Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Kia Spectra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Kia Spectra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Kia Spectra Owner Comments

problem #3

Jul 142009


  • 40,000 miles


My vehicle looses power, sputters, and hesitates when the accelerator is pressed. This has causes me to almost be in several accidents. The service dept cannot find a problem with my vehicle, but there is a problem that exists. I have filed several complaints with Kia motors and have had no response and they have refused to assist me with any other type of help with my vehicle. My vehicle is defective, but since Kia motors cannot find a problem, then they are claiming that there is nothing that can be done. This problem occurs at least once a day while driving when I am coming home from work and even on Sunday's when I am coming home from church. The service dept is always closed when this occurs so I can't take it in. This problem has been occurring with my vehicle for approx. 2 years and I have had no success is getting a resolution to my problem.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 152005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,804 miles
Problems began October 15, 2005 details of problems: 03/25/05 - A/C vents broken - dealer replaced "nozzle assy - ctr ai" 10/15/05 - check engine light is on - dealer states 'heater circuit malfunction' replaced "02 sensor assy" and reset codes 10/28/05 - check engine light is on and battery went dead (I had it jumped by aaa)- dealer cannot find problem 10/28/05 - emblem cracked on steering wheel - dealer states 'flaw in material' replaced driver side SRS bag 11/29/05 - check engine light is on - dealer states P0442 gas cap not sealing & P0455 canister not sealing - dealer replaces gas cap and canister, also orders new ECM 11/29/05 - dealer recalled: SC053 reprogram OCS seat control and SC055 Spectra air bag -dealer replaces items for recall 01/03/06 - check engine light is on - dealer states 'logic error in ECM - dealer replaced ECM 01/11/06 -check engine light is on - dealer states 'poor ground at ECM' was instructed by tech line to replace spark plugs; dealer repaired ground and replaced spark plugs 01/23/06 - engine light is on - dealer states problem at ECM - kept car for repairs 02/13/06 - dealer states that Spectra cannot be repaired at this time. They also state that another car with a similar problem has been sent back to Korea so that they can find the problem. Dealer's estimated time to repair my car 2 months from now (has been at dealer since 01/23/06 - 20 days) as stated by keith emmerman, Kia palmdale service manager. Mr. Emmerman also stated that I am required, as the Spectra owner, to come pick up my car un-repaired and drive it anyway. I have been told by the Kia dealership in palmdale, that the problem the Kia is having is in the computer. They do not know how to fix it and want me to drive it any way. The car has been in the shop several times for different problems and now 3 times for the ECM. Now they want me to pick up the car and drive it even though the problem has not been fixed and they don't know how to fix it.

- Quartz Hill, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 132006

Spectra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,150 miles
: the contact stated when the vehicle is idling, it idles low and then revs up on it's own. The dealership replaced the main solenoid in the transmission. The problem returned, and the dealership is unable to diagnose a problem. Also, two weeks after purchase, the check engine light illuminated. The dealership replaced the fuel sensor and this problem was repaired. The front passenger side window would not operate, up or down. The dealership determined the cable was unhooked and repaired it.

- Denmark, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?