Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,667 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jul 032014

Intrigue

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V400000 (electrical system) and 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issues. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bostic, NC, USA

problem #21

Apr 012015

Intrigue

  • 94,725 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. While driving at an unknown speed, the security light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) however, the remedy failed prevent to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 94,725.

- Salem, AR, USA

problem #20

Nov 122014

Intrigue

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000. The VIN was not available.

- Lexington , NC, USA

problem #19

Oct 272014

Intrigue

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, there was a burning odor and the temperature gauge displayed that the vehicle was overheating. The contact opened the hood and discovered that the vehicle caught on fire. The fire department extinguished the fire. A police/fire report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000...updated 12/03/14 the vehicle was destroyed. Updated 12/11/14

- Asheville , NC, USA

problem #18

Sep 012014

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) in September of 2014. The recall notice stated that the parts would be available by October 1, 2014. The contact notified the dealer after October 1, 2014 and was informed that the parts were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/21/14

- Baxter, MN, USA

problem #17

Aug 132013

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • 113,043 miles
Reference recall id 14V400 (GM14350). Repeated switch failures required me to have it repaired in August 2013. I only got the GM safety recall in September 2014, over a year after I had the repairs done. GM refuses to reimburse me for the repairs in the amount of $545.84. Fortunately I was able to restart the engine when it happened each time so could get to the garage safely without a wreck, just lucky. Please help me get reimbursed. I thank you.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #16

Jun 112002

Intrigue

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car would make noise and rattle also steering became difficult, had to replace rack and pinion. The 2 nd thing is that my car would shut off any where any time and I had to replace the ignition switch. Now I find out there were recalls on both these things which I never knew that there was a recall, except for the rear seat belts. Now, I, my family or numerous people on the road could have gotten killed when my car shut off. I find out that GM knew about these things and never told me? that makes me very angry and I don't appreciate all the money that fixing these things cost me.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #15

Apr 022012

Intrigue

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times. The warning indicators illuminated and the vehicle lost power each time the failure occurred. Also, excessive force had to be applied to the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Barberton, OH, USA

problem #14

Apr 011999

Intrigue

  • 5,000 miles
In 1998-99 I purchased a new Intrigue. In the 2 years it was owned I had 6-8 episodes of the engine shutting down while driving including high speed driving. The car would suddenly stop with out warning and come to an eventual stop. Repeated trips to the dealer failed to find a cause. They suspected a fuel line issue but could not id the cause. I sold the vehicle after 2 years of ownership, long before I intended to do so.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 142014

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Knee jostled key while driving which turned ignition into off and caused all electrical systems to turn off. Was able to slowly stop car and maneuver safely. Restarted car once stopped.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #12

Jul 242012

Intrigue

  • 230,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car quit running. Wont start or even click. Would like to find a fix.

- Stockport, OH, USA

problem #11

Mar 132001

Intrigue

  • miles
Recall id 75918- engine and engine cooling GMC owner center, I own a 1998 Oldsmobile and has had several problems with the window regulators failing, signal lights, electrical, cooling system and coolant warning light since owning the vehicle in 2000. Engine and gaskets have blown, water temp has blown and after costly repairs, the low coolant light still goes off and on. Dealership always have to have light on to detect issues and still never detect anything. My coolant and levels are always checked and filled and the light still triggers on and off for awhile then return on again throughout car history. In 2008 my coolant light was acting up and I had vehicle checked out and fluids at appropriate level. Vehicle ended up overheating on interstate and I had to replace water pump and something else. Light went out for awhile and vehicle checked out. In 2009 light came on and vehicle checked and all fluid levels correct. Light still comes on and blinks and goes off for awhile. Smells like oil or something burning in car. I was on consumer recall site and saw this engine and engine cooling recall from 2009 regarding the spark plug wire retention. I don't recall receiving this notification. I believe the last recall letter I received was in 2008 regarding the steering. My vehicle was taken to shop for that and checked out at that time. Can I still have my spark plug wire retainers replaced for this recall?

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #10

Nov 152009

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
We purchased a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue in October of 2009. Within just a few weeks, we began experiencing difficulty with the passlock security system. Our keys were not being recognized. This resulted in periodic stalling, sometimes while trying to get through an intersection. The problem has gotten so bad that we are unable to start the car at all. Many people are experiencing this same problem. Please make GM pay for this repair.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #9

Jul 202009

Intrigue

  • 150,000 miles
I received a letter in may stating that GM was recalling my car for possible engine fires (recall 09047). I called the number provided and was routed to one of the local dealers, who told me that they couldn't do anything with it until late July or August and to call back for an appointment then. Yesterday, 7/20/09, my car burned to a crisp. According to the firemen, it was an electrical fire that started under the hood somewhere and it burned so hot and so fast that they were unable to salvage it. The fire engines are kept literally a block away from where the fire occurred. They responded within minutes and still the entire engine contents fried right up. My car is a total loss. Today I have spent just over two hours on the phone with GM customer service, I have had to escalate the calls twice and call back to them twice and once to the local dealer and all anyone will say is they will contact me within 5 business days and to save the vehicle so they can investigate it. I have nowhere to store this car in it's current state. It is a major fire hazard-especially with our current warm weather/dry conditions and it's full tank of gas. GM informed me that if I make the decision to have it moved to a junk yard to take lots of pictures before that happens. I informed them that I cannot keep the vehicle here, due to it's fire hazard to the other residents on my block-their half a million dollar homes and their vehicles that are parked in the same area.

- Mukilteo, WA, USA

problem #8

Jun 152009

Intrigue

  • 80,000 miles
Car refuses to start, leaving driver helpless. Occurs intermittently without warning (more frequently over time). Research on internet identifies this as a common problem with GM passlock. Although a common problem it is unclear what the problem really is - seems the solution is to have the system replaced by the dealer. This is extremely dangerous to a vulnerable person dependent upon the automobile.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #7

Apr 162009

Intrigue

  • 127,000 miles
Car refuses to start, leaving driver helpless. Occurs intermittently without warning. Research on internet identifies this as a common problem with GM passlock. This is extremely dangerous to a vulnerable person dependent upon the automobile.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 232005

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. While driving at any speed the vehicle stalled. The dashboard lights came on only after the car stalled. Had coast to the side of the road, tried several times to restart vehicle. It finally restarted. After several days vehicle stalled again. Had the car on diagnostic test and they could not duplicate the problem or find anything anything wrong. Diagnostic test was done twice. Replaced all the gaskets, the brain box, fuel filter. Spent several thousands of dollars for repairs. This problem started about 6 months ago. Updated 11/02/05

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #5

Oct 012004

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving vehicle stalled. The consumer was unable to restart vehicle, and had it towed to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic determined that the battery cables needed replacement due to corrosion. The battery post leaked acid which melted and fused the post. The coolant light was intermittent, and the A/C control head did not read properly.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 172004

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,900 miles
1. rack & pinion failure, 2. serpentine belt tensioner failure (@approx 45000 mi) 3. L rr seatbelt installed twisted at factory- shoulder strap wouldn't lock for child safetyseat, dealer fixed. 4. warped front rotors, 5. I have experienced the dash going haywire or completely out accompanied by the sensation of a slipping trans and sluggish/clunking steering (twice, once about 8 months ago and about a week before the R&P failure) 6. two tires have had belt separation.

- Highland, IN, USA

problem #3

Apr 282003

(reported on)

Intrigue

  • miles
While driving with the air conditioner on, the lights became dim. The manufacturer was aware of the problem but had not found a remedy.

- Macon, MS, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?