Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,322 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mitsubishi Galant transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mitsubishi Galant:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mitsubishi Galant Owner Comments

problem #11

Aug 042009

Galant

  • 108,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sudden loss of forward movement and disabled in the traffic while going down the road. Found transmission is not moving the drive wheels in any gears forward or reverse.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #10

Sep 282005

Galant

  • 61,508 miles
Transmission went out -repaired2-6-08, constantly replace battery,5-31-07, two times in 208, reprogram car it would not stay cranked, replaced radiator-208, left head light bulb is melted into socket, light goes dim whole thing has to be replaced brakes kept making loud noise, still do some time12-14-06, six months later had to replace pads, steering wheel shakes when putting on brake, replace blinker switch-7-27-07, all lights on dash board goes off and on, started happening after first oil change-5-19-05, sensors alternator belt, P/S dolt, replaceradiator hose. Door handles and both mirrors, are discolored, looks like white glue, when I drive for about 30 minutes cut car off, sometime it will not crank. I am still having problems and still paying for car and transmission repair. I was told by dealership and warranty co. These problems was not under warranty.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 092007

Galant

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Galant. While the vehicle was idling, the contact heard a humming sound coming from the engine. She attempted to accelerate, but the vehicle stalled and shut off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that a transmission kit was needed. The contact did not notice any differences beforehand. The current mileage was 94,000 and failure mileage was 73,000.

- Port Allen, LA, USA

problem #8

Nov 072007

Galant 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Galant. While driving 50 mph with the accelerator pedal depressed, the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle suddenly came to a violent and immediate stop on the highway.. the contact noticed smoke coming from the wheels. All the warning indicators lights illuminated. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 102,000. Updated 12/12/2007 the consumer believed the problem was due to transmission failure. The consumer stated the wheels should not have locked up without warning at 50 mph. Updated 12/12/07

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 012006

Galant 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,595 miles
Driving on highway, check engine light came on, transmission died...drive/reverse no longer work. New transmission required at a cost of over $6,000 from Mitsubishi dealer.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #6

Dec 232005

Galant 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,679 miles
In December 2005 the car started experiencing problems with a drop in power between 10 and 20 miles per hour. The dealer diagnosed is as shift surge and said the transmission had a leak, resulting in low fluid that overheated the transmission and caused internal damage. The surge occurred on and off for just a week. Now they say we have to replace the transmission and quote of $2,000 plus for a rebuilt transmission. They stated that if we had taken the car to them the first sign of shifting, they might have been able to fix it. A recall was issued for this car for transmission fluid leaks. I had taken this car to the same dealer in October no one mentioned any recalls. It is difficult to understand how a transmission needs to be replaced within four years. How can I determine if the previous owner actually had the work done that was necessary per the recall" if it had not been done, what liability does the dealer regarding this? the dealer said nothing about this. I noticed that there was a service bulletin issued in 2004 for shift surge. This is exactly the result of this internal damage. If the dealership received this in 2004, what is their obligation to make sure the cars have been appropriately served per the bulletin? may I see the service bulletin for this particular issue" thank you.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 282004

Galant

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 70 mph transmission failed without warning. As a result, the vehicle caught on fire. The vehicle was considered a total loss.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #4

Oct 222003

Galant 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,857 miles
I was traveling rush traffic going over a hill when the car stop and started to reverse, while in drive. I braked and put car in park stop the engine and restart the vehicle and tried moving forward but the car still preceded backward down the hill. I tried all gears included reverse and none worked except park and car engine was kept on running fine all that time.

- Blandon, PA, USA

problem #3

Mar 232001

Galant

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving on the highway vehicle just stopped, was caused by a defect in transmission

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 082001

Galant

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle seriously vibrates when accelerating. Also, transmission is slipping when shifting from first to second gear. Dealership examined vehicle, and found drops of water in transmission fluid. Manufacturer stated that driven in rain and flooding caused water to enter transmission. Consumer indicated that ehicle was parked, and was not subject to wet conditions during recent flooding. Please provide any additional information/attachments.

- Friends Wood, TX, USA

problem #1

Mar 072001

Galant

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Did not go into or stay in park.

- Media, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?