Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling: Cooling System Problems

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,572 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Land Rover Freelander cooling system problems

cooling system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Land Rover Freelander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Land Rover Freelander Owner Comments

problem #12

Mar 262011

Freelander 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In 2007 engine failed in the intersection of us rt 34 and york road in hinsdale, il. The police pushed the car to a Land Rover dealership nearby. The dealership replaced the fuel system but not the intake manifold. Today the manifold is clogged and needs to be replaced. It is clogged from bad fuel from the fuel system replacement. Now the engine needs to be replaced and I can't trade it, no one will take it. The car has been regularly serviced and only 68,000 miles.

- Chicaog, IL, USA

problem #11

Nov 042010

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Land Rover Freelander. The contact stated that the coolant was leaking internally into the engine. The dealer inspected the engine and stated that it needed to be replaced instead of repaired. The manufacturer stated that they will offer the contact money for the vehicle, but at a reduced rate because of the engine. The dealer stated that was an usual practice because the manufacturer does not stand behind their vehicles. The failure and current mileages were 70000. Updated 02/03/11 the consumer also stated when the heat was turned on, an odor would emit. Updated 03/17/11

- Saco, ME, USA

problem #10

Nov 132010

Freelander 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Engine in 2004 Land Rover Freelander was a total loss after coolant leak into engine. Land Rover continues to deny there is a defect. Local service manager says it would take $13,000 to replace the engine, which cannot be repaired. That was four months after spending $3,000 to replace engine parts manager said would correct problems.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #9

Feb 272007

Freelander

  • 11,002 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purch 2/5/07 11,000 miles; car dies 2/27/07; lr replaces starter motor; ignition lock, switch, fuel lock cylinder. Takes til 5/23/07 to complete. 6/4/07 ac leaks, and service engine light on, lr claims evap. Loss control system; between 6/8 and 9/8 car in 4 times - windows inoperable, ac blowing water; 1/5/08 oil leaking and engine runs loud, lr renews a filter, but could not duplicate (cnd) noise; 1/24/08 pass. Window inoperable, engine loud (lr cnd) but installed canister purge valve; turn signal would not always work; 2/19/08 left window inoperable; sunroof stuck open; transmission shutters (lr cnd) 10/6/08 engine overheats, leaves me stranded lr replaces thermostat, cooling fans assembly) at oil change on 10/23/08 radiator full of sludge have flushed on 10/29/08; 12/15/08 engine overheats, leaves me stranded; lr renewed tank; transmission still not right (lr cnd) lr flushes radiator; 3/11/08, front brakes go bad; 2/24/09 coolant leaking (lr cnd) said was coolant left on frame panel from prior visit (are you kidding me?) 5/8/09 engine overheats - coolant entering oil due to defective cylinder sleeve, lr replaces engine (32,000 miles) (now that manuf. Warranty runs out - takes 40 days to complete) pick up car 6/18/09 and service eng. Light is on; 6 days later lr says I need air flow and mass air flow sensors for only $1,220.44; I bring to my mechanic - no charge it was cooling fan left unplugged; 1/8/10 start car and every drop of oil spills onto driveway; coolant leaking and sludgy; runs loud; lr replaces engine again (36,000 miles) (30 days) 3/4'/10 car has no power - my mechanic says intake manifold runner - one works and one is stuck; 3/5/10 car won't start - tow to lr takes them til 3/13 to tell me its starter; I think ignition switch or something wrong when replaced engine twice; sold car knowing had defect. Had 2002 Freelander with all same problems. Do something - this is wrong!

- Thornton, IL, USA

problem #8

Jul 032009

Freelander

  • miles
My Freelander started losing coolant last weekend. I called Land Rover service in waukesha wi. They took the vehicle in on Monday. They told me the thermostat needed to be replaced (a $56 part) and a few hoses/pipes and gaskets for $900. The next day they called to tell me that the manifest intake also needed to be replaced, another $1215. The service manager told me that was the reason my car makes a loud ticking noise. I told the service manager that the vehicle started making that noise the first year I purchased it - new. I told him I had it in 3 times and complained about it while the vehicle was under warranty. I got the same answer every time 'they all sound like that, it is normal.' I had another mechanic look at it, he said it was not normal and told me to take it back in. I did, they told me there was nothing they could do. He told me that they couldn't move any further on my vehicle until I talked to Land Rover directly. My husband called and opened the case. We are now on day 4 and still don't know if Land Rover is going to cover anything. They have terrible service. When I purchased the vehicle I was given a promise of superior service and loyalty. Now, they won't even give me a loaner.

- Blue Mounds, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Apr 232009

Freelander

  • 81,399 miles
I have had ongoing problems with the engine's cooling system on my 2004 Land Rover Freelander. When I took it to the dealership, they stated that after performing a lengthy systems check, they could not pinpoint a source of the problem. They told me to continue to monitor the coolant levels, add 50/50 coolant as needed ( which was every 5-10days), and monitor my oil to make sure that the coolant did not mix with the oil and cause problems with the engine. I kept routine maintenance and oil checks (every 3K miles) on the car. My car currently has 81,400 miles. This problem has been ongoing for over a year. My engine has finally blown a rod and bearing and requires engine replacement which could cost from $5-9,000 used and $15,000 new. I believe that Land Rover is aware of many of the concerns about the dysfunctional cooling system. I believe they could have been more proactive so that such a problem could have been avoided...especially when I have done everything that they have requested of me. I am not in the position to repair the vehicle and may have to take a loss.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #6

Jul 032008

Freelander

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 landrover Freelander/coolant problems/resale value is 1/2 of $ owed after 4 years. Dealership telling me they won't except this car as a trade in, however were more than happy to sell me the vehicle. Window motors all 4 have failed. Still leaking coolant.

- Williamstown, VT, USA

problem #5

May 232008

Freelander

  • 50,000 miles
2004 Land Rover Freelander. I have had repeated problems with this car (coolant leaks) and have taken the vehicle to my local Land Rover dealership for service to no avail. I keep being told there is no leak. There is I keep losing coolant. I see on the internet that I am one of thousands of consumers who have been cheated by lr. The Freelander is a lemon and their appears to be thousands of us consumers who have had to experience the disappoint and costs incurred due to the faulty manufacturing by Land Rover. I request that your office investigate this immediately. The Freelander should be recalled!! I thank you in advance for investigating this matter. Check the internet you will find thousands of unhappy consumers of lr as myself.

- Hialeah Gdns, FL, USA

problem #4

Jun 232008

Freelander

  • 52,000 miles
My 2004 hse Freelander with only 35,000 miles on it, this vehicle has been nothing but problems and it has been in the shop since June. '07 until Jan. '08 for a coolant leak that lead to entire engine change. The keyless entry stopped unlocking the doors behind the passanger seat. My back window regulators are broken and I cannot close this window. Land Rover needs to Focus more on quality.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #3

Aug 012007

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Land Rover Freelander. The contact stated that the service engine light illuminated while driving. She called the dealer so they could pick up the vehicle. When she drove around a few times, she felt a loss of power in the vehicle. The dealer towed it and they stated that the head gasket cap flew off. The contact notified landrover and they stated that there were no recalls and could do nothing to help. The speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 67,000.

- Moscow, PA, USA

problem #2

Sep 012006

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,466 miles
I purchased a new 2004 Freelander in February 2004. I have serviced my vehicle at the required intervals with Land Rover. At 48,500 miles, my truck started to overheat. I took it to my local mechanic who looked it over and was puzzled. He couldn't see where the coolant had gone and suggested I bring the car to my local Land Rover dealer in new rochelle. I had the car towed to Land Rover and the technicians there fixed the so-called problem. The technicians informed me that a cracked reservoir and a malfunctioning fan were found. 5,000 miles later (now that the warranty had expired) the car begins to overheat. I went ahead and had the thermostat replaced by my local mechanic with a Land Rover thermostat (where was I to tow my car at 9 pm?), 2 weeks later it overheated again. I took it the dealership once again. They told me that coolant had leaked into the engine and that I needed a new engine. 6,800 dollars. A 3 year old car needs a new engine? I've been notified by Land Rover North America that they will not compensate any of the money because the car is out of warranty. This is not the first time this has happened with the Freelander. A business associate of mine leased a 2003 Freelander from Land Rover paramus and at 48,000 miles the same exact thing happened. There's an apparent problem with the head gasket with the Freelander. It's all over the web ! every Freelander suffers from the same problem. I believe I should not be held responsible for a defective engine and that the manufacturer should be totally responsible. I would appreciate any assistance concerning this matter. It's costing me time at work, and plenty in rental car fees.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #1

Oct 132006

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
04 Land Rover Freelander cooling system engine overheat @ 29,000 miles with coolant leaking. They said because of thermostat malfunction. I just noticed that I have to put coolant every 600 miles because it is totally empty and there are some hairline cracks on the reserve. Now I bring it back to dealer to check it.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?