Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,110 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Kia Optima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Kia Optima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Kia Optima Owner Comments

problem #2

Mar 132006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,720 miles


2002 Kia Optima LX, VIN#: [xxx] w/ approximately 55,000 miles. My first warranty claim: The replacement of my timing belts. On 9/1/2006, my car stalled while driving. I had a tow truck my car to the service center where I bought my car, bronx automotive group Inc. D/B/a, Toyota of the bronx. The manager aggi saratis ended up in an dispute with the tow truck drivers regarding acknowledgment warranty and advised the tow truck driver to remove the vehicle from his premise. My car was towed to the nearest available service shop. The repair was a replacement of the timing belt. My vehicle had 51,720 miles at the time of repair. The timing belt is under warranty up to 60,000 miles. I paid the total invoice from bronxdale auto repair center in the amount of $603.40. I faxed a copy of the invoice to the service manager on 9/7/2006. I have two witnesses, tow truck drivers, who will confirm that the service team was unprofessional.a tech made a comment to me stating "I do not spend any money here" so why would I expect to claim any warranty. I disagree.I paid for this car! my second warranty claim is the replacement of my transmission.on 3/10/2006, I brought my car to service because my car could not maneuver in vehicle at the time had 45,147 miles. On 3/13/2006, service advised me that the entire transmission needed replacement and since they have no service records, this would not be claimed as a warranty.I decided to go back to my mechanic and after further inspection, additional work needed to be done.the invoice total was $1,920.40. My mechanic further advised me that this vehicle has a product quality defect on the torque converter. In fact, there is over a page and a half of technical service bulletins items!I never received any notice of a recall. I have never had a warranty acknowledged and I feel that the service team is highly unprofessional and unskilled.considering that I have had these problems before 60,000 miles is suspicious.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #1

Dec 312005

Optima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,500 miles
Kia motors of America Inc. Ref: VIN# knagd12693513835 complaint case number K1056698 formal complaint against Kia motors of America Inc. Not honoring parts and labor warranty & unscrupulous business practices. The timing belt for 2002 Kia optimum serviced a year to the day it left me on the road side. It was new years eve the car broke down. New years holiday weekend service department folger Kia of charlotte nc closed. Unable to reach them until Tuesday January 3rd, 2006, returned holiday weekend. Told warranty expired December 31st, 2005. That my warranty for the parts & labor would not be guaranteed. Please see the original receipt dated December 31st, 2004 exactly 365 days from when the exact same problem occurred. Bank statement shows my check card cleared $601.87 on January 3rd 2005. I was instructed all parts & labor would be honored for one year. I returned the car to folger Kia on February 22nd 2005 concerns the cars timing may have been improperly set. On the invoice that I was concerned that the RPM's were over their original settings by 1000 RPM. No mention of test drive to diagnose problem listed on invoice December 31st, 2004. Technician stated all readings were normal. This may have contributed to the premature wear & breaking of timing belt. I was instructed January 3rd, 2006 by jeffrey stephens to contact the Kia corporate headquarters. Where I was told that gus the service manager folger Kia's requested to honor my parts & labor was declined by a Mr. Bob strickland. Kia motors of America Inc., their customer note folger Kia accepted my money on January 3rd 2005. The car was waiting at the dealership for them to service on Monday 01-02-2006 with the same problem. Had my local folger Kia been open for business on the evening of December 31st,2005 my car would have been towed their. I would appreciate if you would look in to the matter. Susanne farrar 12016 alabaster court charlotte, nc 28269 704-488-8039.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?