Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2006 Pontiac Solstice (Page 1 of 2)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,410 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac Solstice electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac Solstice:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac Solstice Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jun 252016


  • 82,280 miles


Blower motor resistor shorted out and melted and also melted the wiring harness as well. This occurred while driving down the highway. I smelled smoke and then seen it coming out from under the dash on passenger side. This seems to be a common problem see link. there was a recall on the H3 Hummer for this same problem. The Hummer and Pontiac use the same part # from factory. these links outline many people that have the same issue as myself. I dont understand why GM knowingly uses same parts on various vehicles and only recalls one in specific. It is obvious there is a problem. I hope this will

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #21

Apr 202016


  • miles
Petition for NHTSA to commence proceedings for an investigation of the 2006 - 2010 Pontiac Solstice and the 2007 -2010 Saturn sky, specifically the area of air bags electrical system (cd enclosed). The consumer stated the above mentioned vehicle had repeated failures of the passenger sensing system (pss) sensor mat. Over time, the mat will kink and fold with use and eventually a break will develop in the circuitry of the sensor mat causing a failure and possibly leading to the passenger air bag not deploying in the case of an accident.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 152015


  • 19,500 miles
Same problem as stated by many Solstice customers...air bag warning light for passenger side is constantly on...certified dealer says passenger side air bag sensor is defective...this is a severe liability issue that can result in serious injury or death...GM should announce an immediate recall to have this defect repaired before injury or death is caused by their negligence...lawsuit waiting to happen.

- Pawleys Island, SC, USA

problem #19

Apr 132015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp flashed indicating to service the air bags. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was to be taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Charles Town, WV, USA

problem #18

Nov 012009

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 26,011 miles
Daughters in 2006 Solstice. Drunk driver ran red light going 50 mph and hit our daughters making a left turn. Severe impact on an angle (front/left side) with 2 foot intrusion into occupant compartment. Airbags did not deploy. Required prolonged extrication; serious injury with bayflight to hospital. 2006 Solstice is a GM recall vehicle for defective ignition switch.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

Nov 172014


  • 32,500 miles
On Nov 2014 I bought this Pontiac roadster from the original owner with the air bag lights on with a mere 32500 miles on it, I drove the car 1 month & parked it for the winter, last week 3-30-2015 I took it to my shop to have the air bag lite code scanned & it read faulty seat rear seat belt module GM part # 15874981-15838918 & would not clear, I called GM to find out it was not under warranty or recall & it was over a 800 $ fix, I was shocked ! I looked up this problem on the internet only to find alot of the same complaints from the 3 years in service on the Solstice & sky's all saying the same thing, faulty air bag passenger seat module, this is a GM problem that is totally unsafe car to drive, it needs recalled asap as I understand I have no air bags & no seat belt tensioner also, im scared of this car & I am on a fixed income and can not afford to fix it, there gotta be a way GM can fix this so at least I can have air bags & seat belt tension to the driver at the very least, my wife is afraid to drive in this car with me, I refuse to sell this car until its fixed & safe, if GM will not fix this I will not buy another GM, they only made this car 3 years & they need all the safety features it can have up & running properly, how dare GM not to fix this car in Nov with the faulty ignition switch & not fix this air bag safety feature while it was in the GM shop, also am I correct that the seat belt tensioners upon impact will not work w/O the air bags working ? do you realize how many of these cars are on the road with the seat belt & air bags not working. This needs fixed asap by a recall !!! this is a very serious safety problem that GM needs to fix, sincerely [xxx] age 52 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #16

Aug 012006

Solstice 4-cyl

  • miles


Letter from senator brown on behalf of constituents re GM ignition claims. 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The consumer stated in August 2006, she experienced an incident involving the ignition switch where the keys locked up in the auxiliary position rendering which caused the key to become stuck in the ignition. In January 2011, the same issue occurred. On October 11, 2012, the consumers husband was involved in an accident while driving the vehicle. Also, the air bag did not deploy. The consumers husband was injured.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #15

Apr 012014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 282014


  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated that the when the vehicle was in the off position, the steering wheel failed to lock. Also the door chimes failed to alert when the key was placed in the ignition. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was recently repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). However, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000.

- Scottsville , KY, USA

problem #13

Aug 242014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated the ignition was repaired due to a safety recall. Three weeks later, the air bag indicator remained illuminated. The failure occurred daily. The dealer stated that the air bag unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 10/24/14 the consumer stated the remote key did not open the doors or the trunk. Updated 12/09/14 the consumer feels the cost of the repairs should be covered. Updated 05/19/2015

- New Baltimore , MI, USA

problem #12

Mar 172014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The parts needed to the repairs were unavailable. The dealer was contacted but stated that they could not repair the vehicle for five months. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue.

- Appling, GA, USA

problem #11

Aug 012014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Pontiac Solstice. Counsel representing consumer writes in regards to ignition switch parts currently unavailable to complete recall.

- Loomis, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 312014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 18,623 miles
Vehicle was in dealership for ignition switch recall work (recall 14063 and 14113). When vehicle was returned to me upon completion of the work, the vehicle would sometimes start, and sometimes not. I start with the transmission in gear, clutch depressed. This may or may not have any impact on the issue, which the service technician reported was an issue with the hall effect devices in the key head. I am an ex GM electrical engineer - I understand neutral safety. This is not a clutch/transmission neutral safety issue, this is a key switch failure to engage crank issue. The old ignition switch always started in this crank configuration. At this time, I have my vehicle at home, and both recall keys have demonstrated a refusal to start the car at times. Turn the key, no crank. Great, if I dump the clutch and stall the vehicle, I may be in a road condition that is very dangerous and be unable to start my car. It "could" be a walk home failure per the technicians comments if I understood him correctly. In returning "one" of the "two" supplied keys so they could order replacements, the comment was made they have seen this issue with hall key heads before. Excuse me, I would think a "no start" condition is a recall condition -- you can get someone hurt in traffic. I would also think all key head should be checked for performance prior to installation in service. How many of the recalled "fixed" vehicles have these unsafe keys in customers hands? I challenge this solution as a "fix", and question the recall solution.

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #9

Jul 232014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), but the dealer did not have the parts to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 272014


  • miles
Letter from senator nelson on behalf of constituent re GM recall. 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The consumer was informed, the parts were not available. The consumer back a month later, and was informed, the parts were still not available.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 172014


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 108,000.

- Maddison, AL, USA

problem #6

Apr 162014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact received two notifications for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (airbag, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) however, the parts were unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Stillwater, MN, USA

problem #5

Apr 012014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 18,200 miles
Driving down the street with a passenger and service air bag light came on the dic. Took Solstice in to Buick, Pontiac, GMC dealer, for ignition recall and passenger airbag light diagnosed as a bad passenger pressence sensor. Estimated replacement charge of $850. Charged $120 for diagnosis. Searching online forums shows this is a common occurence due to a faulty designed seat sensor. Owners are paying for the replacement only for the part to break again. Making this a $970 repair (diagnosis + parts + labor). Please expedite a recall, because this makes this two seat convertible, a one person car! updated 10/9/2014

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 142014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 37,200 miles
Purchased this car used 2/4/14 from a local reputably dealer.this 06 Solstice showed only 36998 miles and had a clean car fax report. Have driven the car only a couple of hundred miles due to the following. The few times that the vehicle has been driven there seems to be a grinding noise in the rear end only at low speed and only while turning, mostly parking lot speed.the car will grind and "violent snatch" as if something is binding or catching. The local mechanic says this is a defect in clutches of the rear end on these models (06) and that GM should have repaired it a long time ago.well, apparently mine was not.added the required GM additive to the rear, but car continues to grind.I have read many horror stories on line from other owners who have had there rear wheels" locking up "at speed and causing loss of control in these cars (.I am not about to let my wife ever drive this car again.) problem #(2) I thought was insignificant until I saw this car was recalled last week, and now my experience makes sense. Not only will these switches shut off during operating they will also unintentionally start due to weak detente in switch. ( no harm no foul ) far....problem#3 my pass side airbag light on this car works about half the time. Meaning the pass side bag is active and operating about half the time.(my daughter has had her last ride as well) the real problem here is that I still owe 14000 on a car that looks great but can't be safely driven. This purchase is my first since bankruptcy 2 yrs ago, and it looks as if I will be giving it back to the finance company and will be out my 2000 dollars down payment. After purchasing this car I have researched and found these problems I am having, have been an ongoing for GM.why are they still out there being sold to the consumer" and to think I cheered when GM was bailed out!! blame goes to me for trusting GM"

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #3

Apr 032014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
I received a letter on the ignition switch recall and how important (bolded and underscored) that it was to contact the dealer and get the report completed. However the dealer won't take an appoint because the parts are not in. The thinks next week, but now he said I'd need another letter from GM before I can schedule an appointment. Also the GM guy won't schedule an appointment even if he has the parts in. If I want to schedule an appoint for a date next week I would have to purchase service -- like an oil change to secure that day/time. I called GM customer service specific to the recall and they said that parts should be at the deal in about a week and likely receive a second letter. So now that I've wasted an hour of time going thru all the steps the first letter asks, I'm going to be driving a "dangerous vehicle", until I get a letter -- regardless of the parts are in. But -- if I pay for additional service I will be granted an appointment.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?