isn't being done to help.

- Dows, IA, USA

problem #42

Apr 202011


  • 118,900 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that she received a recall in regards to NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear). After having the repairs done and then taking the vehicle through inspection, she was advised that her that the vehicle failed due to severe rusting and holes on the frame. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was approximately 118,900.

- Berlin, NH, USA

problem #41

Feb 272011


  • 72,359 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle began to sway back and forth. While slowing down to inspect the vehicle, the bracket broke causing the contact to drive into oncoming traffic. The drivers side rear tire also began to shake. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer who stated that there was too much structural damage on the frame to be fixed according to recall 10V436000 (suspension:rear). The contact called the manufacturer who authorized that the vehicle be towed to the dealer. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current mileage was 73,359. The failure mileage was 72,359.

- New Lexington, OH, USA

problem #40

Mar 222011


  • miles
I have a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo it had a recall for a bracket which was repaired at marty's GMC in kingston MA 781-936-0079. I have just received a call from the service dept that the car is ready but is still danderous to drive as the frame is all rotted, but is not there problem they are only getting paid for the bracket. Please look into this recall before someone gets killed

- East Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #39

Mar 082011


  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibit severe corrosion of the frame. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and because the contact did not feel safe driving the vehicle, it was then towed to the dealer for repairs. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was not repairable. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that they would repurchase the vehicle from the contact but the process would take weeks. The contact was disconcerted because he believed that the repairs listed in the recall were beyond a reasonable amount of time. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 118,000.

- Granby , MA, USA

problem #38

Apr 012010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Isuzu Rodeo. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall for left and right rear suspension arms the consumer stated she did not receive the recall until after she had already paid for the repairs. The consumer was informed that since she paid cash and her husband who owns a repair shop made the repairs, there was no verification as to what was really done.

- Eden, NY, USA

problem #37

Mar 012011


  • miles
2001 Isuzu Rodeo. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall repairs cost the consumer stated she recently had to have the rear bumper reinforced which she was sure was attached to the frame. The consumer stated she has tried to get Isuzu to honor the recall, but they rejected the claim by stating the safety recall was specific in relating to the frame only.

- Angola, NY, USA

problem #36

Feb 142011


  • miles
2001 Isuzu Rodeo. Consumer writes in regards to a rotted away frame the consumer stated a portion of the frame became detached from the vehicle. The consumer stated a recall was issued regarding the problem. The consumer was informed the part would not be available until July 1st.

- Durham, CT, USA

problem #35

Feb 012011


  • miles
Letter from congressman on behalf of constituent regarding her 2001 Isuzu Rodeo; she would like Isuzu to be responsible for the rusted frame and offer an acceptable buyback. The consumer stated her son was driving the vehicle, when suddenly he was unable to control it. The consumer had the vehicle towed to her local mechanic who informed her that the frame had rusted and cracked and it would not pass inspection. The consumer discovered there was recall on the brackets attaching the axle to the frame. Isuzu had the vehicle towed to a local dealership. Upon their inspection of the vehicle, the vehicle could not be repaired under the recall due to the severity of the rust and the frame being cracked. The consumer was verbally offered 3,000 as a courtesy and gave her three days to accept or decline. The consumer stated she did agree to the offer, but has not pursued it further.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #34

Feb 012011

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Isuzu Rodeo. Consumer writes in regards to a defective frame the consumer stated as she was having another service performed, the mechanic informed her the vehicle was not safe to drive. The consumer contacted the manufacturer and was informed there was a recall, but it had not been made public. The consumer stated she finally received a recall letter and the vehicle was towed to the dealer who kept the vehicle for 54 days. The consumer stated she was under the impression, the vehicle was going to be repaired, but the dealer only placed two brackets on the vehicle and did not replace the frame. The consumer was quoted an extremely high price for replacing the frame.

- South Charleston, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?