Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Optima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Optima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Optima Owner Comments

problem #2

Dec 052007

Optima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,033 miles


Ref the two previous complaints first. #10170291 & 10208029. This is the 3rd complaint on our 2006 Kia Optima LX. On 11/5/07 a new tensioner and drive belt were replaced. This made the 4th attempt to repair the same pulleys & belts system. The problem began @ mileage 5033 in Sept 2006. Aprox 16,500 mileage and the problem continues and appears to be getting worse. On 12/5/2007 I took the car to dealership #113211 with same problem. Loud belt squeal at start up and constant chirp while driving. I was given a written receipt that stated the dealership drove the car 5 miles and heard a "slight chirp" coming from the belt area. Tech asst was called and the dealership was advised not to attempt repairs until a "platform manager" was contacted and spoke to service manager. It was put in writing that the car had no drivable issues or safety concerns and released to the owner. I expressed strong concern to the service manager about our reservations driving a car with the pulleys & belts system making such noises. I also explained that we were going out of state on 12/7/07 and would be traveling I-65 South from indianapolis, late at night and without a cell phone. We traveled with the car in the current state of disrepair. The problem has increased. I have expressed this to the dealership on 12/12/07. Since the car was released to me on 12/5/2007, I have heard nothing from the dealership. I have sent a certified letter requesting the car be repaired. The parts put in the car ON11/5/2007 are under warranty. Today is 12/19/2007 and I have still not been contacted by Kia or the dealership. If the pulleys & belts system fails we I will be left on the road & I do not carry a cell phone. If the car is repaired again this will make the 5th attempt to repair the same problem and the car qualifies for the in lemon law. I have consulted the consumer action handbook which is free to the public and has resources for consumers to involve agencies who take care of these problems for us.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #1

Nov 282007

Optima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,948 miles
On 11/05/07 our 2006 Kia Optima LX was taken is the shop for a fifth time since a squealing noise had appeared again. The car has now had 2 tensioners and three drive belts replaced as of 11/5/2007. I strongly expressed to dealer # 113211 that I wished to have the in state lemon law applied due to the fact a reasonable amount of attempts had been made to repair a nonconformity per ic 24-5-13-10. I was told by the shop manager at dealer 113211, that the car is in working condition after the reaper and the lemon law does not apply to a car that is good working order. I was instructed to let the dealer know if the problem returned. On 11/26/07 the squealing returned. I spoke with Kia, I was instructed to take the car to the dealer. I requested a Kia rep be present. I was told a rep would not be available until Jan.08. I requested the dealer to diagnose the car and stop at that point so a decision could be made regarding the in lemon law. I was told by the dealer that unless I sign a repair order to have the car fixed, it can not be diagnosed per Kia policy. I was told I had two options. Sign and allow the squeal to be diagnosed and repair if under warranty or not leave the car. I have taken the car out of service as on 11/28/07 with 15,974 miles. It is in my garage. I have sent this matter to the in atty gen office for review.this is the 3rd complaint filed on this car, please ref #10170291 & #10208029 also. It is my understanding that if a tensioner or drive belt fail during operation, I will be left stranded. I do not own or carry a cell phone. I bought a new 2006 car for dependability.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?