If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

4.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,837 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Sedona brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Sedona Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 292011

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that when the brake was applied, the vehicle would shake violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer replaced the rotors, but the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact to take the vehicle back to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 1/20/12 updated 03/05/12

- Warba, MN, USA

problem #11

Feb 182011

Sedona

  • miles
We own a 2006 Kia Sedona, purchased used. The esc and ABS indicators on the dash go on randomly on a regular basis. We have not addressed it yet with the dealer. Once the car is turned off and on again, the indicator goes away, but will eventually come back on.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #10

May 052009

Sedona

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. Upon starting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the headlights and turn signals were inoperative. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the headlights were replaced. The failure continued approximately 15 times. After each failure, the contact either replaced the lights herself or had them replaced at a local repair shop. The contact also began to hear scraping noises whenever she applied the brakes. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the brakes were replaced twice. The contact also stated that the steering wheel shook while she was driving approximately 65 mph. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000 and the current mileage was 56,453.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #9

Apr 102008

Sedona

  • 25,318 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front end failure of sway bar links on my 2006 Kia Sedona mini van. We bought the van in Sept of 2007 as a used van with about 20,000 miles on it. At 25,138 miles the sway bar links were replaced. I just had my own garage do them again with 41,971 miles on it. These should last longer than 17,000 miles. I also had it at the dealer for a shimmy in the front end and they replaced both front axles. We are still experiencing a shimmy at times. The right side sub frame bushings were replaced at 32,268 miles. Then at 33,367 miles it was back into the shop for the left rear subframe bushings. The date of that repair was 11/23/09. They informed me that the rear brakes were not working and all rusted up. I advised them not to do the work because I could do it myself and that it was not covered under warranty. I replaced both rear rotors, pads, and both calipers because they were all rusted. Our factory warranty ends at the end of the year and I have great concerns that I will be putting alot of money into a junk front end. We did have it at the shop for one recall notice for a possible faulty brake switch that could not shut off the cruise control. On 8/14/09 with 34,324.

- Great Barrington, MA, USA

problem #8

Jul 232010

Sedona

  • 64,000 miles
Problems: Air bag light on again. Has been repaired by dealer several times. Ac does not blow cold continually and has been repaired several times. New compressor, additional freon, etc. Horn malfunctioning again. Transmission problem - the vehicle "bangs or slams" when you come down a hill to a stop. When slowing down to a stop light it actually has a surge or acceleration. This vehicle only has 64000 on it and the brakes have been serviced several times (front and rear). Now when I am driving I get a terrible grinding feeling - and at a higher speed on the highway when you go to slow down faster it vibrates terribly. Also the braking is terrible at higher speeds. Also had problems with the actuator repair/replaced several times, horn not sounding properly, air bag light (repaired several times), cruise control issues (won't maintain speed - accelerates or decelerates), battery or electrical issues (told to replace battery which I did & paid for), headlight issues (have replaced lights several times), vibration on highway (new tires and tires have been rebalanced. Alignment done). After reviewing multiple websites on Kia reviews, these above items are very common experiences for Kia Sedona owners. I wanted to make you aware of these items since I feel that if consumers do not notify the authorities nothing will be corrected or known. I have really noticed in the last few months, almost immediately after passing the warranty mark, the vehicle has taken a turn for the worse and problems seem to be escalating.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #7

Oct 102009

Sedona

  • 50,000 miles
The brakes on my 2006 Kia Sedona is pulsing and shaking. This is especially true when going down hill and applying the brakes.

- Neenah, WI, USA

problem #6

Jun 202008

Sedona

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received recall notice, called to have part replaced and shop manager said he ordered parts but didn't know when or if they would come in, recall notice says we may be at risk for crash. This vehicle has had a lot of recalls plus cant keep brakes or rotors on it. Definatly a lemon. Will try to persuade anyone not to buy a Kia.

- Woodville, AL, USA

problem #5

Dec 012008

Sedona

  • miles
Kia Sedona 2006 minivan with rotor problem. Terrible grinding noises while braking, was told rotors and pads had to be replaced at only 11,000 miles of mostly highway driving. Then 9,000 miles later when noise/grinding/shuddering returned, told rotors again had to be replaced. Numerous other complaints online about this same problem in this vehicle but dealer and manufacturer refuse to acknowledge it!!

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #4

May 152008

Sedona

  • 16,000 miles
2006 Kia Sedona - front brake rotors replaced at 8000 miles due to warping, at 16000 miles front rotors again warped and require replacement. Not covered under manufacturer warranty because of more that 12 months since rotors were first replaced. This will now be the third set of front rotors on this vehicle in two years and less than 20,000 miles.

- Munhall, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 282006

Sedona

  • 125 miles
We have a 2006 Kia Sedona minivan and from the first we have had problems with the emergency brakes on this van. The problem is severe when the brakes are hot. When engaged the emergency brakes allow the van to roll backward down my driveway into the street. My driveway is on a steep incline and all my other vehicles have not had any problems with the emergency brakes holding them at the top of my driveway. My Sedona has had a problem and I have been told by dealership people that it holds while in the shop(on level ground) and that the systems is working as it should. The emergency brakes are getting worse. We are afraid that one day when it rolls back into the street it will hit a child who is in the vans blind spot. The Kia factory people lack the technical training to understand basic braking systems and their correct application & function. Emergency brakes are meant to hold on an incline to prevent the van from rolling which in my case the emergency brakes have failed to perform as required from the very first. Please help before a life is lost. Thank you william pasquale 631-588-4791.

- Lake Grove, NY, USA

problem #2

Dec 132007

Sedona

  • 16,602 miles
I am writing to make you aware of a possible defect in the 2006 model of the Kia Sedona which is a vital safety concern. The brake system has two flaws: 1.the brakes make a loud squealing noise when backing, especially down a hill or steep grade. This situation was addressed on four separate visits to the Kia service center in 2007. Those dates were September 20, October 26, November 17 and December 13. Each time, the service center stated that this is ┐normal noise associated with semi metallic brake pads┐. the service center did resurface the pads on the October 26, 2007 visit. The squealing was corrected for a short time, and then returned. It is still present to this day (July 10, 2008). I have never owned a vehicle that constantly has ┐normal┐ brake noise as stated by the Kia service center. This vehicle is only two years old and was purchased on May 22, 2006. 2. when decelerating and coming to a stop, the brakes will suddenly lose capture for a short moment. The pedal must be pressed harder at that point to continue stopping. This situation was addressed at the Kia service center on December 13, 2007. The service center technicians stated they were unable to duplicate the problem and no repairs were attempted. We sent a letter to Kia Consumer Affairs on November 20, 2007. A Kia representative did contact us to advise that they would not address our concerns any further. We were invited to take the vehicle back to the service center ┐again┐ should the problems continue. Vehicle in question: 2006 Kia Sedona ex 3.8 liter engine 6 cylinder, 5 speed automatic model# 64242 engine # G6S05842 color ┐ olive grey/beige interior Kia consumer assistance: Kia motors America, Inc. National Consumer Affairs manager P.O. Box 52410 irvine, ca 92619-2410 (800) 333-4542 Kia service center (local): 5500 N. keystone avenue indianapolis, in 46220 (888) 419-4536

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #1

Sep 272007

Sedona

  • miles
2006 Kia Sedona with serious safety issues. Passenger sliding door opens while driving, opens and closes and will not close all the way. Starter was replaced. Air bag light was looked at. Consumer says there are more problems. The rotors had to be replaced due them being out of round. Several parts within the door were replaced such as the cable and door switch assembly and door latch assembly. The vehicle accelerated unexpectedly. The rear sensors and rear caliper brake hose needed to be repaired.

- Ivoryton, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?