Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,195 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Lincoln LS steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Lincoln LS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Lincoln LS Owner Comments

problem #10

Sep 202013

LS 8-cyl

  • 191,833 miles


Notice the steering was loose while driving and felt inhibited when I drove.

- Upper Darby, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 082013

LS 9-cyl

  • 142,000 miles
We own a 2001 Lincoln L.S.. while making a right hand turn in a curve last night I heard a loud cracking sound come from the drivers side front suspension. Instantly the drivers side front end dropped causing me to lose control of the steering. Snatched the steering wheel hard to the left out of my hands causing me to cross opposing traffic into a ditch sliding into the front of a concrete pipe leading under the street. While applying the brakes in the grass car smashed into the edge of the concrete pipe. Had car brought to our home. Jacked up drivers side front this morning and found the lower ball joint had came out of the lower control arm it is busted as well as the tire, rim, front steel cross member that mounts the lower control arm is bent. Wiped out the oil pan causing all the oil to leak out also damaging the rear lower control arm mount which is aluminum. Plus busting the front bumper cover/ lower air dam. Driving lights. Cannot find if our car was recalled and fixed per your recall concerning improperly tightened lower ball joints. Unable to find any information from Ford Motor Company North America. Now we are without a car to get to work. Now we have no idea how to proceed. Luckily there were no on coming cars avoiding a head on crash. This is my wife's car which my children ride in. Looked at passenger side lower ball joint and it looks to be coming out of the lower control arm as well. Car is in drive way with both front tires removed sitting on jack stands.

- Camden, SC, USA

problem #8

Jan 112013

LS 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I am a 66 yr old widow, owner of a 2001 Ls purchased June 2001, a recall fix was to have been done before my purchase in March of 2001 to correct a problem with ball joints. I read online that many of these vehicles have the damage that was suppose to be corrected for when they get to about 67000 miles, I am at 67000 miles, took my car in for inspection and need an 1800 dollar fix to correct the issue that was suppose to be avoided by the recall. Ford said, too long ago, no warranty beyond the norm for recall fixes. I can not believe with the amount of evidence that these cars all require a fix at 67000 miles that Ford isn't forced to address this dangerous condition. I also don't know if it's safe to drive a while longer, I just don't know how they got away with a recall that did not provide the fix.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #7

Mar 092012

LS 6-cyl

  • 70,114 miles


I was driving my car, after driving home from work (approx. 70 miles round-trip). While turning I heard a loud crunch and then felt a hard thud, my vehicle was difficult to steer, felt another crunch. I pulled into a parking stall, after parking my vehicle, another loud crunch, the driver's side wheel had fallen off and was wedged into the wheel well. On March 12th, 2012 my repair facility informed me about the items that need replaced: Upper and lower left front ball joints, front outer tier rod ends, new fuel filter- damaged in the incident, two new tires & an alignment. I realized how lucky I was that this did not occur while driving down the road. I conducted google search on 2001 Lincoln Ls suspension problems, I was stunned on the amount of safety related hits out there (suspension related), I realized that this was not isolated to just my vehicle, there were pages-of-pages of people that experienced similar suspension problems with their 2001 Lincoln. There was a suspension related recall: Lincoln / Ls 2000-2001, Ford Motor Company, date: Nov 01, 2000 NHTSA campaign id number: 00V359001 N/a NHTSA action number: N/a component: Suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint, number of affected: 82,300 summary: Vehicle description: Passenger vehicles. The front suspension lower ball joints were not tightened to specifications when they were attached to the lower control arms. Consequence: If the ball joint attaching nuts are not adequately tightened, they can loosen and, ultimately, result in fracture of the ball joint stud. If the ball joint fractures, control of the vehicle could be affected, increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy: Dealers will inspect the torque on the two ball joint attaching nuts. Vehicles with loose ball joint attaching nuts will either have the fasteners tightened to specification, or if necessary, the ball joints will be replaced.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #6

May 012009

LS 8-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
1.spouse complained of significant controllability (loss of steering) 2. car examined by frame shop to find lower passenger ball joint loose (securing nut) 3. nut tightened by shop and controllability restored 4. spouse starts on trip and significant loss of steering returns within 30 miles 5. gave VIN to woody anderson Ford approx may/Jul of 2009 and again Mar 2010; no outstanding campaigns noted. 6. research reflects safety campaign for ball joints but my vehicle not included via Ford.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #5

Jul 032009


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Lincoln Ls. While making a turn at approximately 5 mph, there was an unexpected loss of power steering ability. The driver experienced extreme difficulty maneuvering the vehicle. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road with caution. Roadside assistance was called to the scene and the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for inspection. The technician stated that the failure was contributed to the lower ball joint. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 00V359001 (suspension: Front:control arm:lower ball joint), although the failures were identical. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 100,000.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #4

Mar 302009


  • 79,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Lincoln Ls. On March 31, 2009, while driving approximately 25 mph, the contact noticed that the steering and alignment were faulty. She then heard a noise on the driver's side of the vehicle and it appeared to be fish-tailing while the front end remained steady. When driving over bumps, the vehicle felt as if it were uncontrollable. Goodyear stated that the ball joint was extremely loose and the lower driver's side control arm needed to be replaced. In addition, the sway bars were bent on both sides of the vehicle, which caused the faulty alignment. The tie rod also needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 79,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #3

May 122008

LS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Lincoln Ls. While driving approximately 40 mph on normal road conditions, the contact experienced difficulty steering and used great effort to turn the steering wheel. Unexpectedly, the vehicle pulled to the left without assistance. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing and the technician stated that the failure was related to the lower ball joint. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 00V359001 (suspension, front, control arm, lower ball joint), although the failures were identical. The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 78,000. Updated 3/19/09 updated 03/25/09.

- Naneut, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 012006

LS 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
- the contact stated that he was driving his 2001 Lincoln Ls at 55 mph when the car became difficult to steer, causing his car to be misaligned. This caused the ball joints and his tires to become loose and damaged. The dealer told him there was no recall on these problems the cost for the vehicle's repair was $800. The misalignment caused his tires to be worn unevenly so they had to be replaced. The mechanic that did the repairs stated that there was a narrow recall on vehicles manufactured by a certain facility.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 112001

(reported on)


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at highway speed consumer noticed steering wheel shaking and vibrating. Consumer has contacted dealer.

- Brick, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?