Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.5

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,831 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Kia Sportage windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Kia Sportage:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Kia Sportage Owner Comments

problem #10

Sep 012001

Sportage

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Continual problems with 2001 Kia Sportage convertible. Replacement of brakes 5 times, replacement of belts 6 times and 14 other problems. The cup holder, convertible top, and belts were replaced. The alarm wires were re-adjusted, the ac compressor, ignition coil pack, cd player right rear axle, right front strut, catalytic converter, center console, rear window fuse, spark plug and engine harness were all replaced numerous times.

- Arnold, MD, USA

problem #9

Oct 152002

Sportage

  • Manual transmission
  • 35,488 miles
We had the transmission replaced in April of 2003 and the clutch replaced in April 2003. The clutch was not covered under warranty. We paid total cost $366.76. The transmission has now gone out again. The transmission is only 2 months old. This will be the 6th problem we have had with this car since October of 2002: (1) clutch switch Oct 2002 (2) exhaust manifold cracked Apr 2003 (3) passenger side front window would not go up Apr 2003 (4) transmission failure April 2003 (5) clutch failure April 2003 (6) transmission failure June 2003

- Eddy, TX, USA

problem #8

Apr 032004

Sportage

  • 32,824 miles
The last driver side window on the corner of the truck separated while driving and fell onto the highway.

- Muskegon Heights, MI, USA

problem #7

Feb 032004

(reported on)

Sportage

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For about a year now rear windows would not properly function. If the windows were all the way up there was no way to get them to go down. Also, front windshield wipers stopped operating.

- Yeadon, PA, USA

problem #6

Jan 072002

Sportage 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Left rear window stopped functioning within 2 months of purchasing car (november2001). Dealer replaced regulator/motor. Right window functions most of the time, but when I get ready to take to dealer it functions correctly. Both rear windows stopped functioning summer of 2003. Took to dealer & both regulators/motors were replaced. Gear shift is slipping between gear by itself. Took to dealer and was adjusted June 2003.

- Hague, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Mar 012003

Sportage

  • miles
The vehicles front power windows failed intermittently. Dealer notified.

- Jewett City, CT, USA

problem #4

Jul 012001

Sportage

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering wheel is peeling, I have had it replaced but the new one is doing the same thing. The window strips are all twisted up and make a roaring sound when I drive. I have had them replaced but they still roar. The dash rattles, but they didn't fix it. The rear windows do not roll down. The radio has static most of the time. It doesn't seem to want to go when I accelerate. It kind of sputters and then goes. The bands squeal bad. They have been replaced but they still squeal.

- Jasper, GA, USA

problem #3

Jan 192002

Sportage

  • miles
Speedometer malfuctioned/jumped at approx. 30mph to 40 mph then back down to 20 took back 3X. SUV shimmied at 60+ mph 3X's took back to dealer dealer replaced tires, electric back windows 3X's to dealer replaced twice, wiring assy-engine, coil ignition, conv. Assy-cat. Replaced (may have caused speedometer, windows etc to operate improperly. R/R main wire harness, R/R both cat convertors, R/R coil and spark plugs, repaired fuel injector wire harness. Vehicle idled at high RPM (SUV power surged to 80 mph, the slowest I could get the vehicle to go was 40mph and had to use the emergency brake. (throttle cable in wrong poss. At this time transmission is still slipping vehicle at dealership plus I am going through the lemon law and bbautoline. This is the 10 day limit. Kia has not been very hospitable about this situation, I do not feel safe in their vehicle.

- Eustis, FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 142001

Sportage

  • miles
Power windows in rear on both left and right have stop working from time to time.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 012001

Sportage

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Motor powered regulator windows have been replaced in vehicle 6 times since April 2001.

- Quincy, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?