Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,308 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Kia Sportage electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Kia Sportage:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Kia Sportage Owner Comments

problem #10

May 012016

Sportage

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" nothing new, same as this and many other complaints... component(s): Fuel system, gasoline fumes, air bags light stays on, hold light stays on, rust underneath the car, windows dont work, only back left door opens, ac dont work, will run hot if on. Consumer location: California all products associated with this complaint expand details close help manufacturer: Kia motors America summary: There is a very strong raw gas smell that permeates the cabin and outside the vehicle. It is very noticeable upon starting and when the vehicle is at rest and running. I have taken this vehicle to numerous mechanics to include the local Kia dealer to resolve the problem - new fuel filter, exhaust, etc. With no positive results. A search of the internet turned up a very common problem with the 99-02 Sportage gas tanks leaking due corrosion caused by poor design/material. I am filing this complaint in hopes that the NHTSA will conduct an investigation and recall of this make/model/yr vehicle to correct this very serious problem. This car has not been driven for over a yr.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #9

Feb 132010

Sportage

  • 85,000 miles
Coolant gauge not reading or registering thermostat temperature therefore rendering it unfit for clearing an inspection. It causes the check engine light to stay on even if coolant and/or thermostat, sensors, harness wiring wires and other things/parts connect to it has been replaced or checked for problems it still gives a false reading that the same problem is wrong with vehicle. Coolant thermostat not reaching temperature.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #8

Sep 252006

Sportage 4WD

  • 70,700 miles
I bought my Kia Sportage in 09/19/2006 by 9/25/2006 I started to hear squealing noises in front of the engine and when I first started it I would press the gas but the car would die. I brought it to the dealership about 5 times when they finally fixed it. Then I found out 3 weeks later in the rain that water was coming in the top left corner of the windshield. In 1/04/07 I wad headed to work and the car just suddenly die again so the dealership towed it back.

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #7

Sep 072004

Sportage 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving from 5 to 65 mph on a normal road conditions, all dash lights dimed completely. The horn was also affected by the electrical failure. The engine started to shake up and the steering became difficult until the vehicle completely stalled. There was also a problem with the automatic transmission. The vehicle was taken to the dealership who was apprehensive to accept the vehicle for repairs. Based on the power train warranty, the vehicle was accepted for inspection.

- Mancos, CO, USA

problem #6

Dec 152005

Sportage 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
On Dec. 15, 2005, I contacted the dealer where I purchased my 2002 Kia Sportage a month ago for warrantee service (empire Toyota, oneonta NY). I was told that they no longer sell or service under the Kia warrantee. At that time it had 58,000 miles. New dealer: Country club Kia, oneonta, NY. On January 12, 2006 I called them to have the warrantee service done on my car. They are still setting up the service dept. And are waiting for "empire Toyota" to transfer the records of customers for warrantee repairs. Now the mileage is at 61,000 miles, and it still has not been serviced under the warrantee. The problems I am having: My locks keep going up and down all day and night without any keys in the ignition. Today my children and I got locked inside the car and could not get out as the locks would not stop locking, and the horn began going off. This has continued everyday...all day and all night. We have been locked out of my car early in the morning while my car is warming up to leave for work. I really need to get my car repaired, and feel as if I keep getting the run around. I called the Kia office on Monday January 16, 2006 and was told that my warrantee has expired by 800 miles. This issue could have been take care of before the warrantee expired. When Kia changed dealerships customers should have been notified, so that they can familiarize themselves with the new dealer if any problems should arise. I had locks repared in my 2002 Kia Sportage a year and a half ago, and thus this should still be covered under the warrantee. I contacted Kia consumer assistance center via E-mail on 1/19/06, and was given case id is: K1063733. No return E-mail or call from Kia. I contacted Kia consumer assistance center via E-mail on 1/30/06, and was given case id is: K1067545. No follow up calls from Kia yet. No return E-mail or call from Kia.I feel this problem can be a potential dangerous situation as in case of an emergency my family and I need to be able to exit the vehicle.

- Bainbridge, NY, USA

problem #5

May 132005

Sportage 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Problem occured when smoke coming from under the dash. Flames shot out from under dash. No warning prior. A burning smell was coming from vehicle prior to flames. It was an electrical fire. The dealer reports it may be a problem with the ignition switch. The car was pulled, a person helped by trying to put out fire with a small fire extinguisher, then owner went inside a building and got antoher fire extinguisher. The fire was out by the time the fire dept. Arrived. The battery was disconnected. Fire department reported that it was an electrical fire from an unkown source. Driver experienced smoke inhalation but wouldnt go to hospital. And was burned on fingers trying to put it out.

- Mount Vernon, KY, USA

problem #4

May 062005

Sportage 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2002 Kia Sportage. This vehicle was purchased new. I have had numerous problems with this vehicle, too numerous to list. You are welcomed and encouraged to contact williamsburg crysler Jeep Kia for all of the vehicles information. The problems with this vehicle started within a week of purchase and continue to today. At this writing this vehicle is currently in the shop having to have been towed in on Friday 05/06/ 05. I just got the vehicle back on tueday 05/02/05. I have approximately 10 pages on the dates and the work that has been done since the vehicle was purchased. I have been in touch with the complaint department with Kia and I was told nothing could be done to help me but to continue to send it to the dealership to have it fixed. My warranty expires on this vehicle in approximately 6000 more miles. With the amount of problems that I am currently having and the problems in the past I am worried what will happen when the warranty expires. Thank you for your time in this matter. Please feel free to contact the dealership and/or me.

- Saluda, VA, USA

problem #3

Dec 222003

Sportage 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,685 miles
Engine light/fan relay ar shook upon being turned on two separate occassions prior to enging light coming on. Car taken in for repairs scan showed random cylinder misfire #301 & #1. found water and corrosion on plugs and wire arcing. Inginition wires and spark plugs replaced. Car returned a day and half after taken in for service although I had been told that it would not be available to me for another 2 days whereas I complained and after a moment of being put on hold was told car was repaired and I could come pick it up. After I picked up car noticed heat in car was not operating although operational when car taken in for service. Returned car to dealer to repair heating system. Dealer found fan relay burnt. Left car at dealer entire day, problem not repaired. Picked up vehicle w/O repair being done. Then noted all power windows not operational. Called dealer and corporate headquaters to complain of issues and need for proper working vehicle. Since then repeated calls to dealer have not provided positive results. Dealer has repeatedly stated that part was scheduled to arrive when in fact wrong part was repeatedly being ordered incorrectly as stated by corporate house. Corporate house implored upon dealer to locate loaner vehicle until issue resolved. No loaner vehicle has been received by me as of yet. Car still has no heat or operational windows. Purchasing a portable car heater due to the fact that it is winter and the temperture has fallen dramaticallyand is going to drop even further. Not having operational window inconveniece since I must pay a toll everyday and must open my door in order to pay toll operator.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 102003

Sportage 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Vehicle stalled intermittently while driving. Vehicle was taken to the dealer, and they found that the harness which held the alternator was melted.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #1

Apr 172003

Sportage 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 5,699 miles
Consumer states that since buying the vehicle in January of 2003 rotors have been replaced twice in that time. The faulty rotors caused vibration while braking. The rotors were replaced once at 5699 miles and again at 8694 miles. When the engine was started all the doors locked, but when it was damp outside the locks worked intermittently. The driver's side wiper washer was not working as well as the passenger side. The dealer readjusted it. There was a rattling in the dash on the drivers side below the air vent.

- South Bend, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?