Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,992 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Kia Rondo seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Kia Rondo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Kia Rondo Owner Comments

problem #14

Feb 092016


  • 163,500 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Kia Rondo. While driving 40 mph, the air bag light remained illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 163,500.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 182015


  • 77,800 miles
Brought my car to Kia dealership upon re-call 6/2012 to replace clock spring assembly. 12/28/2015 - brought car to same Kia dealership and found that the clock spring assembly had to be replaced again since the air bag light continues to stay on. Called Kia same day to let them know that the assembly had to be replaced and that they should be responsible for payment. They stated that it was not under warranty and since the dealership replaced the original assembly during the re-call, I would have to pay the cost for the defective assembly that was replaced during re-call with the newly installed assembly on 12/29/2015. I believe it is the Kia corporations responsibility to absorb payment for the defective clock spring assembly that controls deployment of the driver side air bag. I will have to pay $271 plus tax in order for the dealership to release my car. I should be reimbursed by Kia Corp for the defective part and labor that was needed to replace the assembly. Interesting, they wouldn┐T allow me to take their survey to rate their service! will also take this matter to the better business bureau!

- North Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jun 102012


  • 62,000 miles
Takata recall. I don't know enough about vehicle airbags to know if my problem is part of the takata recall. However, I've learned that Kia did issue a recall for an airbag problem with the Rondo (# SC094). Unaware of this recall, I brought my Kia to the Kia dealer when my airbag light illuminated. It's possible that the date was prior to the Kia recall. The Kia dealer told me that I must pay out of pocket for any investigation of the cause of the airbag light illuminating due to the expiration of the 60,000 mile warranty on the vehicle. To this day, the airbag light is still illuminated. I'm not certain of the exact date that I notified the Kia dealer.

- West Forks, ME, USA

problem #11

Nov 182014


  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Kia Rondo. The contact stated that while driving approximately at 40 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the diagnosis was unknown. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under a recall related to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #10

Nov 202014

Rondo 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Vehicle was taken to premiere Kia of kenner, and also contacted kca/irvine 7:40am call; issue car sputters when gas pedal applied; car does not start after fueling, requires multiple starts; car stalled twice on hwy Nov. 20, 2014 issues began. Kia dealer representative refused service of NHTSA campaign recall # 08V459000 recall date Sept. 17, 2008, subsequently contacted Kia Consumer Affairs in irvine, ca. Call center the phone call outcome csr stated would contact the local district manager for approval of recall would expedite process, csr stated would contact local dm within two hours and get back; received denial letter in mail. Recalls shows 6,680 "potential units affected for this recall 08V459000 fuel pump sub assembly, whereas campaign recall # 12V014000 shows 145,755 units affected for ?airbag clock spring assembly? and recall # 13V114000 shows 623,658 units affected for ?stop lamp switch may function intermittently.? on the surface seems Kia is only including full recalls for vehicles only if it poses the least financial harm to the corporate company profit as shown in the number of recalls of ?easy to fix? issues but those such as the fuel pump assembly have the least amount of issued recalls representing a negligible amount of total vehicles. Is Kia sacrificing safety for profit with these corporate decisions? Kia has denied a recall of the same issues that my vehicle is experiencing as stated in the recall bulletin: ?the fuel pump may not supply enough fuel to the engine, causing hard starting, engine hesitation, or other potential impairment. Unusually severe hesitation or other impairment could expose the driver to the risk of a crash. Dealers will replace the fuel pump sub-assembly with an updated part." Kia has neglected to resolve faulty issue. Please advise Kia to rectify the situation by repairing the faulty fuel pump assembly.

- Kenner, LA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Dec 232014


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Kia Rondo. While driving approximately 35 mph, another vehicle crashed into the passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained minor injuries to the head, the eye, and the left side of his face that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 12V014000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #8

Nov 122013


  • 33,122 miles


Husband driving, car stopped suddenly, he hit brakes, brakes failed, and rear ended car in front, who then hit car in front, who then hit car in front. 1 or 2 people injured and was taken to hospital. We are sore, but will survive. Was recall on part that was replaced, faulty brake light switch. Switch was replaced in Sept. 2013 and accident was 11-12-13. Had mechanic checked and codes C1513 and C1616 came up. Have been told this could have caused brake failure. Concerned that a part that was replaced one month before accident, had failed again. People will be injured or worse killed because of this problem. Been speaking to man in Canada via internet, who has exact same vehicle, same year, same make, who also had brake failure. Spoke with Kia, they refuse to do anything. Please do something about this before others are injured.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #7

Apr 262013

Rondo 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I was broadsided on the passenger side at a busy intersection. The air bag cover on the passenger side popped off and hit me (the driver) in the head. The air bags on the front and back passenger's side fell out but did not deploy. The driver's side did not deploy at all. The air bags were less than worthless, they were a dangerous flying object.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #6

Feb 032013

Rondo 4-cyl

  • 65,464 miles
While driving my car the air bag light came on and the passenger side of the car where the other air bag light car flashing. I took the car into the dealer and was told that the airbag censor in the seat track needed to be replaced. Due to this problem none of my air bags work. I am concerned since they have had one recall on their airbags that this is something that should further be checked into.

- Lockport, IL, USA

problem #5

Nov 262011

Rondo 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I was involved in 2 separate vehicle collisions in my 2008 Kia Rondo on 2 separate occasions. I was sitting in the stopped vehicle when another vehicle crashed into the passenger's side door/rear of the vehicle. The second vehicle was traveling at an unknown speed upon impact. The air bags failed to deploy on both occasions. As a result, I sustained neck and back injuries. The vehicle was drivable and not towed, but driven to a dealer/private mechanic. The failure could not be replicated. The air bags were not repaired or recalled at time of either incident/accident. The air bag light illuminated after first accident and was on at time of second accident. The dealer/manufacturer was contacted about this issue and I was advised there was no air bag recall at this time. The vehicle was repaired for structural damages caused by the accident. The vehicle was turned into the dealer/private mechanic. Physical therapy was obtained through the accident claims.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #4

Jun 062011

Rondo 6-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2008 Kia Rondo. The contact was sitting in the parked vehicle when another vehicle crashed into the passenger's side door of the contact's vehicle. The second vehicle was traveling at an unknown speed upon impact. The contact stated that the air bags failed to deploy. As a result, the contact sustained head, arm, neck and ankle injuries. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue and advised the contact to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 12V244000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The manufacturer also advised that they would contact her at a later date but failed to do so. The failure and current mileages were unavailable. Updated 12/13/12 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired for damges caused by the accident. The vehicle was turned into the dealer. The consumer was having thought processing issues that was not a problem prior to the accident. Updated 1/2/2013

- East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #3

Dec 192009


  • miles
Single-car accident; rollover, 2008 Kia Rondo declared a total loss by insurance co.; safety features included electronic stability control; 6 airbags including side/head curtain and not one deployed - I suffer from approx 6" lesion with partial skull showing (16 staples) to left side of head from the sideroof slammed into me; I was wearing a seatbelt and it saved my life - glass exploded everywhere, I have severe whiplash and concussion.

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #2

Nov 202009


  • 34,000 miles
Rear ended another car at 35 mph and air bags did not go off. The seat belt never caught either throwing driver into steering wheel.

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #1

Apr 152009


  • 10,000 miles
Airbag and passenger seatbelt warning lights remain on at all times. The car has been in for service several times, but the problem has not been corrected. The warning lights are only a minor nuisance, but I was told that when the light is on, the airbag is inoperable and would not deploy in an accident.

- New Woodstock, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?