Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,448 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Kia Sedona body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Kia Sedona Owner Comments

problem #11

Feb 052013


  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the rear passenger door had not closed and the driver side door had not opened. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the doors needed grease and the indoor and exterior door handles needed to be replaced. The interior door handle inside the panel was greased and replaced; however, the issue recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Cliston Springs, NY, USA

problem #10

Feb 012011


  • 20,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the driver side sliding door did not open electronically or manually. The vehicle was taken to the dealer numerous times. The dealer replaced the door motor and the sliding mechanism; however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,800.

- Nokomis, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 302014


  • 66,785 miles
This mini-van has manual sliding doors. Since newly bought, the sliding doors have been difficult to open and close. One problem corrected under warranty eliminated the warning ding when under speed indicating a sliding door was ajar. Another corrected problem was the loose door handles caused in part B the amount of force passengers had to use to open the sliding door when not locked, like it was stuck shut. The current problem is the right (driver) side sliding door will not unlock at all, either through the key fob or by manually operating the inside lever to unlock the door. As it will not open, it is a serious safety flaw in that no one inside during a crash can exit through the door, and no one outside the minivan can open the door to free a trap child are infant. Kia has replaced one part which did not fix the problem, and now is replacing an electrical control box.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #8

Oct 102014

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


I own a 2008 Kia Sedona. The Sedona has/had a problem with the automatic open/close door electronics breaking. The left automatic door function stopped working and I received an estimate of nearly $1000 to repair. I have done research and found that the problem is well documented. I did not worry about the problem because I can still open the right door electronically. I have small children and it is very hard for them to open the sliding doors manually. It's hard for me to open the doors manually. Regardless, I am concerned about my kids not being able to exit the van from the left door if the right door, for whatever reason, is not an option. Kia should have taken care of this safety issue a long time ago.

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #7

Jul 222010

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 23,518 miles
Within 18 months of owning our Kia Sedona, the automatic sliding doors were not operating correctly. The doors would not close, and would remain open at all times. Including the original incident on July 22, 2010, we have brought the same van in a total of 6 times for inoperable doors (doors that would not remain in the closed position.) the dates are as follows: 7/22/10, 9/1/11, 8/1/12, 3/7/13, 8/27/13 and 6/16/14. We have had latches replaced, new control modules installed, new drive motor assemblies installed, but feel this is a very serious safety hazard. I have performed internet searches for similar instances, and I am clearly not alone in this regard. I have been charged for these various repairs, and do not believe that a possible defect in assembly or parts, which compromises my family's safety, should be my responsibility.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Jul 232013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 52,693 miles
My 2008 Kia Sedona (still under warranty since purchased in January 2009) continues to have an issue with the driver side sliding door opening and closing. Sometimes the door would not open/close entirely, would stop as it open/closes, or will not open at all electronically, only manually. Kia service department has been very diligent in attempting to fix the issue on two separate occasions. The first occasion, the service department could not replicate the issue. I went to pick the vehicle up and right away was able to show the service department the issue. They witnessed the issue and ordered a replacement part of which dealership replaced. Approximately 1 month later, the same issue with the same door surfaced again. This second time the dealership kept the vehicle for one week (Monday żż Friday, 9/23-9/27/2013) and replaced two more parts on the door. The issue still remains after three component replacements/repairs. Furthermore, the inside wall/casing from previous work on the driver sliding door is now coming apart and needs to be fixed. Additionally, the passenger sliding door showed one symptom of the same issue as the driver sliding door with opening and closing as well as very difficult to open when the pwr is turned off in the overhead console (more difficult than usual). Therefore there is concern the passenger sliding door is going to start experiencing the same issue as the driver sliding door. I have contacted Kia customer assistance center requesting Kia fix the issue to 100% operational and warranty the work/parts past the original vehicle warranty period at no cost to me. This issue is not isolated as the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) żż has record of at least 7 cases for Kia Sedona 2008 vehicles experiencing identical or similar issues with sliding doors just like my vehicle.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #5

Oct 042012


  • miles


Automatic sliding doors on both the driver and passenger side do not work properly. At times they do not open using the back seat button and/or using the console button. At other times the doors do not lock into place and caused the open door alarm to sound. In addition, the plastic casing on the wires in the door cracked and the wires were damaged during normal opening/closing of the doors. Both the wiring and the casing had to be replaced on both doors with no coverage by Kia.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #4

May 012012


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the sliding doors would open independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnose that the door power motors needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Shirley, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 152009

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The power sliding door on this vehicle has failed to operate, thus slamming shut and almost crushing my daughters hand in the door. This car has been brought to the dealership to be fixed at least 7 times, and it still fails to operate as it should. They claimed to have fixed it, but the problem continues. Now I am out of warranty and basically stuck with this issue.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #2

Jan 192009


  • 20,000 miles
Doors freeze shut. Can not open them when it is cold out side. Dealer has not been able to fix the problem.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 162010


  • 38,128 miles
The contact has a 2008 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the sliding doors continue to close even if person is in the way or if their hand is in the way. The contact stated that the door continued to close and smashed the finger of one of the passengers. The vehicle was parked at the time. The dealer stated that there is no standard feature for a sensor on the sliding door of the Kia vehicles. The failure mileage was38000 the current mileage was 38128. The VIN number was unavailable.

- Detroit, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?