Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility Problems

2006 Scion xB (Page 2 of 3)

4.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,144 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Scion xB windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Scion xB:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Scion xB Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Jan 152009

xB

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Scion Xb (as well as every other one out there) has a design flaw in the windshield. I am on my second windshield. Cracks happen for no reason, something as simple as turning on your defrost. Scion replaced my first windshield because my car was under warranty. Now they are hesitant to do it again. I let them know there are thousands of people on the web with the same problem I have. Apparently it's the 04-06 Scion Xb. I cannot afford to go out and replace a windshield everytime this happens, on top of my car payment, and insurance, not to mention my other bills. I think Scion owes it to the customers to do something about it. They claim to not know anything about this design flaw, but after some internet searching, there has been a class action lawsuit filed against them for the windshield problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #29

Feb 212009

xB

  • 23,000 miles
Windshield stress crack on Scion Xb. 2006 my. The crack happened spontaneously from the rearview mirror and curving right. From investigating numerous posts, discussions, etc. On the internet, this appears to be a significant defect. Just google "Scion Xb windshield cracking" and you'll find a plethora of incidents. Some customers report replacing windshields 8 times in one year!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #28

Jan 012009

xB

  • 36,000 miles
I came out to my car and the windshield had an L- shaped crack, thats it. The car was sitting in my driveway.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #27

Feb 012009

xB

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window has an L shaped cracked that appeared. I took it to the dealership, they said there is a small chip at the top. I cannot find the chip. My father in law looked. The man spent 30 years making automotive glass and could not find it.

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #26

Sep 282008

xB

  • miles
My vehicle has not been driven but approximately 0.5 miles in 4 days. On the 5th day I got in my vehicle to drive and there was an "L" shaped crack across my windshield. This crack was not there the last time I drove my vehicle. The origin of the crack begins under the seam where the windshield meets the top of the car a few inches towards the driver's side of the vehicle. The crack then goes straight down for approximately 6 inches and then angles sharply towards the passenger side of the vehicle and continues for approximately 12 inches. There is no chip, crack, or nick that appears to be the cause of this large "L" shaped crack. The reason for the crack is completely unknown.

- Clayton, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Oct 102008

xB

  • 27,000 miles
Parked my car (2006 Scion Xb) outside one evening. Woke the next morning and there was a large L-shaped crack near the rearview mirror. No rock or impact damage occurred, just a crack appeared. About 4 days later, not only had that crack grown, but I now had a new crack jutting in from the passenger side. Both cracks exceed well over 18 inches. There is nothing of my doing or of an accident involved in these cracks. I have visited a number of online forums, and this appears commonplace with these Xbs and their owners. It seems there is too much stress in the design on the glass, and it cracks at will. Anyways, it appears to be a defect, and I do not want to pay $500 for a new windshield that is only to crack again at the slightest temperature change. Please help us. Scion needs to fix this issue. This isn't a spark plug...these windshields are $500 and we shouldn't have to replace them.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #24

Jan 232009

xB

  • 35,215 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Windshield cracked from top center down 5"turned to pass side went 13", 2nd same time started on right pillar across center ended just under other, happened when defrosters were on for about 15 mins and outside temp was 10 degrees or a little less. This happened while driving 25-30 mph on major road, wakefield area, making a slight turn (bend)in road to right.

- Narragansett, RI, USA

problem #23

Jan 122009

xB

  • miles
A spontaneous crack appeared in my 2006 Scion Xb windshield while sitting overnight. The crack starts at the top center edge of the windshield, travels down behind the rear view mirror, and angles towards the driver's side in an L shape. There is no chip or other visible damage associated with the crack. There was no rock impact in days/weeks/months preceding the crack. It's perhaps 8-12" long. The lack of any obvious or accidental cause for this crack is what concerns me and seems to imply a defect.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #22

Jun 012008

xB

  • miles
Found a L-shaped crack in my windshield. It starts from the top of the windshield on the driver's side and ends right underneath the rear view mirror. My windshield did not have a crack when I left my car the night before. It is a very fine crack and doesn't look as if something hit the glass. Took my car into the dealership. The service manager proceeded to run a ballpoint pin through the crack and told me that it would not be covered because there was pitting.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #21

Mar 092008

xB

  • miles
I own a 2006 Scion Xb. The windshield cracked (at the edge) for no apparent reason in March 2008, and it was indicated by the dealer that it was due to installation. The windshield was replaced at no charge. It has cracked once again, December 2008, once again along the edge of the windshield. I have not had an opportunity to have it looked at to see if the dealer will replace it once again for no charge. This is also an inconvenience as the dealership is one hour from my home.

- Marinette, WI, USA

problem #20

Dec 202006

xB

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The windshield cracked for no reason a stone or rock did not hit the car. It was not involved in a accident. Crack started in left corner of windshield traveled up and across windshield about 16 inches dealer says they no nothing about a problem I go on line to motorbeat.com and find over 100 posts.

- Clermont , FL, USA

problem #19

Nov 202007

xB

  • 11,000 miles
I was referred to this site by another website, myscioinsucks.com, and I am so glad I was! I have been waiting for my dealership to do something about this and have not been in real pursuit of any justice until recently. I have a cracked windshield on my Scion 2006 Xb. I really wanted justice when I almost got into another Scion exactly like mine the other day with the same crack in it's windshield. I have now been waiting for almost a year on something to be said by them about a recall when I go to get my oil changed. Not one breath of anything yet. I am a very passive person, sometimes too passive but not anymore with this issue. I got the crack in my windshield in the end of November of 2007. I am financially strapped, or check to check as most say and could not afford to get it fixed and didn't see a need to if it wasn't my fault. As I said, why spend my money when Toyota wont admit to anything. I woke up to find this crack in my windshield on a very mild temp. Day of about 70 I believe. Neither hot nor cold. I remember vividly. I got in my car to go to work and noticed this L-shaped crack starting from the passenger side curving down and going toward the driver's side. I drove about 2 weeks later after having the car looked at in Toyota dealership, on a 5 hours trip and another crack started appearing from the bottom midline.... and progressed upward and left toward the driver side, and by the end of the trip it was over a foot in length. Appearing to be stress from an 80 mph speed majority of the trip. I have asked Toyota about it many times and never once was it their fault. I just recently go online after seeing my 5th 2006 Xb cracked windshield identical to mine. I am wanting it fixed and nothing more and cannot get any answers.

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #18

Oct 192006

xB

  • 33,500 miles
Went to my garage in the morning and discovered an "L"shaped crack in the center of the windshield had formed overnight. I was completely shocked as nothing had previous hit the windshield. After searching the web, it's clear the must be a defect in the design as it can not be a coincidence that many other 2006 Xb owners have similar cracks in their windshields. The Toyota/Scion service manager said he would call me when the dsm inspection is possible. I am going to go the other dealerships to see if I can schedule the inspection sooner.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 242008

xB

  • 14,500 miles
I walked into my garage on 9/24/08 and found a L-shaped crack in my windshield. It starts from the top of the windshield on the driver's side and ends right underneath the rear view mirror. My windshield did not have a crack when I left my car the night before. It is a very fine crack and doesn't look as if something hit it (no splinters in the glass). I contacted Scion corporate this on 9/24/08 and they told me to make an appointment with a Scion dealership. They said that it would be up to the dealership whether the replacement would be covered by the warranty and if the dealership deems that it shouldn't be, then I should get an estimate and contact them again with the information. They opened up a case number for me. I contacted miller Toyota in culver city and took my car into the dealership 9/25/08 @ 1:00 pm. The service manager proceeded to run a ballpoint pin through the crack and told me that it would not be covered because there was pitting. I then requested an estimate, which came to $1.019.27. Then I contacted Scion corporate again and was told that they would arrange a person from corporate to inspect the windshield. Scion corporate told me that the corporate rep would be there at noon on 9/29/08. I went to the dealership on 9/29/08 at noon and the representative was not there. And she didn't show for another 50 minutes. I told the service manager that I was leaving around 12:50 pm and he kept saying: "she will be here any minute". then as he gets to my car, I see a short asian woman with her hair pulled into a bun. He gives her a pen from his pocket and she runs a ballpoint pen through the crack (she spent 5-10 seconds with my car). The same service manager that did the ballpoint pen test was the one who wrote up the report to say the same thing. They are unconscionable. The funny thing is when I was researching my car purchase, I saw on edmunds that the 2006 Scion Xb had problems with spontaneous cracks forming in the windshield.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 172006

xB

  • 2,759 miles
The windshield on my 2006 Scion Xb has been replaced twice and currently has a crack in it. The first crack appeared 6 weeks after purchasing the car and the dealer replaced it free. The second time it cracked I wasn't aware that there were problems with other Scion windshields and replaced it myself 2 weeks later for $226.63. Now I have another crack in the windshield but haven't fixed it because I know it will crack again.

- Clermont, GA, USA

problem #15

Sep 242008

xB

  • 14,500 miles
I walked into my garage this morning and found a L-shaped crack in my windshield. It starts from the top of the windshield on the driver's side and ends right underneath the rear view mirror. My windshield did not have a crack when I left my car yesterday evening. It is a very fine crack and doesn't look as if something hit it (no splinters in the glass). I contacted Scion corporate this morning and they told me to make an appointment with a Scion dealership (I am making an appointment for tomorrow morning). They said that it would be up to the dealership whether the replacement would be covered by the warranty and if the dealership deems that it shouldn't be, then I should get an estimate and contact them again with the information. They opened up a case number for me. The funny thing is when I was researching my car purchase, I saw on edmunds.com that the 2006 Scion Xb had problems with spontaneous cracks forming in the windshield. Hopefully, Toyota/Scion resolves this issue in a reasonable manner. I will keep you posted on how this pans out.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 142008

xB

  • 25,000 miles
I have a 2006 Scion Xb and in February of 2007 app. 4 months after purchasing my car the windshield developed a crack in it, there was no sign of a rock hitting no noise I just looked up and it was cracked. The dealer replaced the window and just yesterday Sep. 14, 2008 I got in my car and there was another crack I here a popping noise the night before and the next morning there was an L shaped crack in it.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 042008

xB

  • miles
Around March 2008, I pebble hit my Scion Xb windshield and caused a small crack. About a week later the windshield cracked in different places and I had to get it replaced. Recently, on August 4th, 2008, another pebble hit my windshield and another crack. And today August 27th, 2008, my friend who has an Xb also got a crack on her windshield from a small pebble. I looked online for some sort of explanation and it seems that tons of Scion Xb owners are complaining of such a defect on their windshields. So I am also here to complain about this problem since im going through my 2nd windshield.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 202008

xB

  • miles
1. maybe a pebble impact 2. windshield crack (one time, I have not changed the windshield yet) 3. nothing yet.

- Wynnewood , PA, USA

problem #11

Jun 292008

xB

  • 20,000 miles
Windshield cracks on its own (not due to rocks or anything) there is an L shaped crack which starts at the top center of the windshield which is caused most likely by a defect in the design which caused the body to flex.

- Sheridan, CA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?