Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Land Rover Freelander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Land Rover Freelander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Land Rover Freelander Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Sep 102008

Freelander

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2002 Land Rover Freelander, with a need of a new engine. I have spent over $10,000 in repairs to date and now they tell me I need a new engine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Yonges Island, SC, USA

problem #31

Oct 052008

Freelander

  • 83,000 miles
Problem started out with engine oil leaking into engine cooling system on or about September 15, 2008. Engine coolant leaked from system, causing vehicle to overheat and stall in traffic. Root cause of failure still to be determined. Vehicle is now out of service.

- Northport, AL, USA

problem #30

Jul 152008

Freelander

  • 61,000 miles
This car had only 61000 miles on it and needed a new engine. Coolant leaked into engine just 3 weeks after I paid $2K for work on the coolant system (reservoir, hoses) and a plenum valve replacement to address the same problem it was then experiencing (overheating and engine revving). Dealer said a piston sleeve had slipped. Full engine replacement required. This car has received all of its recommended service appointments and had a new transmission at 50K miles.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #29

Jul 152008

Freelander

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were hearing a loud noise and had no idea what it was. As it turns out we were first told that it needed a new engine, however after careful diagnostics we were finally told that it needs a new intake manifold. This is about $2200. That includes labor costs and part. I have no money and the car just sits in the front of my house and is not drivable at all. I still owe so much on this car and have no idea what to do....

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #28

May 192008

Freelander

  • 29,000 miles
Service history at plaza motors overview date issuerepairs date returned 6/7/06vehicle stalled, won't startbattery replaced6/8/2006 6/16/2006vehicle stalled, won't startreplaced ignition switch, key reader7/17/2006 8/15/2006vehicle stalled, won't start, intermittent startreplaced fuel pump8/18/2006 6/5/2007vehicle stalled, won't startsecured started wire6/6/2007 6/7/2007vehicle stalled, won't start, intermittent startreplaced immobilizer 2 times8/20/2007 11/16/2007vehicle won't acceleratereplaced intake manifold, engine, heater core3/5/2008 5/16/2008vehicle won't acceleratewant to replace entire transmission5/19/2008 notes: Freelander was purchased on June 3, 2006. Freelander broke down 3 days after purchased.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #27

Jan 012005

Freelander

  • 75,000 miles
Vehicle was purchased with 40,000 miles on it from a dealership in December of 2004. Day after vehicle was purchased rear window motor broke. Dealership replaced. Two weeks later car began to lose power, dealership replaced sensor. Loss of power again dealership ending up performing engine work. Vehicle continually displaced hill decent / track control light. Dealership replaced. At 65000 miles keyless entry stopped unlocking all doors with the exception of the driver's side door. Doors can no longer be unlocked from the inside as well. Rear passenger window on driver's side does not go down. Loss of power issue is happening again now at 75,000 miles.

- Keene, NH, USA

problem #26

Jun 072008

Freelander 6-cyl

  • 89,587 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased a 02 Freelander by Land Rover and it has turned out to be a lemon. Repairs after repairs. It overheats and when it does it overheats the starter causing it to fail as well if it overheats too much it causes the head gaskets to blow or a crack on the engine.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 012008

Freelander 6-cyl

  • 49,015 miles
After buying the car used @ 42,000 miles my 2002 Land Rover Freelander was immediately diagnosed a month after intermittent starting problems with a blown head gasket and I needed a new engine. My car is a safety hazard as it stopped randomly of a highway and left me stranded. I am not the only person experiencing this blown head gasket problem as it is an engineering failure of this SUV. Land Rover will not help, this is a disgrace that so many people have suffered from this problem and nothing has been done.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #24

Feb 012007

Freelander

  • 60,000 miles
I have a Land Rover freeland that started having coolant leakage in early February of 2007. I tried to get the car in to get fixed and was put off by Land Rover until my warranty expired. They never fixed it. It leaks coolant constantly, it looses power, it over heats and steams, the coolant is an oily brown color no matter how many times I flush it. This car has a bad head gasket I'm afraid and I've read about and know many people with the exact same problem. I've replaced the reservoir bottle, flushed the coolant, replaced the thermostat and nothing fixes the problem. I had a month long battle with Land Rover to fix it and they refused. This entire engine needs to be recalled, this is a terrible car and a hazard on the road, I'm scared every time I see a Freelander that it's going to blow something and kill someone on the freeway, Land Rover should be ashamed and all the cars should be recalled.

- North Salt Lake, UT, USA

problem #23

Mar 182008

Freelander

  • 58,000 miles
The engine started to overheat so I pulled over on the interstate and let engine cool, this continued until I was able to make it home. Dealer now says that the engine needs a new heads and head gaskets. Apparently this is a common problem on this vehicle. After locating this site I do believe that this is a defect in manufacturing.

- Harlingen, TX, USA

problem #22

Apr 152008

Freelander

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Land Rover Freelander 61,000 miles - head gasket gone - overheating - no engines available.

- Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, 00, USA

problem #21

Apr 022007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,300 miles
Our well-maintained 2002 Freelander had engine and transmission failure within 6 months of reaching 50,000 miles. In both cases the failures occurred during highway driving with no warning lights or indications of problems. In both cases the loss of power/control posed a serious health hazard to everyone in the car. One of these events occurred immediately following service and safety check by the dealer. This care is so badly designed that is a driving hazard and should be recalled in its entirety. The very extensive information on major failures without warning attest to the dangers that this vehicle is imposing on the public on a daily basis.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #20

Mar 272008

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,772 miles
We currently have a landrover Freelander that is on its third engine (within 1 year). We are continuously inconvenienced with this vehicle having issues that bring it back to the dealership they claim to fix the issue and within 3,000 miles we are back again like clockwork. Landrover does know about this issue, and we have a vehicle that we could never sell to anyone else, purchased an extended warranty on, and have absolutely no recourse with. I brought the car in last week for them to fix an issue, service engine light was on and I was inhaling coolant fumes; they stated that it was fixed, no sooner than 4 hours after I picked the car up on Friday afternoon, did the same check engine light go on and I currently am driving around inhaling fumes from coolant again. When do these issues get resolved. It has been over a year of the same issues with a car, that the sales woman's words to my husband were, the first vehicle created by landrover is still on the road. My car was purchased new, has approx. 57,600 miles on it, it is 5 years old, and for the last year and a has had nothing but issues. I asked the service manager how many of these models have had issues stated, more than he would like to admit. Please let me know what can be done. At this point my husband would like the extended warranty money back and at least half of the book value of the vehicle.

- Miller Place, NY, USA

problem #19

May 022007

Freelander 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
We purchased a 2002 Land Rover Freelander. The car has had numerous occasions of overheating, losing coolant and oil and we have now been told a new engine is needed. The car owner was also told at 50,756 miles that a new transmission was necessary. Apparently Land Rover is aware of this recurring problem with this vehicle, but is doing nothing to correct the problems. There has been occasions when the car stops or overheat is causing potential safety concerns/problems for the car occupants as well as other drivers.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #18

Jan 182008

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Have had multiple problems with vehicle with replacements needed for the following items: Sunroof assembly, brakes and rotors twice, coolant tank, coolant tank lid, intake manifold assembly, wiper switch, 2 vacuum hoses, window regulator, sunroof drain tubes and headliner. Now, despite maintaining the recommended service schedule, we are going to have to have the engine replaced at 67K miles. The coolant is leaking into the oil and after having the head gaskets replaced and a cooler part replaced, the dealer now believes that there is a crack in the sleeve. There apparently is a back order on replacement engines so I will have to cough up $$$ to keep the oil drained and coolant filled until one is available. Why should a $35,000 vehicle need an engine replaced at 67K miles?

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #17

Aug 152007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
Transmission failure at 75,000 miles. Excessive check engine light warnings. Bad sensors. Engine noise.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #16

Jun 022007

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Water pump failed, took to dealer for replacement, gas pump failed took it to shop to replace it, gas tank lid failed, both one from dealer to replace it, engine cooling system failed, transmission failed, took it to shop they refuse to fix, they say is not their fault and is not cover by warranty anymore, window motor failed, windshield wiper switch failed, headlights failed, coolant container crack, replaced with new one from dealer. Stop light recalled. Air filtering system retains water which allows mold to grow, air filters replaced.

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 042007

Freelander

  • miles
Engine failed due to a design flaw. Needed to replace engine.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #14

Oct 052007

Freelander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,253 miles
I was driving to get dinner with my daughter and my landrover Freelander just fell dead while driving. This incident could have been fatal if it had happened on the freeway. I had the car towed to my home less than 2 miles away and had a certified Land Rover mechanic come to inspect the vehicle. He informed me that the motor locked up for no apparent reason. The car was not low on oil, nor had it been overheating and there were no other liquids mixed in the oil. The only option going forward would be to have the entire engine replaced. This vehicle has had one mechanical failure after another and is not worth the money spent.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 302006

Freelander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Land Rover Freelander has experienced sluggish acceleration to a jolt and dowshifts on its own at freeway speed. About 2 weeks after buying it used I took it to a local repair shop and they said I needed a new transmission, had it towed back to the dealer and they said it didn't. needless to say they wouldn't replace it. It has a overheating problem which is continuous. The engine sounds like it has no oil in it, even after an oil change I have to check it to make sure because the noise is so loud. The hdc light comes on and the vehicle seems to drive in an almost 4wheel low at all times. There was antifreeze in my oil. This vehicle has major problems!!!!!!!!

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?