10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,708 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Lincoln MKZ seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Lincoln MKZ:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Lincoln MKZ Owner Comments

problem #19

Dec 292016

MKZ

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bullhead City, AZ, USA

problem #18

Jul 012016

MKZ

  • miles
"takata recall" I have received the recall papers like 7 months ago and I cant get any answeres from anyone not even a dealership will give me answeres about this and why I cant get it fixed I drive my car every day and I am in the Florida heat also I dont feel safe driving the car and I have no choice but to drive a death trap. I would like answeres and why its taking almost a year for a air bag to be replaced which dont make sense at all Ford builds new cars everyday in a factory probably thousands a week but they cant replace a air bag on a car that they already sold someone that they are driving? dont make sense to me at all that building a car they havent sold yet is more important than someones life that bought there slap together china made air bags I want this forwarded to whoever is in charge because I am contacting a lawyer about this because its unsafe and very dangerous to me and other people that are on the road when my car is on the road! I want some kind of answer and if a lawyer has to be involved to get an answer then so be it!

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 012016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Parkville, MO, USA

problem #16

Jul 012016

MKZ

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I was not informed of any issue with the vehicle airbags until receiving a letter in July 2016 that stated the passenger frontal airbag might rupture and kill the occupant of that seat who most commonly happens to be my pregnant wife. It was first reported in November 2014 by the New York times that takata was aware of the issue. One can only speculate how much earlier the company officials were aware of the problem. That thought aside, it is criminal that it took Lincoln 20 months to determine they had the affected airbags in this vehicle and alert the owners of said vehicles. It has now been 5 months since I received the letter. During this time period I have contacted the company many times and never have they been able to offer any information whatsoever. It has been over 2 years since they determined the airbag in my vehicle can kill my pregnant wife if ever deployed. This is completely unacceptable. My specific vehicle is 8 years old and I live in the panhandle of Florida. Considering those two factors I am in the highest risk category. How have I not been contacted to have this fixed" at the very least, why have I not been offered a loaner vehicle while they figure out how to solve the problem" it certainly feels like Lincoln is considering my wife's life a financial risk they are willing to take. The way this has been handled is inconceivable. Please have Lincoln look to make my vehicle a priority. I am an active duty service member who will be relocating across the country in March 2017 and am highly concerned that at any point during the drive my wife and unborn child may be killed by a known issue.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 302016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Nov 182016

MKZ

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #13

Nov 152016

MKZ

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" airbags have not been replaced - I am afraid to drive the car and I use my vehicle to Transport grandchildren! this is very frightening to me! please correct as soon as possible or give me a rental vehicle!

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #12

Jul 252016

MKZ 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/04/17 updated 01/17/17.

- Bedford, PA, USA

problem #11

Jul 042016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Godfrey, IL, USA

problem #10

Jun 012016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Deptford Township, NJ, USA

problem #9

Nov 012016

MKZ

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata air bags. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V34000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hershey, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 252016

MKZ

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 012016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available so the contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #6

Jul 152016

MKZ

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Wimberly, TX, USA

problem #5

Jun 072016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jul 292016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall I have received a letter in the mail about the recall and talked to the Ford dealership and Lincoln and called Lincoln about it and I drive literally 6 hours a day 5 days a week in my car long distance I do not feel safe driving this car at all and I talked to someone in detroit motor company and they said if its a issue I could bring it into Lincoln and get a loaner until its fixed they told me it could take up to 12 months just to get the parts. I live in Florida inside my car when it sits it gets up to 130 degrees in my car and I just do not feel safe driving this car at all to the point where its taking my concentration off the road from what she told me can I take my car to Lincoln to get a loaner and let my car sit?

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #3

May 152008

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall - notice of "recall" received 7/29/16 to which Lincoln motor company stated that there is no remedy available. In researching it was found that the company predicted that a resolution would be available through 2019 by state in which it was noted that my state, California, was not even listed. I suggested that a comparable loaner be made available or dealer authorization be expedited to disable the air bag. Lincoln response dated 8/5/16 was received 8/13/16 in which the company merely stated "at this point, the guidelines for this recall do not include a loaner vehicle". in that the company did not elaborate on "the guidelines" nor respond to whether or not the legislation to disable the bag has been legislated I am in receipt of a non-response and certainly see that this is not anything that could be considered a "recall". further does the company and NHTSA expect the owner of these vehicles to continue to drive and occupy these lethal vehicles?

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #2

May 232016

MKZ

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #1

Dec 152009

MKZ

  • 22,458 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lincoln Mkz. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph on icy road conditions. The vehicle loss control and crashed into a brick wall. The frontair bag system failed to deploy with the massive impact. The driver sustained major injuries. The police and ambulance were called to the scene. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. There was an estimated amount of $13,000 in damages to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 22,458.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?