Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension: Front: Macpherson Strut Problems

2006 Pontiac GTO (Page 2 of 4)

9.3

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,534 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac GTO suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac GTO:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac GTO Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Jul 162006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 875 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front strut failure. The front struts on the 06 Pontiac GTO with a build date 02/06 seem to have strut failure. The car may lose control.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #49

Jul 152006

GTO

  • miles
Have new 2006 Pontiac GTO with less than 1000 miles on it. Right front strut began leaking and after a few days has failed completely -- I can see that the seal has slid down the shaft and is resting against the bottom linkage. Brought it to the Pontiac dealer and was told that there are no replacements available right now...was put on some kind of list. I asked if it was safe to drive and the dealer said "I don't know."

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #48

Jul 032006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 8 miles
2006 Pontiac GTO with a build date of Feb 2006 has had a front strut failure since delivery of the car on 7/3/06. The front struts leak oil all over the front suspension and garage floor and strut dampening ability has been greatly reduced causing unstable highway driving. This is a common problem with the batch of monroe shocks put on the Feb 2006 GTO's.

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #47

Jun 152006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 480 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Pontiac GTO blew 2 front macpherson struts shortly after I purchased the vehicle on 6-6-06. The dealership was not able to acquire new struts because they were on backorder. Therefore, the dealership pulled struts out of a new GTO on the lot and installed them in my car. One week later they blew out as well. During extensive research on the internet forums, I have found many many people who have blown front struts in their 2006 GTO' S. they have all been GTO's that have a completion date of either January or February 2006. The dealership that I bought my car from has contacted GM to find out if this has been a problem and their response has been to see how hard am I driving the vehicle. The dealer said they are not admitting a problem with their struts. This is a performance car and as such people will drive them like a performance car and if they happen to blow a strut during a racing maneuver it could be deadly. I feel that they should alert the consumer of theses vehicles with a service bulletin to inspect these January and February vehicles. All that is needed is to go to a GTO forum online to see peoples responses I.e. ls2gto.com or newagegto.com are a couple. For GM not to admit a problem with these struts is aggravating. You don't have a national backorder for no reason at all. It took 2 1/2 weeks for brand new struts to come in for my GTO. I also had to wait for other parts that were back ordered because of all the oil that leaks out of the struts causes problems with these other parts. You spend $40000 on a vehicle and to have someone say that maybe it is the way I'm driving the vehicle is insulting. To blow 2 sets of front struts out in a performance car in under 500 miles is a little extreme. I just hope to raise awareness to GM so they satisfy the customer before something bad could happen.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #46

Jul 152006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 900 miles
With fewer than 900 miles on the odometer since new, my 2006 Pontiac GTO began leaking oil from the driver side strut into the wheel well and along the underbody of the car. The strut will need to be replaced. Dealership will replace with identical part#.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #45

Jul 052006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,525 miles
Both front struts leaking by 1000 miles. Build date 2/06.

- Umatilla, FL, USA

problem #44

Jul 152006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 23 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Strut failure on my 2006 Pontiac GTO (with 67 total miles). Struts are leaking fluid on the garage floor and oil is getting all over the undercarriage of the vehicle.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #43

Jul 142006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 130 miles
Both front struts leaking oil. Passenger side much worse than driver side. Both the car and the struts have build dates of March 06. Problem first noticed with only 120 miles on the car.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #42

Jul 122006

GTO

  • miles
I had not been driving my new 2006 Pontiac GTO for more than a week when I noticed the left front strut was leaking oil. The car had less than 500 miles on it, and was not abused during that time. I anticipate the dealer will be replacing the strut under the warranty of the car.

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #41

Jun 252006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 600 miles
1. none, my 2006 Pontiac GTO was purchased brand new and I only got to enjoy it 600 miles before parts failure. 2. both front struts failed, resulting in no front body movement control and oil all over. The oil also caused the bushings on the front suspension to fail resulting in horrible noises. The car was not drivable until it was repaired. 3. the dealership replaced both front struts and the front stabilizer. Days later the driver's side is clunking and leaking oil again. The old parts are not available.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #40

Jul 152006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Left front strut leaking oil.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #39

Jul 142006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
2006 Pontiac GTO -- 250 miles-- front struts are defective all fluid has leaked out on to wheels, brakes, suspension parts and rubber bushings and grommets. Numerous other owners are experiencing the same problem. Possibly damaged during shipment from australia.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #38

Jul 142006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
Myself along with many other 2006 GTO manufactured in Feb 2006 have leaky front struts and poor ride quality. It seems that GM should be aware of the problem and perform a recall to get this issue fixed.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #37

Jul 132006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 650 miles
Under normal driving the strut leaked, at 600 miles on new Pontiac GTO. There seems to be no replacement parts!!! could be a safety issue at high speed. Dealer service dept. Told me to drive it until a strut can be found!! GTO forum on internet said there have been 26 complaints so far!!!!!!!!

- Bastrop , LA, USA

problem #36

Jul 122006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 701 miles
2006 Pontiac GTO front strut failure. There is fluid leaking out of my front strut and also a clanking sound coming from the same area. Handling is very loose and can be dangerous. I'm bringing the car in for service at the dealer for warranty work.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #35

Jul 102006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 100 miles
2006 Pontiac GTO both front struts blew at 100 miles covering entire undercarriage and wheel wells with oil this is happening to 1000's of vehicles and GMC is not notifying dealers or consumers of this. This issue can lead to suspension failure and or vehicle fire. The oil is also destroying front bushings and stabilizer bar. And brakes are also affected. Pontiac is ignoring issue and no recall has been issued.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #34

Jul 112006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 260 miles
2006 Pontiac GTO front driver's side strut leaking fluid. Bought car brand new on 6/30/06, has 298 miles on it. Noticed oil in garage floor under front driver's wheel on 7/11/06 at about 270 miles.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #33

Jul 022006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Failure of front struts on 2006 Pontiac GTO with 3,000 miles.

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #32

Jul 112006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 500 miles
Bought the car and the next day started to make occasional noises in the front end when turning. Found leaking fluid on garage floors on both sides where the struts are. Took into the dealer today and they are replacing them.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 232006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Leaky front struts.

- Springfield, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?