Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,825 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Kia Sedona seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Kia Sedona Owner Comments

problem #19

Apr 012014


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Kia Sedona. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle crashed into a deer and caused significant damage to the front end. During the crash, the air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Fairview Heights, IL, USA

problem #18

Dec 272014


  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while in park and starting the vehicle, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 132,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #17

Mar 202015

Sedona 6-cyl

  • miles
The air bag light cam on and is still on. This air bag needs to be replaced....updated 11/04/15

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #16

Mar 132015


  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the air bag deployed independently. As a result, the windshield shattered. The contact sustained two broken fingers that required medical attention. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Bloomington , IL, USA

problem #15

Nov 172014


  • 101,934 miles
My airbag lite has been turning off and on at different Lite turns on and is on for about 15 to 20 seconds then turns off. Now, 11/17/2014 when I started to drive it, the light went on and has stayed on ever since when the ignition is on. I wanted to take it to the dealership where I purchased the car new but they are out of business. Today on fox news I head where they are having some trouble with seat belts on different cars. Would like to know what I should do. I love the car and want to keep it. I haven't had any problem with it. It has been great!! please advise me what I should do. Thank you. Respectfully, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Daleville, IN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jan 312014

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
I bought a used 2003 Kia Sedona with 136000 miles. The day after purchasing the vehicle, the SRS indicator light started staying lit on the dash. My mechanic found that the code was B1513, which indicated a problem with the passenger seat belt buckle (female end). They ordered that part new from Kia and replaced it (for a cost of $238). The indicator light did not display for about three weeks when it went on again. This time, the codes were B1511 and B1513, which indicates problems with both the diver and passenger buckles. My mechanic believes it is a wiring issue, and at this point we are not replacing the seatbelts, because I have no way of knowing that it would really resolve the issue. The cost to replace the SRS wiring is prohibitive (over $1000). I feel very unsafe in this vehicle, as no one can say for sure that my airbags will still deploy in case of an accident. It is very disappointing because the vehicle still drives very well. Kia should be more proactive about replacing/repairing faulty SRS components, even in older vehicles.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #13

Feb 072013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles


SRS light stays-on caused by broken seat-belt buckle wiring under passenger and driver seats. Buckle sensor wiring is vulnerable to shearing and damage as any of both seats is adjusted back and forth. New parts cost more than $300, plus labor. After repairs, the SRS can be reset only at the dealership ($120 min, additional). This is a manufacturer design flaw.

- Belleville , NJ, USA

problem #12

Jul 052006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the seat belt on the passenger"S side third row seat seized and would not release the passenger. The seat belt had to be cut from around the passenger. In addition, the contact stated that the seat belt for the third row seat on the driver"S side recently failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the seat belt. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 100,000. Updated 06/06/12 the consumer has stated that only the first seat belt was replaced not the second. The air bag light its on. Updated 06/07/12

- St Joseph, MO, USA

problem #11

Sep 162010


  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that she fell asleep behind the wheel while driving at an unknown speed, which resulted in the vehicle crashing into a tree. The contact struck the front windshield and sustained severe head injuries. The contact's seat belt was secured and when her body lunged forward, the seat belt webbing movement caused burns to the shoulder and chest area. The air bags failed to deploy upon impact. A police report was available. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- Glen Allen, AL, USA

problem #10

Mar 132009


  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Kia Sedona. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag indicator illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they changed the seat belt buckles on the driver and passenger seats. There was an inner connection with the circuits, which caused the air bag indicator to illuminate. The failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 05/06/09. Updated 05/07/09.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #9

Jul 142004


  • 12,000 miles


In July 2004 a person ran a stop sign, I completely drove into her whole passengers side with the front end of my 2003 Kia Sedona. I also had my 2 year old son in the car at the time. The air bags did not deploy which was a concern to the emergency personnel that responded to the scene. I sustained neck injury that later had to have surgery to correct and my son who was in his safety seat in the rear also sustained burn injury from his safety seat harness. I contacted Kia after the accident and was told that there was no way to test the air bags unless they deployed them. Needless to say they would not do this. Again in August 2005 another driver ran a stop sign and again I hit them with full front end to their drivers side. Again the air bags did not deploy causing concern with the emergency personnel. I still continue to have pain from my 2004 accident and I am still in the process of trying to recoup some of my losses. (wages, medical, time with my son).I can't even begin to list the loss I have that will never be recouped. Someone needs to check into this, it seems to me after reading all these complaints about the air bags that something is wrong. I have all the police reports, estimates and pictures.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #8

Mar 292008


  • 60,000 miles
Air bags failed to deploy and in my 2003 Kia Sedona van accident, I was almost killed. I am still under the care of several doctors because of problems which developed from the accident. This has become a huge financial burden due to numerous medical bills. I can obtain a copy of the accident report if you would like to have it. I think Kia should have to assume the responsibility for huge amounts of medical bills since safety equipment apparently did not work properly. I would appreciate hearing from you. Thank you for your time. Betty dickerson

- Iron City, GA, USA

problem #7

May 102008

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Driving a 2003 Kia Sedona approximately 35 mph when a car made a left turn right in front of us. We hit them almost head on, then were thrown to the right, up over a curb and came to rest against a brick wall. My husband was driving, he sustained cuts to his forehead when he struck the windshield, and yes, we were both properly belted in. He also broke the steering wheel, leaving bruises on his chest. I was in the front passenger seat and sustained a fractured right radois and a fractured left femur, both required surgery to put in plates and screws. I spent a week in the hospital;, another week in a rehab hospital before being allowed to return home. I am now in a wheelchair for the next 3 months, while undergoing physical therapy and need daily assistance to get by.. none of the airbags on my 2003 Kia Sedona deployed during the accident. The other vehicle, I believe it may have been a Toyota, had all their bags deploy. The firefighters on the scene were astounded that none of the bags deployed. The car was totaled by our insurance carrier, state farm.

- Janesville, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 012007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,283 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Kia Sedona. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle failed to brake at a safe distance. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times to replace the brake pads and the rotor. The dealer stated that the contact is driving the vehicle improperly and causing the brakes to wear out. The contact stated that the air bag indicator does not appear on the dashboard. The current mileage is 100,000 and failure mileage was 96,283.

- Yord, PA, USA

problem #5

Oct 242006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,853 miles
: the contact stated the air bag warning light illuminated constantly while the engine was running. The vehicle was taken to a private repair shop, where the mechanic was unable to determine the problem.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #4

Apr 232005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
On April 23 2005 the front end of my 2003 Kia Sedona hit a Ford Explorer. This accident caused $9,000 in damage to my Kia and sent myself, my husband, and my 2 year old daughter to the hospital. My airbags did not go off, and no one seemed to know why. I would like this investigated.

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 042004


  • miles
SRS light appeared on the dashboard and remained on until vehicle was turned off. Consumer took vehicle to dealer for inspection, and mechanic told consumer that parts were on back order.

- Crows Landing, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 212003

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at 45 mph consumer was involved a front and rear accident and neither of the air bags deployed. The consumer was trying to avoid being hit by another vehicle. When she swerved, the vehicle got to close to the guardrail so she pulled to the right. At that point, the vehicle started to skid and fishtail. Consumer couldn't regain control. The vehicle spun around and hit the guardrail with the front of the vehicle. Then the vehicle bounced across the expressway and hit the guardrail with the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle then bounced back across the expressway and finally stopped. The consumer sustained an orbital fracture. The air bags fail to deploy. Mechanic stated the air bags should've deployed.

- Smallwood, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 182003


  • 4,600 miles
While driving at 55 mph vehicle spun out of control and hit a semi tractor trailor and air bags did not deploy.

- Springfield, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?