Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,985 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mitsubishi Montero brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mitsubishi Montero:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mitsubishi Montero Owner Comments

problem #17

Apr 202013

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • 105,451 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the brake pedal was engaged and the vehicle failed to slow down. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by applying force to the brakes, shifting into neutral, and applying the emergency brake. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis who informed that the brake booster would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. There was a recall associated with a nhsta campaign id number 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 105,451....updated 07-10-13 the consumer stated the brakes locked up, because there was no fluid going to the brakes. The repair shop informed the consumer, the ABS booster and hydraulic pump needed to be replaced. Updated 07/16/13

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #16

Aug 022011

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,800 miles
My Montero was making a chirping noise. I called Mitsubishi and two dealerds at san antonio Texas to find out more about the issue. They told me my VIN did not have any recalls or safety recalls at the time. Later after the system failing I conducted research on the www and found the hydraulic brake booster accumulator was the one leaking nitrogen gas a causing the fault and the noise. I called Mitsubishi again with info but I was told that my vehicle eventhough it was showing the signs and symptoms of a bad hydraulic brake booster accumulator my vehicle's VIN was not listed on the recall list. So they were not going to honor the safety recall for my mitsibishi Montero. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #15

Aug 012011

Montero

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact stated when the brakes were applied, they made a squeaking noise, the steering column would vibrate and the anti lock brake warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel. The dealer and manufacturer advised the contact of NHTSA recall campaign id number: 01V254001 (service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum), but the VIN was not a part of the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 121,000 and the current mileage was 121,030.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #14

Feb 142011

Montero

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Mitsubishi Montero hydraulic accumulator was repaired due to the recall of the part. The hydraulic brake accumulator was recalled because it can result in a leak of nitrogen gas from the accumulator. A couple days ago on my way to work my brakes failed me once again as I was in a school zone full of children and approaching train tracks this time it was because I have a gas leak in my power booster which occurred from the accumulator which was the part that was recalled by Mitsubishi. I contacted Mitsubishi to be told that it will not be repaired by them even though I could have killed myself or someone's child. Knowing that the same problem will occur with a different part in results of the part that was recalled Mitsubishi should have recalled the entire ABS system not just the accumulator could have still happened, and death could have still happened. Now I have to replace my whole entire ABS system and the system itself cost $1500 dollars not including labor. I do not have money like that to repair my vehicle when it was not wear and tare of the vehicle but was caused by their failure ABS system. Nothing have been done to repair my truck.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #13

Dec 102010

Montero

  • 115,210 miles
When attempting to brake there was a loud noise coming from the left side out of my dashboard. Then all of a sudden my brakes would not work. The ABS light came on as well as the emergency brake light.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #12

Feb 162010

Montero

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact stated that the vehicle was losing fuel pressure abnormally and the vehicle exhibited an unusual, indescribable noise. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the contact was informed that the hydraulic brake booster accumulator would need to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 124,000 and the current mileage was approximately 153,000.

- Cambridge, MN, USA

problem #11

Apr 152009

Montero

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I also own a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero ltd. I have owned it for 6 years and have had to replace the brakes 6 times. I drive up and down the southern ca mountains, and have experienced the same same shaking a shimming as I have heard other owners express. The brakes continually wear with black "dust" around the wheels, and make the grinding and groaning sounds as well. I have not attempted to contact Mitsubishi regarding this problem, but however, am realizing that it has become a real issue, and continues to cost upwards of $600 each time I have to replace the brakes. Any assistance regarding the brakes would be greatly appreciated.

- Big Bear Lake, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 122009

Montero

  • 46,750 miles
I own a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero ltd. The brakes need to be replaced on a regular basis due to a faulty system. The rotors wear down every time and must be replaced. I have been driving autos for over 50 years and have never ever had a problem like this. There is a known problem with Mitsubishi's brakes yet they continue to tell me that my auto is not one of them. I am afraid to drive this auto and it is being stored since the last brake replacement due to the loud grinding and groaning the brakes make. The brakes also seam to shutter and cause the auto to vibrate when I try to stop. This auto was used for travel to and from il.to mi. On week ends a total trip of 132 miles each way. There are only 47,000 miles on this auto and I have had three complete brake replacements so far. Please help me, I have tried everything else to no avail. I am retired and cannot afford the constant cost to maintain this faulty product.

- River Forest, IL, USA

problem #9

Mar 162009

Montero

  • 180,000 miles
The 2002 Mitsubishi Montero has a hydraulic brake booster accumulator issue. It results in a chirping noise in the dash area and really firm brake pedal when the car is first started. Mitsubishi is aware of the issue, they sent a warranty extension to cover the issue but my car is out of the 10 year/150,000 mile warranty they extended. I still have the problem that the other cars have. I found that in my research, that Mitsubishi had a recall for the same issue for cars made in the manufactured before June 20, 2001. My car was made on April 5, 2002 and is having the same issue. Instead of them doing a safety recall for this issue, they chose to do a warranty extension. It is the same exact issue as the previous recall but they will not recall it.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #8

Sep 282008

Montero

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact heard a loud noise from underneath the dashboard when he depressed the brake pedal. He made several attempts before the vehicle came to a complete stop. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer performed a diagnostic, but found no failures. The contact scheduled an appointment with another dealer for repair service. The VIN was not included in the recall, although the failures were identical. The VIN and NHTSA campaign id number were unknown. The failure and current mileages were 73,000.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #7

Aug 132008

Montero

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On August 13th I noticed a chirping sound coming from the left dash area after the vehicle had not been driven much for a couple of weeks. On August 25th, our mechanic said there was a problem with the ABS system. He contacted Mitsubishi and was told there was a recall, arrangements were made for mitsubisihi to fix the problem and be provided free rental car and that it was fully covered under the recall. On August 26th, we were told our vehicle was not covered under the recall, that our car was made 5 months after the recall. The problem was obviously not corrected, because I have the exact recall issue and found multiple complaints filed with the NHTSA with vehicles with similar VIN #'s and the same issue. My vehicle was manufactured too close to the recall date to rule out that my vehicle also has a faulty ABS accumulator booster. Mitsubishi should also be held accountable for telling us that our vehicle did fall under the recall. We took work off to make arrangements with Mitsubishi and then they went back on their verbal guarantee to fix the vehicle and provide a rental car. It is obvious from reading other complaints and talking to other vehicle servicers that this was a serious recall. I have an undriveable vehicle that should be repaired at Mitsubishi's expense. My car is only 6 years old and already had the rotors replaced for the 3rd time, I have been told by each mechanic that this is not normal, I have obviously been driving a faulty and unsafe vehicle for several years and this is very disconcerting. Mitsubishi needs to be held accountable for their faulty part and for their verbal promise to fix the vehicle.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #6

Jul 202008

Montero

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero. The contact would hear a loud chirping noise when the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 01V027000 (service brakes, hydraulic:foundation components:hoses, lines/piping, and fittings), even though the failures were identical. The contact would have to replace the hydraulic brake booster accumulator at the cost of over $600. She is in the process of having the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer would not assist. The failure and current mileages were 92,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 232008

Montero

  • 88,000 miles
Defective hydraulic brake booster accumulator # sr-01-008revii. Mitsubushi dealer don't open recall for my 2002 Montero.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #4

Apr 092007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
Brakes making a chirping noise on driver's side of my 2002 mitsibushi Montero limited.

- St. Simons Island, GA, USA

problem #3

Jan 052007

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,036 miles
- the contact owns 2002 Mitsubishi Montero. When applying the brake pedal there was no resistance and the pedal went to the floor before stopping the vehicle. She heard a loud noise each time this occurred. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic, and he determined that the hydraulic brake booster failed. She then took her vehicle to the dealer, and they told her that the brake booster was not covered under a recall, but only under a safety bulletin. The contact would have to pay for the cost of the repairs. Updated 2/9/2007 -

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #2

May 102006

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The accumulator on my brake booster is going bad. There is a strange noise coming from the left side of the dash panel by the brake pedal. I have taken the vehicle to the Mitsubishi dealer to have the accumulator replaced since it is a safety issue. There is a recall (01V254001) on this part for my vehicle (2002 Mitsubishi Montero) produced before June 20,2001. My vehicle's VIN# is [xxx] and it is not covered in the recall because it was manufactured on or after June 20,2001. So as it stands I have a defective part installed in a vehicle that has a recall for that specific part on that specific vehicle for that specific year and it happens to not be a recall. This situation does not sound right. Updated 07/16/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

Jun 032004

Montero 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Car either fails to stop or is slow to stop resulting in several near crashes. This car has been to the dealer and to local brakes shops numerous times to no avail.

- Canton, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?