Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension Problems

2004 Pontiac GTO (Page 2 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,635 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Pontiac GTO suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Pontiac GTO:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Pontiac GTO Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Apr 192007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,100 miles


Noticed front tire strut rub recently after finding an article done by cleveland newsnet 5.

- East Bethel, MN, USA

problem #26

Mar 272007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,589 miles
I dropped off my 2004 Pontiac GTO at the local dealership on about 3/21/07 for a number of warranty issues. One of the "issues" to be checked was a slight vibration in the steering wheel. The dealership stated the problem was due to wheel alignment and all four tires needed to be replaced. I don't drive the car in inclement weather, avoid potholes, and there was no pulling to either side. As I had only 15,589 miles on the vehicle, I declined the alignment & tires when called by the service representative. Upon pickup, the rep indicated the tire were extremely dangerous and pointed out how the steel belts were showing on the inside of the right front tire. The rep indicated that tire replacement on this vehicle was common for that mileage. Researching on the internet disclosed these tires have a 35,000 warranty and that there had been other complaints related to premature tire wear on 2004 and 2005 Gtos. Complaints have been filed stating the tires were rubbing the struts, primarily front left, causing the premature failures. Today, March 30, I pulled the front left tire off the vehicle to look at the tire and strut. There are obvious wear marks on the strut and a groove cut into the inside of the tire. All four tires have excessive wear on the inside due to regular tire rotation. It appears GM misaligned the wheels at the factory and installed too large of tires creating a situation of inadequate spacing between the struts and the tires. I have requested GM rectify the situation and am waiting for its reply. I am filing this complaint with NHTSA because this is a serious safety concern that may result in fatal accidents due to tire blowouts caused by inaccurate alignment and insufficient clearance. Please investigate this issue and require the manufacturer to recall 2004 and 2005 Gtos and rectify this dangerous situation.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #25

Mar 292007


  • miles
I have a 2004 Pontiac GTO with 26,000 miles on it. Every tire has abnormal wearing on the inside of the tire. It is obvious that is rubbing on the suspension because a part of the suspension is rubbed clean and the rest of it is dirty. I have called my dealer and they said they do not know of there being any problems with it. I saw on the news and the NHTSA web site that there is a pending investigation into this problem and would like to support others with this problem and would like my voice to be heard. Thanks and have a great day.

- Toledo, MI, USA

problem #24

Sep 212006


  • Manual transmission
  • 13,344 miles


Noticed steering wheel shaking at 50 mph and above. Took to dealer to have looked at because the steering column assembly had been replaced. Once dealer was done I was told the tires had some wear and needed an alignment. At this time I only had 13,334 miles was then parked the car for winter. Over winter I have seen on the news about tire rub on the GTO and cars having blow outs. So now at 15,000 miles my tires on the front are completely waste and the steel belt is showing through the tire. The tires have not been replaced at this time and car is going back to dealer again. I have had this GTO into the dealer for multiple reasons over the past 2 years.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #23

Jan 162007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Pontiac GTO, and had to replace all 4 tires at 21,000 miles because the tires were rubbing the front strut and premature tire wear developed on the insides of the tire. The contact tried to get reimbursed for the tires from the manufacturer, but they stated that they wouldn't be able to reimburse the contact since they bought the tires at an independent tire shop. The current mileage was 23000. Consumer stated no longer owns vehicle. Update 4/9

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #22

Mar 132007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
To whom this may concern, I'm writing about my 2004 Pontiac GTO front tire & strut rub issue! since purchasing the GTO in 2004 I've had to replace my front tires 3 times due to the strut rubbing and tearing the inside of my tires apart. Plus, last night 3/13/07 after a drive I checked the tires I just recently purchased in November '06 and low and behold they are completely shredded down to the thread. So once again I had to call and order new tires and spend more money on a problem that should've been addressed from the start. This is very dangerous as I have a family and am very concerned that if I'm driving on the freeway or just around town that my tires will explode and will cause me or whoever in my family is driving the car to lose control and perhaps lose their life. Please address this issue with Pontiac before people lose their lives!

- Glenwood, IL, USA

problem #21

Mar 092007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles


Strut tower rubbing on tires causing dangerous amount of wear. The tires on my 2004 Pontiac GTO show severe wear on the inside corner edges, excessive wear and cupping are prominent. Tires have under 30,000 highway miles, normal commute driving (this is my daily driver not a race car). Even with regular rotation, the tires are so badly worn that the belts are almost exposed. I believe this may be due to the 2004 GTO problem of strut tower rubbing. Contact with the strut tower is visibly evident on the strut. I mentioned this to my GM dealer who performed service on my vehicle and they were unaware of any known issues with the GTO.

- Whitinsville, MA, USA

problem #20

Mar 062007

GTO 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We have a 2004 GTO with 18,000 miles on it. 2 weeks ago I was driving on the interstate and I heard a loud banging noise coming from the passenger side of the car. My husband noticed that there was a 8 inch by 2 inch piece of rubber that had pealed off of the inside of the tire and was rubbing against something making the noise. 1 week later another piece on the same tire had peeled loose and was knocking up against the wheel well of the car. I took the car to classic Pontiac and they told me to leave the car over night so that they could get a better look at it and that it was too dangerous to drive. I was then told by a co-worker that she saw something on channel 5 news that GTO's were having a problem with the tires rubbing up against the shocks. I did not receive anything in the mail for a re-call on my car. I will let you know what classic Pontiac does to repair my car.

- Painesville, OH, USA

problem #19

Mar 042007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 29,537 miles
1) right front tire rub on the strut. 2) excessive tire wear down to the cords, the only reason I noticed the problem is because I change my own oil. If I had not noticed the problem I would have had a blowout any day. I have pics of the tires and rub marks on the strut if needed. 3) I have ordered new tires at my own expense. I am going to call the dealer and have things looked at regarding the strut rub & alignment.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #18

Oct 172006


  • 20,000 miles
I would like to add my vehicle to the complaint list about the '04 Pontiac GTO tire wear problem where the front tires contact the struts. I became aware of the problem at 20,000 miles when I was doing my 5,000 mile tire rotation and found both front tires with abnormal wear where the sidewall meets the tread. I brought this to the attention of my dealer and directed them to see other complaints identical to mine as shown on They said they new of no service bulletins released yet. I removed the original wheels from the car and replaced them with properly offset ones. The dealer did an alignment and found one wheel was in camber limits and the other was slightly out. Both indicated wear, but the one that was out of alignment by.3 degrees was worn down to metal strands. No damage occurred other than that to my original tires and wallet for replacement.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #17

Dec 202006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 5,000 miles


- the contact has owns 2004 Pontiac GTO. The contact stated that the front tires were rubbing on the struts. The car shook very badly due to the tire rubbing against the strut. This happened with only 5,000 miles on the tires, and the tires had to be replaced. The contact he replaced the tires, and the next set of tires did the exact samething. This happened only with the front tires. The contact sold the vehicle for that reason, because the manufacturer would not even look at the vehicle. The contact stated that the problem with the vehicle was under warranty at the time he was refused the repair. The current mileage was 26000. Updated 03/30/07.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #16

Feb 252007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Since 2004 about 6 months after I bought my Pontiac GTO I have put 3 sets of front tires on the car. The inside edge of front tires wear away GM told me it was alignment I have been aligning the front now since and I still put front tires on. Now I hear there is an investigation please help send me info on investigation.

- Denver, PA, USA

problem #15

Aug 032005

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 17,808 miles
Front tire rubbing on strut to cause failure. Tire blew, no one hurt. Was fixed for free/ reimbursement. Back in dealer total of 4 times for a total of $389.72. Found out from news channel 5 in cleveland, Ohio about govt investigation on the 04 and 05 Pontiac GTO's. car has not been driving right ever since, still have problems and very tired of fighting with dealership.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #14

Feb 182007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
Strut rubs on both tires - Pontiac dealerships will not do anything to fix the problem.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #13

Jul 032006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,808 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Pontiac GTO. The front 17 inch passenger and driver tires rubbed against the struts and caused the tires to wear out prematurely. The steering wheel vibrated while driving but it no longer occurred after the alignment. The failure mileage was 16,808. The contact read on the internet related complaints, and was aware of the NHTSA investigation. Also, he was aware that the tire failure could cause a blowout. The dealer replaced the tires and aligned them at no cost to him. The contact owns B.F. goodrich tires, tire line name gforce T/a kdws, tire size P245/45/17W. The current mileage was 20,000. The driver side power seat jerked. Updated 03/30/07. 8jb

- Aliso Viejo , CA, USA

problem #12

May 102006


  • miles
Front tires rub against strut wearing down the inside wall of tire to where metal wires in tire showing. Had to replace all tires.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #11

Feb 212007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 18,800 miles
2004 GTO, original owner, tires wearing on the inside 1-1/2 to 2" tread due to rubbing on struts. At 19,000 miles, surprised to find next to no tread on the inside edges. Replaced tires with same original specs. Wheels are aligned but still rubbing on strut towers. On-going problem. Premature tire wear.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 162007

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Pontiac GTO. When the vehicle's odometer reached 16,000 miles he could hear a rubbing noise from both front tires. Upon closer inspection he noticed the inside of the tire was rubbing against the struts on both front tires. The contact rotated all 4 tires when it had 6,000 miles. The contact took the vehicle to the dealership and they suggested that the contact should pay for an alignment. The current mileage was 16400. Update/23/07

- Myrtle Creek, OR, USA

problem #9

Aug 202006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Around 16,000 miles I noticed my tires had been subject to inside wear caused by the strut on my Pontiac GTO. In order to have it fixed, I needed a new alignment (to new specs released internally to GM in their tac system to fix the known problem) and four new tires. After battling with GM over a week, GM agreed to cover the alignment and only two out of the four tires. I had to purchase the other two at my cost. I opted not to replace the other two until winter, in which I replaced all four to put better tires on the car. The problem is not solved, due to the differences in sizes that the car was designed for, and the car needs constant realignment to keep everything in spec to prevent wearing of the tires.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #8

Nov 282006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Inside of front tires rubbing struts, causing uneven and accelerated tire wear.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?