Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,669 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Scion tC seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Scion tC:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Scion tC Owner Comments

problem #17

Oct 232014


  • 100,000 miles


Our Toyota 2006 Scion Tc was involved in a head on collision when it was pulling out slowing on a main road and the other truck involved was probably traveling close to 45mph, the car was totaled but not one air bag worked. This car was purchased because it had a high safety rating, however it is just lucky the driver and passenger were not seriously hurt. Had the car not been totaled we would have insisted it be totaled, would never purchase another Toyota again.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #16

Feb 132014

tC 4-cyl

  • 174,000 miles
The steering wheel airbag sensor light came on and the horn stop working.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #15

Jun 232011


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Toyota Scion Tc. While driving 50 mph, the contact crashed the vehicle into a tree. The vehicle rolled over three times, but the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a bruised chest and a passenger's toe was lacerated. A police report was filed and no medical attention was received. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #14

Aug 282012

tC 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


Rear curtain airbags began swelling, causing separation of interior panels. Called Scion customer relations and was advised that, because my VIN did not match the recalled units, there was nothing that could be done and that the owner would be considered responsible even though I was experiencing a similar issue as documented in Toyota recall no. Ssc 60H. According to their records the proper repairs were already made prior to my purchase. Either this is a continued defect, or the repair was completed improperly as no incident has occurred that would otherwise compromise the integrity of the airbag units...updated 11/05/12 updated 11/14/2012

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 192011

tC 4-cyl

  • 62,750 miles
I was driving up spruce street in manchester nh. As I went through a green light at the corner of spruce St and beech St, I was involved in an accident that I was not at fault for, by someone who was not paying attention and went through a red light, as I was going through my green light. I was hit very hard (all the impact was to the front of my vehicle) and I am thankful I had my seat belt on because my airbags did not deploy. The damage to the front end of my vehicle was so bad my car was almost totaled ($7,200 in repairs). I was told by the collision center that "there are many factors that go into the air bags deploying and not deploying" I almost felt as though I was brushed off for something that could have caused me my life. There still has not been anything done with my airbags, I was only told that they "should" be fine.

- Manchester, NH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Aug 142011

tC 4-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
I owned a 2006 Scion Tc. It was recently totaled in an accident with over 11,000 dollars worth of damage. The impact was on the passenger front quarter panel and rear passenger panel. The impact also was on the bumper. This is the fourth impact on the front and no airbags have ever deployed. Thankfully, everyone involved in the accident was not seriously injured.

- Needville, TX, USA

problem #11

May 062011

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Scion Tc. The contact was traveling 30 mph when he crashed into the rear of another vehicle and the air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained a broken sternum, a broken left wrist, left elbow and shoulder. The contact did not inform the dealer or manufacturer of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. A police report was not filed. The approximate failure and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 07/08/11

- Lynwood, WA, USA

problem #10

Oct 062010


  • 49,000 miles
While driving down the main highway a lady pulled directly in front of me while I was doing 35mph I could not stop and T-boned her. My car hit her directly in the side and my airbags did not deploy in which they should have. It caused me to sling forward in the car spraining my neck, spine, lower lumbar, bruising ribs and pinched nerves.

- Newton, NC, USA

problem #9

Jun 272010


  • 40,800 miles
2006 white Scion Tc suddenly lost control and spun out while driving straight at 55 mph. This lead to the car flipping and totaling the car. After the crash, the airbags did not deploy.

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 122005


  • 2,220 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Scion Tc. While driving approximately 55 mph, a vehicle crashed into the passenger side of the contact's vehicle. Her vehicle then spun around and crashed directly into the front of the other vehicle. The contact's vehicle was completely destroyed and none of the air bags deployed. In addition, the seat belts failed to properly secure the contact and caused her to strike the steering column. A police report was filed. The contact has pictures of the vehicle after the crash. The failure and current mileages were 2,220.

- Palm Dale, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 062008

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,800 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Scion Tc. When the passenger side door was closed from within the passenger compartment, all of the air bags deployed. The dealer informed the contact that she would be responsible for the repair costs. The current mileage was 58,809 and failure mileage was 52,800.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #6

Sep 232007

tC 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,500 miles
On 9/23/07 I was in an accident while driving my 2006 Scion Tc. The front end of my car hit the passenger side of another car. I had been at a stop and had just proceeded into the intersection about 20 feet when we hit, so I could not have been going more than 15-20 mph. The other driver's speed is unknown, although the posted speed limit is 35 mph. The entire front end of my car was ripped off and the frame was pushed back. The body shop estimated the damage to be well over $11,750 so the insurance company declared it a total loss. Damage to the other vehicle was minor. Not one of my 6 airbags ever deployed even though the force of the crash was enough to demolish the car and throw me against the driver's side door.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #5

Apr 292006

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
- the contact owns a Toyota 2006 Scion Tc. The contact complained about the airbags and the wire harness system on the vehicle. On April 29, 2006 the contact's daughter was involved in a collision while driving the vehicle on a sunny day. The vehicle was driven to a stop sign at an intersection that was a two way stop. The contact's vehicle was struck on the passenger's side mid to rear doors by an incoming vehicle. This caused the front bumper to collide with the second vehicle. The contact wanted to file a complaint against Toyota since the airbags and wire harness system did not provide the protection required with this type of collision. The case is been reviewed by all state. Toyota explained that since the wiring harness was cut when the vehicle was struck it caused the seat belts and airbags not to deploy. There was one injury the current and failure mileage were both 500 miles.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 252006

tC 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,800 miles
- the contact had a 2006 Scion Tc. The contact stated that his vehicle had been deemed a "lemon" by Scion corporate. The vehicle was deemed a lemon because of rattling sounds coming from the hatchback for which 3 unsuccessful attempts were made to repair. Other failures included: The transmission wouldn't engage when you put the car in reverse gear, the rear bumper was cracked, and the tires screeched. The contact was in an accident on 11/25/2006 at 3:30 am, on 110 expressway in los angeles. The contact was driving 60 mph. Neither the weather nor the road conditions were a factor in the crash. During a turn, the tires weren't gripping the road well. The vehicle veered to the right and he applied brakes to slow car down. The consumer overcorrection to the left and proceeded into a ditch. The vehicle spun around and another vehicle hit him on the passenger side. The contact also stated that the airbags never deployed. The contact stated that the car being a lemon was the cause of the crash. The contact has a police report.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 102006

tC 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 16,000 miles
My 2006 Scion Tc was purchased new July 2005 had a deployment of all passenger side airbags for no reason on February 2006. The car was taken to the dealer immediately and they could not say why the airbags deployed. In March 2006, the airbag warning light came on and I took the car to the dealer and they said that there was no problem even though the indicator light was on and they said it was caused by a loose connector. April 2006, airbag warning light on again and they could not explain why the warning light was on. May 16th, 2006, took car in for normal service and I asked them to check the airbag again, as on the previous day the warning light came on again; at this time and for the first time, I was informed that there was an error code they knew nothing about pertaining to the deployment of the airbags and that they would repair it. In June 2006, the car was taken back to dealer due to the airbag warning light and they accused me of unhooking the connector wires on the passenger side. I contacted the manufacturer in May 2006 to advise of the multiple safety issues with the airbags. I informed the dealership I did not feel safe in the vehicle and they said the only option is to lemon law, trade-in or keep the vehicle with the safety issues. I am pursuing my options.

- Singer Island, FL, USA

problem #2

Jan 082006

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There was a brake failure on the car. The maker of the car is Scion (Toyota) the year is 2006. This caused me to get into a car accident its a new car with around 3000 miles on it. I had it for less than three months. I didn't not do any modification on the car every thing I need it was done including oil change, I went to the dealers.

- Slate Hill, NY, USA

problem #1

Feb 182006

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 10mph, the vehicle was involved in a crash and the air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was equipped with frontal and side curtain air bags. While driving in normal conditions, the vehicle was struck head on by another vehicle. The contact sustained injuries to the head and shoulder from impacting the driver's door. Damage was sustained to the entire front of the vehicle and the driver's side door. The police were at the scene of the accident and provided a written report. The vehicle was inspected by the insurance company and the vehicle was deemed totaled. The contact was wearing a seat belt.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?