Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension: Front Problems

2006 Pontiac GTO (Page 3 of 4)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,266 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac GTO suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac GTO:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac GTO Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Aug 212006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both front strut failed! GM has acknowledged that all struts put on GTO's from January to May 2006 are bad but has not yet recalled the vehicle to fix the problem. Due to the low numbers of vehicles produced, they have not received enough complaints to voluntarily recall the defective cars. The struts leak oil from the factory and degrade/destroy all non-metal suspension components that the oil comes in contact with. The oil also degrades the undercoating when it comes in contact with strut oil.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #31

Aug 022006

GTO

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160 miles
2006 GTO began leaking fluid at 160 miles. Told by dealership service that the vehicle was safe to drive, leaking steering fluid. At 200 miles began shaking, vibrating, making loud noise. Returned to dealership service. Advised design defect in struts, not safe to drive. Research since shows many, many GTO owners are having strut failure almost immediately.

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #30

Aug 202006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 533 miles
Front strut leaking. There is a small pool of oil on my driveway from 2006 Pontiac GTO. I checked and it's coming from my front driver's side strut.

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 052006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

New 2006 Pontiac GTO delivered 7/21/06. Noticed front end making clunking noise over small bumps 8/5/06. Took to dealer on 8/8/06 with 360 miles on car and told front struts and sway bar bushings had failed. Still waiting for parts and repairs.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #28

Aug 152006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 50 miles
Purchased a 2006 Pontiac GTO on 8-13-06. Both front struts leaked oil and totally failed by 8-15-06. Less than 100 miles on vehicle.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #27

Aug 042006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 22,000 miles
While driving both front struts blew and stripped insides off each front tires. Could have been fatal if I didn't hear the strips of rubber flapping against wheel well. Please find a way to recall these cars before someone is killed. Pontiac is no help. Will no even return calls for information.

- Sterrett, AL, USA

problem #26

Aug 102006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front struts leaking.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #25

Aug 102006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
Front struts leaking oil after 800 miles.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #24

Aug 132006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,191 miles
I have had my 2006 GTO for 3 weeks and it has <1200 miles. Both front struts are leaking oil all over the wheel well. The dealership service department told me that it is safe to drive.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #23

Aug 032006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 750 miles
After only 800 miles, my drivers side front strut has failed.

- Minooka, IL, USA

problem #22

Jul 102006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2006 Pontiac GTO June 10, 2006. Approx 4 weeks later I noticed front end noises and a degradation in front end vehicle stability. Even modest bumps would cause the car to bounce repeatedly. The dealership has confirmed both front struts failed yet they felt comfortable having me drive the car while I waited for new struts. I have parked the car and will not drive it until it is repaired.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #21

Jul 052006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 543 miles
1. driving 500 miles lead to the failure of front struts on my 2006 Pontiac GTO. 2. the struts are completely gone and it causes a safety issue that would be considered a safety inspection failure in Massachusetts. Also, not having front struts that work properly can cause serious damage to the car, including tires, rims, front end and frame damage. 3. no one seems to be able to get any replacements to fix the problem. There is a huge safety problem here that needed to be address as soon as possible before people get hurt.

- West Roxbury, MA, USA

problem #20

Aug 072006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 730 miles
Right front strut is leaking oil after two weeks of ownership. GM has recognized that there is an issue with this part, but will not issue an official recall. This is clearly a safety issue as it affects the handling of the vehicle and could be detrimental in an emergency situation.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #19

Aug 052006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 450 miles
I bought this vehicle brand new in the middle of July, 2006. Several days ago I noticed the left front strut appeared to be leaking fluid. The vehicle did not yet even have 500 miles. The leak does not appear to be hazardous and the car is drivable however it does not ride correctly. I took it to the dealer today, 8-8-2006, and they confirmed it was leaking and said they would order one. They said it was to arrive in a week.

- North Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #18

Jul 012006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 50 miles
Bought 06 Pontiac GTO new on 6-30. Noticed puddle under driver side on 7-1-06. Contacted dealer on 7-3-06. Took into dealer on 7-3-06 and told not to drive car if possible and bring back when parts arrived. Garaged car until returning to dealer on 7-20. Noticed another puddle on passenger side on 7-20-06. Dealer states car is unsafe due to strut oil on brake pads, has had car since 7-20-06. Pontiac states this is the first they've heard of it. I later find out it's a problem on all 06 GTO's and parts are unavailabe to fix. Still at dealership waiting for parts as of 8-8-06.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #17

Aug 012006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 800 miles
With less than 1000 miles on my '06 GTO my strut "blew" and started leaking. This is a very well know issue. The cause is known. The exact cars affected can be identified. There should be appropriate action taken. I am fortunate enough to be web-savvy, so I was able to identify the problem, but others may not be so lucky. They might find out when one of these things fails at a lethal time. It's bound to happen...

- Walker, MI, USA

problem #16

Jul 182006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 500 miles
Buy new 06 Pontiac GTO, 3 days latter drive car to salt lake city, get there and have oil all down both sides of car and oil dripping from front wheel wells, cant see oil source so we turn around and head home. First canyon we hit there was bumps in road, front tires start bouncing and car slides sideways right off the road, we got the car to a stop without hitting anything, it was late so we decided to try and continue cautiously, that's when we noticed the bounce in the front end and realized we no longer had shocks, only springs in the front end. We made it home safely and contacted the dealer, I have been getting a run around from them ever since, I argued with the service manager for a loaner vehicle and he insisted the car was safe to drive, the struts have to come from australia and are on back order so there's no telling when they will be here, after researching this problem on the internet I find this is a common problem with all new GTO's, see ls2gto.com.

- Green River , WY, USA

problem #15

Jul 312006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,100 miles
Both front struts leaking oil, sway bar bushing missing and end link installed backwards. Very poor customer service from Pontiac.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 252006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,600 miles
Drivers side front strut leaking oil.

- Vernon, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jul 272006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Driver side has oil on wheel well area. March 06 build date. 1000 miles. All struts are on backorder.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?