Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,590 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Sportage brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Sportage:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Sportage Owner Comments

problem #8

Dec 302015


  • 122,000 miles


Right after christmas and before new year's eve I received a phone call from a lady stating she was a Kia representative. My vehicle was part of the recall for the brake switch. About ten days after the call my brake lights would no longer go out even when the vehicle had been sitting still overnight. Than about 3-5 days later my ESC off light came on and now always stay on when the car is being driven. This past weekend I sent a service request online for the brake switch issue to be fixed. I did bunch of research and found out that the brake switch was the one causing the other issues and still can cause more. On 2/1/16 a Kia service employee called and left a message stating that the recall didn't apply to may car. Later on that same day my cruise control stopped working. From all the research I did the brake switch is the cause for all three problems I'm having now. What I don't understand is how can other 2006 Kia Sportages who have had the same issue like me is covered but my car is not.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #7

Apr 012015


  • 117,000 miles
The ESC off light goes on and off all the time. I have never touched the button - the brake lights do not always work either. I have replaced the bulbs many times, however now I cannot open the back hatch it seems to be stuck neither the push button or the key will open backhatch or window - making it now impossible to get to brake light to change bulb-very unsafe.

- Netcong, NJ, USA

problem #6

Dec 032014

Sportage 6-cyl

  • 69,200 miles
Dear NHTSA, I have a 2006 Kia Sportage with 69,245 miles and have been in the dealer on 12/4/14, 12/8/2014, 12/13/14, for engine shutting off while braking to enter another lane or to turn. Engine shut off again while braking to turn at 9:00pm on 12/16/14.engine light have come on at least 6-8 times before at which each time I went into the service dealer on 12/3/14, 12/8/14 and 12/10/14. Sometimes if it was during the day I took the Kia directly to the dealer. However I noticed while researching that this is an electrical issue with a faulty throttle system. In addition Kia wants to charge me $248 to replace a throttle. From the reviews issued online this is a safety related defect that Kia manufacturer is aware. According to the consumer should not have to pay for a faulty throttle (e.g. or faulty parts) and should be replaced by the service dealer. Finally cobb county service (customer # [xxx]) suggested repair invoice stated that after replacing tps need more diagnosis time with vehicle in order to find out issue? I should have to pay for a safety related defects (e.g. 267 or more complaints online not to mention the safety defects of the 2006 Sportage engine shutting off), especially to pay for a part that will not guarantee that the engine will not cut off. I also filed an inquiry with Kia on today 12/16/2014, customer identification reference number (#[xxx]).I am awaiting a call from Kia about this inquiry. I also believe that this is a safety related defect and the cost of repairs should be remedied at no cost to me. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #5

Aug 292014

Sportage 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles


I had Kia inspect the air conditioner because it started working sporadically. I was informed by Kia that they disconnected the unit to prevent the car from catching on fire. Verbatim: Found blower motor bad and fried resistor and harness. Left unplugged to prevent fire from starting. This vehicle is well maintained and certainly should not have any air issues unless freon is needed. This vehicle is still under the 10 yr warranty, but it is just the power train. This issue is an issue that came straight off the manufacturing line and I am not sure how many vehicles have caught on fire, but I have read similar issues on this site. Kia should be held liable for manufacturing a 1 ton killing machine. If the car caught on fire, I could have been killed or some innocent bystander in my path. They unhooked the unit to preserve the engine, because that is still under warranty, not because they are concerned about the safety of the consumer. It is crazy that a recall hasn't been made yet. Also, my ESC light keeps popping on and off and according to the recall list 2006 Kia Sportages had a recall for the stability control lamp and I was informed my 2006 was not included in this recall. I had this fixed when I took my car in but the light still goes on and off, which is essentially a hazard if my brake lights are not illuminated or I cannot turn off my cruise control. Thank you for your time. Not an honorable company and does not stand behind their product.

- New Albany, IN, USA

problem #4

Jun 122014

Sportage 4-cyl

  • miles
Riding down chadds Ford pa route one 6/12/14 ( Thursday) when my car started to shake out of control had pulled over in the middle of afternoon traffic. Only to find out that the passenger side back tie rod came apart.. the outer threads were stripped. I have a picture.

- Wilmington , DE, USA

problem #3

Apr 262014

Sportage 6-cyl

  • 122,524 miles
As of Saturday my brake lights would not shut off, then I noticed while driving the electronic stability control light kept flashing on and off by itself. And the cruise control was not working properly as well. So I got online to investigate this and found there was a recall for this exact problem with my year and model car. But when I called Kia they stated that my car was not part of the recall and that I would have to pay out of pocket for the repairs, even though my make model was recalled and my car was doing the same thing that was recalled.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #2

Nov 022009

Sportage 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Kia Sportage. Consumer writes in regards to malfunction of airbag light. The consumer was informed the connections were bad, which caused the air bag light to illuminated. The cruise control stopped working, the ESC light illuminated, and the radiator cover was broken. The dealer agreed to fix the consumer's vehicle at no charge. Updated 01/07/13

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #1

Apr 052008

Sportage 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The electronic stabilization control is intermittent. It goes off at various times. The dealer has looked at it but so far has not been able to fix it. There is a technical service bulletin for this.

- Sun City, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?