Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,059 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mitsubishi Montero brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mitsubishi Montero:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Nov 092011

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact stated that after having repairs to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum), the brake booster started to make a loud noise when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who diagnosed that the hydraulic brake booster accumulator was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer of any assistance since the vehicle had been previously repaired under the recall. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 91,000 and the current mileage was 93,000. Updated 02/06/12 updated 02/10/12

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #24

Apr 252011

Montero

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact noticed that when applying pressure to the brakes he heard a clicking noise similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they performed a diagnostic test which confirmed that the accumulator needed to be replaced. The manufacturer advised the contact that his vehicle had not been included in the previous recall and offered no additional assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 130,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #23

Jul 162010

Montero

  • 100,322 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero XLS. While the contact was driving, the brakes failed to respond. All of sudden, ABS and brake lights came on and the brake pedal was very hard to push. The contact took it to the dealer and found the problem was hydraulic brake booster unit. Regarding NHTSA campaign id number 01V254001, the manufacturer denied his right to have the recall repairs and said the original recall had been already taken care in 2001. The contact had similar problem in 2008 without knowing any recall issues. The dealer charged for replacing the accumulator.the vehicle seems to have very serious safety-concerned problem and it keeps recurring mileage is slightly over 100,000. Filed complaint on 07/25/2010.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 192009

Montero

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero with 130000 miles. The contact stated that recall 01V254001 is not an adequate fix for the failure. While driving 60 mph under normal conditions the contact attempted to stop the vehicle and the power brakes failed. The contact was able to stop the vehicle with out a crash. The contact had the recall repaired but it failed again. The dealer is aware of this failure and stated that there is not a current solution. The VIN was not available.

- Newtown, CT, USA

problem #21

Jun 262009

Montero

  • 173,000 miles
I own a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero ltd. Approx 2 weeks ago noticed random, intermittent chirping noise. Can also feel vibration in brake pedal when chirping. Noise has become more frequent and continual. Took to midas and was told there is a recall #01V254001. Called capitol Mitsubishi, san jose, ca only to be informed that since SUV has 173,000 miles the recall does not apply. Per dealership max miles is 150,000 so the repair will cost me between $500-600. Based on research the hydraulic brake booster wont function when needed.

- Union City, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 022009

Montero

  • 166,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero limited. While the contact was driving in reverse, the brakes failed to respond. When he pumped the brake pedal, he heard a squeaking sound. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic, who determined that the hydraulic brake booster accumulator failed. Regarding NHTSA campaign id number 01V254001, the manufacturer denied his right to have the recall repairs performed because the vehicle exceeded the 150,000 mile requirement. The vehicle has not been repaired. The speed was unknown. The failure and current mileages were less than 166,000. Updated 5/18/09 updated 05/20/09.

- Petaluma, CA, USA

problem #19

Jul 192008

Montero

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several months ago the accumulator broke on my mitsubshi Montero limited. The dealer is saying that the accumulator was replaced, under recall, prior to my acquiring the vehicle. I purchased the vehicle in 2002. If the accumulator was replaced it should not have broken. I was quoted a price of $4,000 to have repaired. Your help is greatly appreciated.

- Capitol Heights, MD, USA

problem #18

Apr 152008

Montero 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,564 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact stated that the brake pressure canister was defective. The contact's wife was backing out of the driveway and realized that the brakes failed. She had to engage the parking brake in order to stop the vehicle. When she stopped the vehicle, the brakes began to work, but there was a tapping noise under the dashboard. When the contact's wife attempted to pump the brakes repeatedly, the ABS light illuminated and began beeping. He discovered NHTSA campaign id number 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum). The contact has not taken the vehicle to the dealer. The manufacturer stated that the original recall repair had previously been performed on the vehicle. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 90,564.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 012008

Montero 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,606 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact stated that the hydraulic power assist vacuum on the brakes is causing a loss of gas pressure. When the vehicle is parked for a long period of time, the gas pressure is lost. When the brakes are applied, they do not perform to their full potential. The dealer and manufacturer stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum). The vehicle was evaluated and it was found to have the exact same defect as stated in the recall. The recall also stated that the affected vehicles were produced before June 20, 2001. The contact's vehicle was produced on September 4, 2000. The failure and current mileages were 123,606. Updated 02-12-08

- Milan, OH, USA

problem #16

Nov 152007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. While driving at any speed, the contact heard a honking noise coming from the engine compartment. The mechanic stated that the brake booster accumulator for the ABS caused the failure. There is a recall for the service brakes, hydraulic: Power assist: Vacuum (NHTSA campaign id number 01V254001). The manufacturer stated that they would not repair the vehicle because the recall was too old. The failure mileage was 108,000 and current mileage was 110,000.

- Mccordsville, IN, USA

problem #15

Sep 242007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. While the vehicle was parked with the parking brake applied, the contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the driver side of the dashboard. The mechanic stated that the brake booster accumulator needed replacing. The vehicle was serviced for NHTSA campaign id number 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum) before it was purchased. The dealer stated that the vehicle was only inspected for the recall, however, the manufacturer would not service the recall because their records indicated that the part was replaced. The current and failure mileages were 101,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #14

Sep 232007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
My 2001 Mitsubishi Montero is making load sounds when I apply the brakes. According to your site there was a recall on a part of my brakes. In 2001 when the car was still very new this recall was conducted and my vehicle was "fixed" according to dealer records. Now I am having the same problem again and the dealer and Mitsubishi motors say it is my problem now. If their recall does not work then they are liable, not me. This is a safety issue, other people have had their brake fail completely and not be able to stop because of this issue. Mitsubishi should have to fix this problem free of charge until they get it right, not just the first time! I will never buy Mitsubishi again and your Agency should not allow this policy to further put peoples lives at risk.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #13

Aug 202007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact stated that she heard a loud noise when the brakes were applied. No warning lights illuminated. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer or a mechanic. She called the manufacturer and they stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum). The current and failure mileages were 91,000. Updated 01/11/08. Updated

- Bend , OR, USA

problem #12

Jul 092007

Montero

  • miles
I am a second owner of a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero sport that I purchased from a Mitsubishi dealership. The original owner was notified of a recall for the service brakes, hydraulic foundation components and subsequently had the vehicle repaired in 2001. Two weeks the vehicle began having the same issue. It is my understanding from both Mitsubishi corporate offices and my local dealership that they are no longer responsible for the recall as they complied with the initial repair. The part has lasted only 6 years and is now defective again. Recalls should repairs should last longer and be covered for the life of the vehicle. It seems that the revised part was not properly corrected. There should be some obligation on the part of Mitsubishi motors to see that the parts that were re-manufactured under the recall to last a bit longer than six years. They apparently did not do any justice for the consumer.

- Green Valley, AZ, USA

problem #11

May 292007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. While depressing the brakes from 25 mph, the contact heard a loud noise coming from the drivers side of the vehicle. The dealer stated that the failure is related to recall # 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum). However, her VIN is not included. The noise continues to persist. The current mileage is 94,000 and failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 06/26/07

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #10

Apr 272007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,611 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. At 16,000 miles, the vehicle was repaired due to NHTSA recall campaign # 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum). When attempting to brake, the contact heard a loud pitched beep coming from the left side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic who stated that the accumulator was leaking similar to the failure noted in recall # 01V254001. The current mileage is 68,611 and failure mileage was 68,611. The consumer provided a copy of invoice for repair. Updated 06/08/07

- Billerica , MA, USA

problem #9

Apr 022007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,000 miles
Regarding NHTSA recall campaign number: 01V254001 I know there are extremely similar complaints to mine regarding this bulletin (used google to find them) I noticed strange noises when depressing brakes in my 2001 Mitsubishi Montero. Had it looked at by 2 separate independent mechanics who determined an issue with the hydraulic unit. Item is dealer only. So I researched the issue on the web only to find the exact symptom description was covered in an NHTSA recall bulletin. I promptly contacted my lancaster, pa mitisubishi dealer and was told that my VIN number was not included in the recall. My car is unsafe to drive due to a defective brake unit and they want me to pay to have it looked at? this is ridiculous. I have already had three other recall related issues fixed. I also called the Mitsubishi national customer hotline and was told the same thing. I am very disappointed in Mitsubishi. I feel I have no recourse..please help!

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 012006

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
- the contact stated that while driving the 2001 Mitsubishi Montero with 72000 failure mileage at 30 mph he applied hthe brake, but there was a delay in slowing and stopping the vehicle. There was recall 01V254001 repairs performed on the vehicle in December 2001. The vehicle had the same failure as stated in recall 01V254001. The contact was unhappy that the manufacturer only honored the recall once. The current mileage was 76329.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 152006

Montero 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,864 miles
: the contact stated there was a noise coming from the brake pedal and the pedal went to the floor when depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop who gave the contact recall information. There was a NHTSA recall, # 01V254001, regarding service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #6

May 022006

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,500 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake pressure at various speeds, there was a noise from underneath the dash panel area. A NHTSA recall, #01V254001 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the service brakes power assist vacuum however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?