Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 5
Average Mileage:
59,920 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Pontiac G5 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Pontiac G5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Pontiac G5 Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 252015


  • 125,000 miles


Reference NHTSA id number10850549--loss of left front speaker chimes and radio sound --ok after both speakers were replaced--after a while problem returned intermittently on the left front speaker again-- finally had an "epiphany" and removed corrosion on the harness pigtail connector which pushes onto the left front speaker lugs using Q tips, small screwdriver and great care using contact cleaner liquid from a small 2 ounce spray can of deoxit-D100 made by caig lab Inc of poway, cal.--website got my can from you-do-it electronics in needham mass.-tel:781-449-1005--suggestion-after removing the pigtail connector from the speaker place an old towel between the pigtail connector and the speaker to prevent overspray from landing on anything but the pigtail connector--fortunately the can has a metered "one shot" type spray every time you press the button on the can--after wetting the harness pigtail connector thoroughly I pushed it onto the left speaker connector and removed it after waiting several minutes--then repeated this procedure several times----that was the end of the problem!! the biggest problem was the need to remove the left front door panel to gain access to the speaker but it was well worth it since I listen to the radio a lot. Mostly jazz!! good luck

- Norwell, MA, USA

problem #17

Mar 262016


  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G5. The contact stated that after refueling the vehicle, it would not start. After several attempts for approximately 20 minutes, the vehicle was able to start. The contact mentioned that the ignition switch was replaced in 2014. The failure occurred on approximately six occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000.

- Hudson, FL, USA

problem #16

Oct 202013


  • miles
All chimes have stopped working. Front speakers out as well. Noticed for the last year or so that when the speakers kick out (makes no difference if driving or stationary), the chimes stop working. No "key in the ignition" alarm, no turn signal clicking, no seat belt alarm, etc. When it does work, everything works. When it goes out, it all goes out at once. Now I have to replace the turn signal assy. Because the internal white plastic piece that kicks off the turn signal lights is broken. I have seen many posts for the alarm chime issue from different blogs, but GM still insists they have never heard of the problem. I am now at 99,765 miles on a 10 year old car. I would like to get this fixed.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #15

Aug 052015


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G5. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the driver to lose control of the vehicle and crash into a ditch. During the crash, the seat belts failed to retract and the air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained a concussion and upper torso trauma and the front passenger suffered a fractured neck, vertebrae, and a concussion. Both occupants required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Concrete, WA, USA

problem #14

Apr 012014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G5. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system); however, the part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

May 312014


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G5. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. All warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer who repaired the vehicle under the recall; however, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Westminister, MD, USA

problem #12

Nov 012014

G5 4-cyl

  • miles


2008 Pontiac G5. Consumer writes in regards to ignition recall issues. The consumer stated the original ignition recall was fixed in early November 2014, after the key would not come out of the ignition and the vehicle had to be towed. The consumer experienced another failure on January 20, 2015. It was towed the dealer. The dealer informed the consumer a shifter assembly was needed. However, the part was on national back order.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #11

Nov 152014


  • 105,000 miles
Purchased above vehicle used 2 weeks ago has the following recalls campaign number: 12V459000 campaign number: 14V047000 campaign number: 14E021000 car has issues dying on the freeway when bumps are hit and reeks of gasoline when decelerating or operated for short periods of time GM was contacted on their 1-800 line today 11/17/14 they have refused to perform the recall on this auto mobile stating its a "branded title" from Oklahoma if I wanted it addressed to call the state of ok"??" allowing corporates to defy regulations is not the way to protect the public!!!!!!! vehicle will not pass required emissions testing with the fuel pump puking gasoline it is unusable until repaired.

- Ft Worth , TX, USA

problem #10

Sep 182014


  • 89,500 miles
The front speakers of the radio system intermittently fail to work. At the same time, the turn signals stopped making the blinking sound--both randomly return then disappear again. Also, the cabin air filter makes a clicking sound as it goes from recycled air to letting outside air in.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #9

Sep 042014

G5 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
I have received multiple "important safety recall" letters and post cards from GM and Pontiac urging me to have the defective ignition & start switch that was installed in my vehicle replaced. I received letters when they first acknowledged the issue, letters saying that parts would be available soon, letters when parts started to become available, etc. A month ago I contacted my local GM dealership so they could order the parts as instructed and was told I would be contacted when they arrived. I was informed last week that the parts had arrived and was given a 10am service time for today (9/4/14). I arrived to get the work done, signed the paper to allow them to do the work, and had a seat in the waiting room. Approximately 50 minutes later I was approached and informed that GM would not authorize the work to be done because my car has an "altered" title (it had some front end damage 50,000 miles ago that was fixed 100% with original GM parts). No where in any of the notifications that I received did it mention this. I asked how that could be considering as of February of this year 13 deaths stemming from this fatal design flaw had already been admitted to by GM...I was told it was GM policy and there was nothing the dealership could do about. I asked what front end damage had to do with a fatal design flaw in another area of the car...I was told it was GM policy and there was nothing the dealership could do about. How in this day can a company, that has admitted that they have installed a faulty part in numerous vehicles that has lead to the loss of human life, wipe their hands of the situation because a vehicle has and "altered" title"? I have been waiting to sell my G5 for over a month now, wanting to make sure the next owner was safe and the vehicle was in the best possible shape...but how do I do that now when GM will not honor their own recalls"

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #8

Apr 062014


  • miles


TL * the contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G5. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that the parts for the repair were unavailable. The dealer and manufacturer did not know when the parts would arrive. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

May 202014


  • 30,000 miles
Daytime running lamps stopped working on my vehicle. Took my car to a mechanic and he noted that the wiring harness for the daytime running lights and headlights was burnt to a crisp. Could not believe my eyes. My car is factory original and never been in a wreck so there is no excuse for this electrical failure. Daytime running lights are a safety feature according to General Motors and now I feel like my car is less safe because of this problem! help!

- Lucas, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 132014


  • 80,000 miles
Front left driver door speaker in my car will stop working when it rains and has to be replaced. There is a design flaw with this car because the door has a drain tube that is right over the speaker connection and will cause the speaker to short circuit. I normally wouldn't complain about this defect but the front driver door speaker is what is used for the warning and safety chimes that the car is supposed to make when you start your vehicle and while you use it. Now that my speaker needs to be replaced, I have no turn signal sounds, no warning chimes when I start my car to remind me to put on my seatbelt, no warning sound that I've left my key in the ignition, and if my power steering were to go out I'd have no audible warning tone. Very unsafe!

- Lucas, TX, USA

problem #5

Feb 112014

G5 4-cyl

  • 75,069 miles
Dashboard lights went awry. Gauge needles floated about giving false readings on speed and gas tank gas level. Lost power steering. Dealer replaced ignition switch & reset the computer for $390.73. Same problem recurred weeks later. 03/18/2014, another GM dealer inspected for $158 & found we need to replace the steering module and column for $1055. I am expecting a recall letter in mid-April. I live in a small town and need to drive my only vehicle although the dealer warned me that the car is in dangerous condition. I hope the recall includes my needed repairs and reimburses me for documented related costs.

- Cameron Park, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 172014


  • 67,000 miles
I'm experiencing issues with my airbag light. It keeps coming on and off at random times. After much research I have found that many people with the Pontiac G5's have the same issue that I am having and this is due to improper wiring under the passenger side seat of the car. I have contacted the Pontiac dealership and the GM dealership and they both claim that they do not know what would be causing my airbag light to be going on and off and the only way to diagnose the issue is to pay $100 just to tell me whether or not faulty wiring is the issue. I'm paranoid to drive my car because I'm afraid that there could be something wrong with my airbag or maybe it is just faulty wiring. I think this is something that should be recalled since there are so many people with this same exact issue. As a matter of fact there is an entire website devoted for people who have this issue. I can't get my inspection done because the light just pops on randomly. If this is a wiring issue that so many people are having, why isn't GM being held liable for the issue" why is the airbag only covered if it is deployed" this has been going on for a couple weeks on and off and I would really appreciate some kind of response or just a way to handle this. I am a full time student and I do not have $100 lying around to have someone run a diagnostic and then pay even more just to fix a wire.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #3

Dec 092011


  • 83,000 miles
The engine compartment of my sons 2008 Pontiac G5 burnt up today. It was parked outside our home. The fire department said it was electrical in nature and that it appeared to start in an area near the drivers side wheel. It appears to be a total loss.

- Powhatan Point , OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 102011


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G5. The contact was unable to turn the vehicle off and remove the key from the ignition. In order to shut the vehicle off the contact had to disconnect the battery. A mechanic from an authorized dealer was able to assist the contact with restarting the vehicle. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told that the mechanisms within the steering column fractured, leading to the failure. The vehicle was in the process of having the mechanisms within the steering column repaired. The failure and current mileages were 44,000.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #1

Jun 222008


  • miles
Approaching a busy intersection, my Pontiac G5's brakes failed to work. I could tell the hydraulics systems was working as I could hear metal on metal but it did nothing to slow down the vehicle. The vehicle's cdr showed the vehicle accelerating at full throttle although I know my foot was on the brake pedal as evidenced by the metal on metal sound. Plus a witness saw smoke coming from my vehicle. I was able to turn prior to going through the intersection and aimed for a fire hydrant to try to slow down. It did nothing to slow the vehicle, I tried to turn right to join the traffic direction, but the steering did not work. I then hit another vehicle.

- Metairie, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?